Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News From the Libraries: December 2022

Briscoe Library Remains Open 24/7

With the holidays fast approaching, we'd like to remind everyone that Briscoe Library is accessible 24/7 for all students, faculty, and staff with their UT Health ID cards. 

While the library is still accessible, parts of the 3rd floor study areas will be closed due to repairs beginning Monday, December 19th, 2022 through Sunday, January 8th, 2023. This includes 3rd floor group study rooms and the Bowden Conference Room. For other study space options, please consider study areas and conference rooms on the 4th and 5th floors. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Briscoe Library wishes everyone a fun and safe holiday season!

January 2023 Preview: Exhibit by Artist Erum Khan

To start off the year in 2023, the library will be hosting an exhibit by local artist, Erum Khan. A prolific artist, Ms. Khan works in a wide variety of artistic media from sketching to 3-dimensional works in resin. Her thematic influences are just as varied as the media she uses ranging from western art to Islamic calligraphy.

Artist Statement:

My name is Erum Khan. I am a full-time professional artist. I love doing detailed work such as realism, sketching, Islamic calligraphy, etc. I learned to balance light and the skill required in the management of shadows. Resin Art is my new passion and I challenge myself to create unique and stunning pieces, I have also done group exhibition overseas and have had artwork hung in art galleries. You can see more of my work on instagram @erumsart.

  

Sage Research Methods Renewed

Have you ever wanted to learn more about meta-analysis, survey methods, or data collection? Looking for more information on the best methods for your research? We have a collection specifically for you.

We're proud to announce an extension of our subscription to SAGE Research Methods. SAGE is a specialized collection focused on research design and development. It covers all aspects from starting the process to defining your results and includes research methods for science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences.

SAGE includes books, journals, case studies, datasets, podcasts, video, and advanced search and discovery tools. Video materials include hours of tutorials, interviews, and mini documentaries covering the entire research process. No matter what your research method or style of learning, SAGE has you covered.

Give SAGE Research Methods a look today and see what you can find!

Want to learn more?

World Cup Watch Party Draws Crowds

Students enjoyed a little fun, food, and relaxation at four World Cup Watch Parties planned jointly by the Office of International Services (OIS), Office of Student Life, and the Briscoe Library. Attendance at each of the four parties was close to or exceeded 75 people.

  

Food was snapped up quickly each day as Briscoe Librarian Kirsten Lorenzen (pictured left) can attest. Library Director Owen Ellard (center) shares some soccer talk with OIS staff Alberto Angulo, Valeria Vargas, and Danielle Vogel.  Activities at tables staffed by OIS and Student Life (pictured right: Ellyse Sanchez and Analisa Davila), allowed students to take part in international games and a variety of contests to win prizes. Ben Rivers, pictured far right below, has been overseeing student World Cup contests. Library staff person Juan Jaime is shown helping to pick one of the daily winners who will receive a team soccer jersey of their choice.

   

Who knew we had so many intense soccer fans on campus? But the great part was the opportunity for students from different schools and programs to get together to share in the fun!

This project was made possible by an award from the Student Fee Fund.

Ride the Research Fast Lane with LibKey Nomad

Searching for research articles can be time intensive and full of traffic jams. Thankfully, we have a tool to make getting to your destination quicker and easier. LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that provides instant links to full text articles the library subscribes to, right when you need it.

After installation, Nomad will show up on sites like PubMed, Wikipedia, Scopus and other databases where you’ll find blue icons next to articles, citations, and references. If the library subscribes, you’re just one click away from full text. For items we don’t subscribe to, Nomad will link you to alternative options, such as ordering a copy through Interlibrary Loan. Nomad takes a lot of the guesswork and back and forth out of the research process, saving you time and peace of mind.

If you’d like to give it a spin, LibKey Nomad is available for Firefox, Chrome, Edge, Safari, Brave, and Vivaldi.

Want to learn more?

Download LibKey Nomad

How to Install LibKey Nomad video tutorial

Fiber Art Exhibit Reception & Video

We are saying goodbye to another spectacular art exhibit in the library. Artist Susie Monday has graced our walls with her exhibit Locked Down & Let Loose since mid-November and we are sorry to see all of the wonderful color and artistry leave. In addition, the messages and themes behind the exhibit hold an important record of how this artist experienced the COVID pandemic.

An artist's talk and reception will be held in the library entry on Thursday, 12/15/22 from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. If you are not able to attend to meet the artist, some additional resources follow with more information on this exhibit and art quilts.

Click here to watch a short video of the artist talking about the exhibit in the library. Please excuse a little background noise as library users go about their day.

For more information on Susie Monday's art, you can contact her directly at susiemonday@gmail.com.

For more information about art quilts, please check out Studio Art Quilt Associates.

Featured New eBooks for December 2022

For a list of the newest titles at the Briscoe Library click here.

Purchase suggestions?
Complete the online Purchase Suggestion Form or contact
Andrea N. Schorr, Associate Director of Resource Management.