Skip to main content

News From the Libraries: May 2020

What’s Happening at the Library?

undefined

As we continue to adapt our library services and physical space to the new realities of social distancing, we will be providing regular updates to keep you informed. In the short-term, eventual changes will be seen most dramatically in the use of library study and meeting space. In general, seating will be spaced farther apart and thus will be more limited, but we will keep you posted as specific plans evolve. As of now, the library building remains closed for fire safety renovations at least through the end of June, 2020.

However, library services (with a few exceptions) are here for you as they always have been. We are expanding and developing new ways to provide all of the same services (some virtually) until social distancing is no longer required. The new realities of providing library services in a virtual world have provided us with new opportunities to serve our UT Health campus community.

Print and electronic resources: With access to the library's physical space and print materials more limited, we are hearing from more of you about using electronic resources. In this newsletter, we are featuring ProQuest Ebook Central, a collection of Health & Medicine eBooks which cover a variety of subject areas. While the use of e-resources has been a trend for quite some time, we expect this trend to really take off now in our current circumstances and will continue to feature aspects of our extensive e-resource collection in the months to come.

Chat, phone and email services: Without in-person walk-up or face-to-face interactions currently possible, we are relying more heavily on other means of communication. Librarians are standing by during expanded chat and phone services from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday to answer any questions you may have. Virtual one-on-one meetings are available on request. You can reach out any time of day by phone or email. See our Get Help page.

Liaison services: Liaison librarians will be available as they always have been to support you for educational and research needs. Liaisons are now regularly holding virtual meetings and we have heard that this is actually proving to be more convenient for many of you.

Library programming: We hope to continue virtually with our regular library programming and welcome suggestions. Programming may include virtual visits with our own Briscoe Buddies, June and Angel, along with other virtual celebrations such as Student Appreciation Week, virtual art exhibits, and virtual contests that enhance the ability for all of us to stay connected.

Please stay tuned as we work to make sure that we are taking every opportunity to support you in our joint mission to Make Lives Better for the larger community that we all serve.

Comments or suggestions can be submitted to Peg Seger at segerp@uthscsa.edu.

2020 Image of Research Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of Briscoe Library's 3rd Annual Image of Research Photography Competition!

1st Place
Breeanne Soteros, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Cortical Maps
Flattened cortical brain sections stained for glutamate transporter VGlut2 reveals the somatotopic organization of the mouse barrel cortex. Each "barrel" (in blue) corresponds to the major facial whiskers of the mouse, with the topographical organization of the cortex closely resembling the whisker pad itself. Co-staining for the immune protein C1q (in orange) reveals an unexpected pattern - this complement cascade molecule appears to decorate the borders of each barrel. In the human brain, the complement protein C1q is important for shaping the synaptic landscape, as it tags synapses for elimination. Could this immune help define these barrels by eliminating excess synapses at the border? What might this pattern of staining reveal about the ongoing synaptic maintenance of sensory circuits in the brain? Through a combination of genetic and molecular techniques, we hope to tease out the mechanisms of synapse maintenance & elimination that govern the organization of both the mouse and human brain.

2nd Place
Pragya Singh, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

When Your Cells Can Reborn Again!
It was early 2018 I had a breathtaking moment when I first saw iPSC clones during my Master’s research here in UTHSA. I was reprogramming fibroblast into stem cell-like cells known as induced Pluripotent Stem Cells or iPSCs. These iPSC clones are so malleable that you can influence any cellular fate you wish to generate. This pristine clone was further induced to generate Retinal Ganglion Cells to understand the molecular mechanism of Leber’s Hereditary Optic Neuropathy, a rare genetic disease that leads to vision loss.

3rd Place
Sonam Khurana, School of Dentistry

3D Dummy Corpse
This three-dimensional (3-D) animation you are seeing is depicting nerve and blood supply to the teeth. The model is a complicated piece of art, requiring lots of practice and skills to be produced. 3-D animation has been used in entertainment industry (like in movie theaters!) to create a range of exciting videos, short cartoons and full-length videos. The health care industry also uses 3-D animations create models that everyone can examine. The use of anatomical models is ubiquitous in health education. Realistic looking models allow the user to move away from complex cadaveric dissection, which is not a readily available resource any way. Models are very useful to explain anatomical relationships and function in structures that may be too small to discern adequately in a cadaver. Learning anatomy is challenging, and an adaptation of new methods that are user-friendly is essential. We hope that our research based on creating anatomical models will help the transition from dissection to the use of 3-D animations. It will not only help health professionals to learn anatomy nimbly, but also offer them a tool that is easy to show and explain to their patients. Let the journey begin!

IPE Award
Rafael Veraza (Anesthesiology), Jaclyn Merlo (Immunology and Infection), and Kristina Andrijauskaite (Molecular Medicine)

The BLUE Heart
This combined image consists of ischemic cardiac pig muscles overlaid with a blood vessel. The tissue was removed and stained from an ischemic heart placed in cold storage; the traditional method of heart preservation for transplantation. Our aim is to extend organ tissue preservation beyond the time constraint of 4 hours via novel biomedical devices. This will increase the viability of organs for transplantation beyond the current standard of care. The BLUE heart represents the lack of time in the field of tissue preservation. BLUE encompasses our limitations on delivering a warm RED heart to a transplant recipient. Our multidisciplinary group preserves tissues of the heart, colon, and limbs for periods of 24 to 48 hours outside of the body and studies hypoxia makers to further improve transplant outcomes.

Faculty/Staff Award
Sang Hyun (Ryan) Chun, Research Associate, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

The Stars in Our Brain After Traumatic Brain Injury
Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) has been garnering attention as one of the most prevalent neuropathogenesis. Injuries occurring from sports related activities, wars, and domestic violence are the few examples of many TBI related incidents. The underlying mechanism of TBI and its therapeutic intervention have been poorly defined and must be addressed. Astrocytes have been regarded as a key agent in maintaining brain homeostasis. Astrocytes are the most abundant glial cells in our central nervous system. As the name implies, astrocytes are known for having a star shaped characteristic in the brain. In addition to sustaining brain homeostasis, astrocytes have shown key neuroprotective role after TBI. After injury, the astrocytes undergo what is known as astrogliosis in which morphological and molecular changes occur. In our study, we use cytoskeletal protein called glial fibrillary acidic protein (GFAP) as a biomarker to look at how the astrocytes function after the injury. The image is displaying a cortical region of the mouse brain after TBI. GFAP labeled astrocytes and nuclei are shown in green and blue, respectively. This image captures how the brain tries to react to the injury by undergoing astrogliosis and the enlarged astrocytic “stars” are being activated as a neuroprotective measure.

All of the submissions that Briscoe Library received were very impressive. The photos were all scored based on visual impact, connection between image and research, and originality by our multidisciplinary panel of judges. While we had initially planned on having an Image of Research Awards Reception this Spring, the reception has been postponed. Please stay tuned for updates.

Click here for more information regarding the competition rules, guidelines, and details.

New PubMed is Here

The new version of PubMed has gone live and will no longer have an option to switch to legacy view. 

The new PubMed features a modern interface with enhanced search results, including highlighted text snippets to help you preview an abstract while scanning your results list, and updated web elements for easier navigation. Also, the responsive design makes the site easier to view on multiple devices. View the PubMed User Guide to learn more, such as creating an RSS feed, saving items to My NCBI collection, or creating an email alert for your search

New PubMed

LibKey Nomad - Quicker Access to Your Results

undefinedBrowZine has added another feature to their service, LibKey Nomad. LibKey Nomad is an extension available for the Chrome browser that offers easier access to articles. The feature uses our HSCLink to quickly find available resources and adds a direct link or Download PDF button to the database. LibKey Nomad is currently compatible with the PubMed and Scopus databases and will also work on many publisher sites. And don't worry, if access is unavailable, the system defaults to our More Options page (for requesting article through Interlibrary Loan. 

Add the LibKey Nomad extension through the Chrome Web Store. 

NOTE: This extension is only available through Chrome. 

LibKey Nomad screenshot

E-Resource of the Month: ProQuest Ebook Central

undefined

Proquest Ebook Central, formerly known as ebrary, is a collection of Health & Medicine eBooks which cover a variety of subject areas including:

  • Nursing
  • Allied health
  • Psychology
  • Anatomy/Physiology
  • Biology and much more. 

The collection has over 10,000 titles spanning from the early 2000’s to the present. Titles are fully searchable, allow unlimited users, and can be viewed both online and offline. Ebook Central allows you to download chapters or entire books, and is compatible with various iOS and Android tablet devices. Full eBook downloads usually expire after 21 days. Detailed download information can be found here

Access the Ebook Central collection through the library database page or browse titles through the library catalog.

Questions about Ebook Central? Visit the online help center here or contact Askalibrarian@uthscsa.edu for more information.  

Featured New Books/eBooks for May 2020

For a list of the newest titles at the Briscoe Library click here.

Purchase suggestions?
Complete the online Purchase Suggestion Form or contact
Andrea N. Schorr, Associate Director of Resource Management.