Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News From the Libraries: January 2021

AFSA Relocates to Briscoe Library

The Registrar’s Office and the Office of International Services will begin the process of moving to Briscoe Library Jan. 19.

The relocation is the first phase of an initiative to gather offices from the Division of Academic, Faculty and Student Affairs (AFSA) into a single location, helping to better serve students and faculty. After the initial move in January, the offices of Financial Aid and Student Life will also be relocated to the library.

With this relocation, Briscoe Library will house a broad array of comprehensive academic, faculty and student services, said Owen Ellard, Senior Director of Libraries. “The library has really evolved from just being a place where you go to get books and study,” he said. “The idea is that the library will become a service center with multiple services to enhance student and faculty success. With AFSA services all in one place, they can work together to serve students and faculty in a more coordinated, dynamic way.”

Click here to continue reading the article in This Week.

MLK Holiday Hours

In observation of Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Briscoe Library will be open from 9 am to 5 pm on Monday, January 18th. Please remember the library is only accessible during these hours to UT Health students, faculty, and staff via ID card swipe.

Danny Jones Essay Award Deadline Feb. 15th

Final Call: Danny Jones History of the Health Sciences Essay Award

Deadline: Monday, February 15th at Midnight

Open to all UT Health San Antonio students, affiliated interns, residents, and fellows. Unpublished essays on any topic related to the history of the health sciences are eligible for submission. In recognition of the historical implications of the current world-wide COVID-19 pandemic, applicants are encouraged to consider topics related to pandemics and health inequities.

Winners will be invited to present at the 2021 P.I. Nixon History of Medicine Lecture Series.

For more information on the award and judging criteria, please click here.

For links to some select history of medicine resource guides, click here.

Essays can be submitted to Peg Seger at segerp@uthscsa.edu.

See below for links to past essay award winners.

Essay Example 1: Knee History: From Early Developments to the Total Knee Replacement https://libguides.uthscsa.edu/ld.php?content_id=54136840

Essay Example 2: Bad Blood: Medical and Ethical Implications of the Tuskegee Syphilis Study https://libguides.uthscsa.edu/ld.php?content_id=54136848

This annual essay contest is sponsored by the Friends of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library in memory of Danny Jones, MLS, former Head of Special Collections at the UT Health Briscoe Library and Past President of the Friends.

Image of Research - Win up to $600!

Briscoe Library's 4th Annual Image of Research Photography Competition is now open for submissions! This competition is an opportunity for UT Health San Antonio students, faculty, and staff from all five schools to capture, share, and present the essence of their research in a single visual image. The competition and its accompanying exhibition showcase the UT Health San Antonio community’s creative visual conceptualization of their research.

1st Place - $400

2nd Place - $300

3rd Place - $200

IPE Award - $600

Faculty/Staff Award - $400

Submissions are accepted from December 1st, 2020 through March 12th, 2021.

Visit library.uthscsa.edu/2020/11/ior2021 for more info.

New E-Resource Collections

Cambridge Read and Publish

As part of a 3-year agreement with the UT System Digital Library Consortium and Cambridge University Press, the UT Health San Antonio Library has gained access to all Cambridge University Press journal content.

This agreement waives author publishing fees for authors who wish to publish in open access (OA) Cambridge University journals. Often referred to as a Read & Publish Agreement, the agreement aims to serve authors and the wider community by publishing high-quality, peer-reviewed OA content.

Find out more about Cambridge Read and Publish. See title list below. 

LWW Doodys Premier Star Collection

The library has purchased the LWW Doodys Premier Star Collection. This package includes 100 ebooks and is available on the Ovid platform and can be access through the library catalogUnited Search, and the database page. See title list below. 

Wiley Online Journals

The library now has access to the Wiley Database Model collection through the UT System. We have gained access to 408 new Wiley titles beginning with 1997+ (or the first year of publication after 1997). Titles are available now through the ejournals page. See title list below.

Featured New Books/eBooks for January 2021

For a list of the newest titles at the Briscoe Library click here.

Purchase suggestions?
Complete the online Purchase Suggestion Form or contact
Andrea N. Schorr, Associate Director of Resource Management.