Join us October 25th through October 29th for Briscoe Library's 5th Annual Student Appreciation Week! Stay tuned via Briscoe Library's social media accounts for virtual and in-library activities, contests, and prizes! Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
With support from Dr. Chiquita Collins and the Office for Inclusion and Diversity, the Center for Medical Humanity and Ethics, and the Office of Academic, Faculty & Student Affairs, Briscoe Library hosted a virtual panel discussion on September 28th in conjunction with the Living in My Skin art exhibit on display in the library during the last week in September. As described below, the exhibit is unique to San Antonio having been created by renowned local artist Lionel Sosa as part of a project in collaboration with black men in San Antonio ranging in age from 10 to 90 years old.
The Black population of San Antonio is only 7%, yet it hosts the largest MLK march in the nation. Additionally, 63% of our citizens are Hispanic, making us a majority-minority city. Many perceive San Antonio to be culturally enlightened and highly evolved. Is it?
The purpose of this project is to shine a light on today’s reality, what it’s like to be a Black man or boy in San Antonio, and to help bring about a better understanding of each other as a community. “Living in My Skin” features over 30 oil-on-linen portraits by Lionel Sosa of Black men, ages 10 to 90, as well as a two-part film documentary which premiered on PBS station KLRN in February 2021 during Black History Month.
Moderated by UT Health’s Linda Lopez-George, the panel was composed of artist Lionel Sosa and 3 other panelists including Dr. Harmon Kelley, Dr. Freeman Jardan, and Brandon Logan. The discussion briefly covered how the art project originally came into being and then turned to what the project and its participants might have to say about the impact of racial and social injustice on healthcare.
For those unable to attend the discussion, please use the link below to access a recording. As you will see from the recording, this insightful discussion barely scratched the surface on what the health science community can take from this project.
Click here to view a recording of the discussion: youtube.com/watch?v=I2jvZBygxA8
For questions or comments, please contact Peg Seger, firstname.lastname@example.org
Did you know that Briscoe Library has a Reflection Room open to all UT Health students, faculty, and staff? Located on the 4th floor, Room 4M was turned into the Reflection Room after a student group led by Omar Akram came to Briscoe Library with a proposal to set aside a room for a quiet space where students would be able to reflect or meditate in privacy and comfort.
The library recognized the importance of the wellbeing of our students and campus community, including the need for personal reflection. Thanks to many campus collaborators on the project, a room was identified and transformed into a new space that was dedicated at a ribbon-cutting and reception during Briscoe Library’s Fiesta Celebration on April 11th, 2019. Briscoe Library's Reflection Room is designed for wellness breaks, quiet meditation, and brief retreats from studying. The UT Health community is encouraged to use this space to relax and reflect in a calm environment.
This project would not have been possible without the informed guidance provided by the Title IX Office and the generous funding provided by the Office for Undergraduate Medical Education (OUME) Office of Student Affairs
October is National Medical Librarians Month (NMLM). This observance serves to raise awareness of the important role that health information professionals play within medical and research institutions. The UT Health San Antonio Library has a wonderful team of librarians and staff that are committed to assist you and support the research, clinical, and educational goals of the institution. The NMLM theme for this year is Avoid Misinformation! Take the Right Path: Partner with your Medical Librarian. Our staff is available to help you find reliable health information quickly and efficiently.
Visit our library homepage and acquaint yourself with our resources and services. If you need more assistance, please reach out to your school's library liaison or use our AskALibrarian chat feature.
Listed below are answers to some of the frequently asked questions about ending the libraries' subscription to RefWorks.
Will I lose my references?
RefWorks users will not lose their data after the RefWorks subscription ends. However, in order to fully access, use, and edit references in the future, users must export their data from RefWorks before December 31, 2021 and import it into a different citation management tool.
When does the libraries RefWorks subscription end?
The libraries' subscription ends on December 31, 2021. Users will have full access to the site until that time. After the subscription ends, users will have limited access to their RefWorks account in order to export their data.
Can I pay for an individual subscription to RefWorks?
RefWorks subscriptions can only be purchased at the institutional level, so it is not possible for an individual to subscribe to RefWorks. There is no free version of the software.
How can I get help transferring my RefWorks library to another citation manager?
Due to this cancelation, all current RefWorks users will need to move their references to another reference manager. Library Staff recommend switching to Zotero, a free and open source reference manager. If you are ready to switch to Zotero, the migration is an easy, two-step process.
Other bibliographic manager options include: EndNote and Mendeley. The library does not provide subscriptions to either service but EndNote is available from TechZone as a discounted price for UT Health San Antonio affiliates and there is a free version of Mendeley on the web. Still need help? Contact us.
As of October 1, 2021, Briscoe Library is now subscribed to Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY)
Includes full-text reviews of 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments, plus all previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938 (10,000+ full-text reviews).
All MMY entries contain descriptive information (test purpose, publisher, pricing, population and scores) and edited reviews written by leading content area experts. To be included in the MMY, a test must be commercially available, published in the English language and be new or revised since it last appeared in the series.
First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY via EBSCOhost now includes the MMY Archive, providing all yearbooks from the first edition in 1938 through the present edition.
Tests in Print (TIP) database
This resource integrates the complete Tests in Print (TIP) database, also produced by the Buros Center for Testing at the University of Nebraska. TIP serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. A score index permits users to identify what is measured by each test. TIP provides vital information about tests including test purpose, intended test population, administration times, scores generated, price, test publisher, in-print status, test acronym, publication dates and test authors.
Tests in Print also guides readers to critical, candid test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) series. TIP is an essential reference for professionals in education, psychology and business, as well as anyone interested in the critical issues of tests and testing.
For help on TIP, see the How to Use Buros Publications guide.
The National Institute of Health (NIH) is in the process of transitioning the method by which users log into their NCBI accounts. Rather than maintaining individual accounts, the NIH has opted to integrate 3rd party logins as the sole option for access. The intent is to add a layer of security to your account information.
These accounts include:
Users often access them through the login button on the PubMed interface. Please refer to the FAQs about the transition posted on “NCBI Insights” blog.
This is especially important if you plan to apply for NIH grant funding because of the way MyBibliography, SciENcv, and eRA Commons work together.
Here is the timeline for transition:
The Library has created a short (about 1 minute) video demonstrating how to log in with your UT Health San Antonio network credentials.
Please follow up with your Liaison Librarian with further questions or for more information.