Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News From the Libraries: May 2019

School of Nursing Historical Photographs On Display

Please come take a look at the latest library exhibit!

In honor of the recent National Nurses Week and the 2019 50th Anniversary of the UT Health School of Nursing (SON), a photography exhibit has been installed in the library. The exhibit features photographs from the archives of the Briscoe Library and the SON collection. Note: A number of the photographs discovered in the SON collection while preparing for the 50th Anniversary will become part of the library archival collection making them accessible to a wider audience.

With one exception, all of the photographs on display can generally be identified as circa 1970s and 1980s. Historical photographs often come to library archives unidentified which is the case with some of the photographs on display.  Challenge: However, one photograph is distinctly more recent than the others and we think viewers will be able to tell which it is.

For questions about the library archives, please contact Melissa DeThorne at 210-567-2470 or dethorne@uthscsa.edu.

Nursing Faculty from Mexico Visit the Nixon Historical Library

On Friday, May 17, 2019 nursing faculty from Mexico toured the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library. Several works from the rare book collection were on display, including Florence Nightingale’s Notes on Nursing (1859), Ophthalmodouleia (1583) by Georg Bartisch, Anatomical Tables of the Practice of Midwifery (1754) by William Smellie , and De Medicina (1481) by Aulus Cornelius Celsus. Also on display were photographs from the Physicians and Surgeons Hospital Training School for Nurses in San Antonio, which opened its doors in the early 1900’s but was closed in the 1960’s.  Photographs from the early years of the School of Nursing were also on display.

For more information about the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library or to schedule a visit, contact Andrea N. Schorr at schorr@uthscsa.edu or (210) 567-2403.

FRANKENSTEIN IS COMING!

Excerpts from the National Library of Medicine (NLM) travelling exhibit, Frankenstein: Penetrating the Secrets of Nature, coming to the Briscoe Library in early June.

Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein reflected the interest of early 19th-century physicians and natural philosophers in human dissection and experiments on animals, as they explored the possibilities for generating life, resuscitating the drowned and the newly dead, and reanimating dead tissue using electricity. These researchers sought to benefit humankind and to end death and disease through their investigations into “the secrets of nature.”

The myth of Frankenstein continues to resonate into and beyond the 20th century as science and technology gain ascendancy in American social and cultural life. Although many individuals welcome the changes caused by scientific advances, some worry about society’s ability to retain control of technologies that challenge their understanding of what it means to be human. Mary Shelley’s story offers a compelling framework for the public to articulate its uneasiness about scientific ambition and the nature of scientific responsibility.

Watch for the next NLM exhibit,  expected to be on display by the end of June,
Opening Doors: Contemporary African American Academic Surgeons.

This exhibition was produced by the National Library of Medicine , National Institutes of Health.

Did You Get to See Angel?

Accompanied by owner, librarian Andrea Schorr, Angel made her appearance during the Coffee Cookies and Canines event for students on May 8th.

Angel is a certified therapy dog and is available for other campus visits along with her partner June. For more information on booking this library therapy dog team for your event, contact Andrea Schorr at 210-567-2440/schorr@uthscsa.edu or Dana Whitmire at 210-567-2464/whitmired@uthscsa.edu.

E-Resource of the Month: SCImago Journal Ranking (SJR)

Trying to figure out which journal to publish in? SCImago Journal Ranking (SJR) can help you decide!

SJR is based on prestige from a journal to another, using current year citations to the source items published in that journal during the previous three years. SJR, a counterpart to Impact Factors, is freely available through the SCImago website. Find out more information on the Impact Factors and Other Metrics libguide.

Quick view of Impact Factor vs SJR:

 

Impact Factor

SJR

Definition

Citations to a journal in the JCR year to items published in the previous two years, divided by the total number of citable items (articles and reviews) published in the journal in the previous two years.

Average number of weighted citations received in a year, by articles published in a journal in the previous 3 years.

Source

InCites Journal Citation Reports (JCR) – drawing on the data in Web of Science

Scopus

A measure of

Citation Impact

Prestige

Availability

Subscription access via JCR

Freely available via SCImago website

Journal titles

11,500+

34,000+

How is it calculated?

The number of citations of articles published in the source journal in the preceding two years divided by the number of items published in that journal in the previous two years.

Iterative process based on transfer of prestige from a journal to another, using current year citations to the source items published in that journal during the previous three years

Citations included

All document types (including editorials)

Articles, conference papers and reviews

Documents included

Articles and reviews

Articles, conference papers and reviews

Interdisciplinary comparisons

Not useful for comparing disciplines. You should only compare Impact Factors for journals in the same field.

Yes. The rank has been normalized to account for differences between the disciplines

Strengths

  • Covers approximately 11,500 scholarly and technical journals and conference proceedings
  • Can exclude self-citations
  • Includes journals in 236 disciplines
  • Assigns higher value/weight to citations form more prestigious journals
  • Compensates for differences in field, type and age
  • Meaningful benchmark is built in – 1 is average for a subject

Weaknesses

  • Does not necessarily reflect the quality of individual articles
  • Limited to journals within Web of Science
  • Cannot be used to compare journals across different subject categories
  • Small numbers can be off-putting to researchers
  • Complicated and difficult to validate
  • No idea of magnitude: how many citations does it represent?

Featured New Books/E-books for May 2019

For a list of the newest titles at the Briscoe Library click here.

Purchase suggestions?
Complete the online Purchase Suggestion Form or contact
Andrea N. Schorr, Head of Resource Management.