Looking for ebooks? Look no further!
We've added access to the Directory of Open Access books. This collection includes over 76,000 academic peer-reviewed books to our collections.
The books are searchable through our ebooks interface, so take a look and browse around to see what you find.
We're always looking for more open access resources to add to our collections. If there's any you'd like to recommend just let us know!
Having a problem with a database, journal, or other resource?
If so, pop over to our Systems Status page. Here you can find all sorts of helpful information:
Getting to the page is quick and easy. Just click on the Check/Report eResource Status button on the library's homepage.
You may have heard the term "Creative Commons" thrown around in conversations about copyright and licensing. But what exactly is Creative Commons, and how does it work?
Creative Commons is a way for creators to give blanket permissions for others to use their work, within certain set parameters. You retain ownership and set the conditions under which others can use it.
There are six main Creative Commons licenses, each with its own set of restrictions and permissions, covering uses such as sharing, remixing, or commercial use. These licenses help promote collaboration and creativity by making it easier to share and build on creative works.
The six licenses are:
Learn More
Alan L. Hart was many things—doctor, novelist, lecturer, philanthropist. He dedicated his medical career to combating tuberculosis, the leading cause of death in America at the time. His work helped revolutionize early detection of the disease and widespread screening programs that saved countless lives. Hart also holds another distinction- he was the first known transgender man to undergo transition in the United States.
Born in 1890, Hart's early years were spent on his grandfather's farm. As a child, he preferred boy's toys, assisting with farm work, and dressing in masculine clothing. His family was generally supportive, and he dressed and acted this way through childhood, except while at school where societal norms compelled him to present as female. Hart discovered a love of writing during his school days but chose to go into medicine, obtaining his degree from the University of Oregon in 1917. Much to his dismay, his diploma was issued in his birth name. The same year he began his transition, approaching another physician for psychiatric evaluation and surgical options. With the support of his doctor he was able to secure care, legally change his name, and marry his first wife.
Hart began treating patients and immersed himself in studying tuberculosis, which was virulent and highly communicable. He, along with other physicians, began realizing that many other named illnesses were in fact actually TB, affecting other areas of the body aside from the lungs. TB was known to be airborne, but Hart was one of the first to document how it spread through humans, affecting the lungs first before moving through the circulatory system to attack other parts of the body.
During his research he grew interested in the potential use of x-rays for detecting TB, a truly novel use for a still young technology typically used for fractures or wounds. Hart made a revelation: x-rays revealed early-stage tuberculosis damage in lung tissue. Early detection became a game-changer. Quick treatment vastly improved a patient's survival rate and quarantining was expedited, helping curb the spread to others.
Hart worked all over the United States, from hospitals to rural farms. During his career he was twice appointed to head statewide groups to combat TB. With his knowledge and new tools in hand he began pioneering early-screening programs, a rarity for asymptomatic patients in that era. Setting up what he called "chest clinics" due to the heavy stigma the disease bore, he made sure his patients received discreet and compassionate care. His efforts in the states where he worked had massive impact on controlling the disease. His methods were so successful they were replicated in other areas around the country.
Hart penned several fiction novels but also used his writing skills to spread knowledge of TB to the general public. He wrote extensively in medical journals and popular publications, describing the disease in plain language, including advice on detection and prevention. By 1943 Hart was recognized as a leader in his field and he compiled his knowledge into the book These Mysterious Rays: A Nontechnical Discussion of the Uses of X-rays and Radium, Chiefly in Medicine.
Hart was a self-reliant and private individual who cared deeply about his patients, even setting up funds to raise money for those who could not afford care. By staying true to himself and his values his tireless work helped save an untold number of lives and began turning the tide on a particularly virulent disease.
Learn More
Allies and Advocates: Creating an Inclusive and Equitable CultureAmber Cabral
Learn to create an inclusive environment with this actionable and insightful resource Allies and Advocates: Creating an Inclusive and Equitable Culture delivers a powerful and useful message about inclusion and diversity in everyday life. Author Amber Cabral, a celebrated inclusion strategist, speaker, and writer, shows readers how to move away from discriminatory and unjust behaviors to supporting and building meaningful connections with people across our diverse backgrounds and identities.
Check out the book through EBSCO Ebooks, provided by the Briscoe Library.
Did you know the library has ebooks? Browse our collections that cover everything from the health sciences to literature.