Opening at Briscoe Library on September 19th, For the Love of Clay: Studies in Ceramic Form is an exhibition of ceramic art created by The Clay Collective. The Clay Collective consists of local San Antonio artists Carolyn Adams, Andy Bally, Virginia Bally, Maggie Fitch, Pam Moritz, and Vivian Paul. This exhibit features clay pieces made with wheel thrown, hand built, and sculpture techniques.
Stop by the Briscoe Library lobby on the 3rd floor to take a look at this incredible exhibit.
The library now has access to the PBS Video Collection!
This collection of more than 1,500 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity to business & economics, and more, the PBS Video Collection: Fourth Edition gives you access to one of television’s most trusted networks.
Access to this collection was provided by the UT System Digital Libraries (UTSDL) Academic Library Collection Enhancement Program (ALCEP).
September is National Sickle Cell Awareness Month.
Sickle cell disease is an inherited blood disorder that can cause red blood cells to become sickle-shaped and harden. These cells die early, causing a chronic shortage. Due to their shape they can also get stuck in blood vessels, causing blockages. These issues can cause a variety of health problems. Black and Latino persons have the highest incidences of the disease in the United States.
Enter Dr. Marilyn Hughes Gaston. Growing up in poverty in the 1940s, she knew at a young age she wanted to be a doctor after seeing her mother collapse in their family home during a medical emergency. Unable to access medical insurance to pay for treatment, she knew her mother wasn't getting the care she needed. She decided to pursue medicine to help others in similar circumstances.
Her background as a poor black woman led many to discount her and she found little support from teachers. Despite their meager means, her family remained steadfastly behind her, providing what opportunities they could. Gaston prevailed, graduating with a degree in pediatrics in 1964.
During her residency, Gaston treated an infant admitted to the ER with a mysteriously swollen hand. A blood test revealed the child had sickle cell, which led to infection. At that time, many children affected by the disease were not expected to survive to adulthood, yet this was a condition she knew very little about and that she had not considered to check for. This experience spurred her to learn all she could about sickle cell.
She began a years-long study of the disease and in 1986 published a landmark paper proving the effectiveness of long-term penicillin treatment for children with sickle cell, many complications of which could be avoided with early treatment. This study led to the first nationwide sickle cell screening program for newborns in the US, findings that greatly improved these children's chance of survival and quality of life.
Dr. Gaston has also had a distinguished career in public health services, has founded clinics that provide quality health care to the uninsured, and had a scholarship established in her name that helps minority students interested in medicine. Though she is retired, she continues to fight against health disparities and for quality health care for all.
Resources
Want to learn more about the history of medicine? Visit the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library, located on the 5th floor of the Briscoe Library.
Based on a process that started almost 9 months ago, the Bowden Conference Room is now fully equipped with new furniture! The furniture consists of a V-shaped configuration of 5 tables in a light wood finish and 9 chairs in charcoal and blue colors to coordinate with the new carpeting.
The Bowden Conference Room offers state-of-the-art technology to support the growing trend toward virtual meetings connecting on-site and remote participants. Unlike older technology, the new audio-visual components enable more productive, collaborative and efficient meetings. The room is available to all campus departments through the library room reservation system, where users can place reservations 24/7. The room is easily accessible, located immediately off the library entrance. It offers seating for meeting participants along with additional multi-use space and furnishings. A full window wall provides abundant natural light and a view of student-created gardens.
Ever find the list of databases overwhelming? Want to know at a glance what a database will give you? We've added some new visual aids to do just that. Now each database include a set of icons to give you a quick overview of what you can expect before you click. Give them a look and happy searching!
 |
Access available to UT Health San Antonio affiliates. |
|
|
Registration required for full functionality of resource. |
|
|
Open Access |
|
|
Libguide and/or tips available. |
|
|
Access to the resource will end soon. |
The Texas State Library and Archives Commission governs State Library activities, and is responsible for approving contracts for TexShare. Every five years, the Commission goes through a Solicitation Review process where vendors submit proposals to be evaluated for state-wide contracts. During the August 2022 meeting, the Commission approved contacts for Cengage/Gale and will discontinue access to the majority of EBSCO resources.
What does this mean for you?
TexShare access to EBSCO resources (except Learning Express Library) will end August 31, 2023. The extended year of access will allow institutions to notify faculty and students and update learning plans.
Which resources will be removed due to this change?
Academic Search Complete; Ebook Collection (formerly NetLibrary); Health Source: Consumer; Health Source: Nursing/Academic; Humanities Full Text; Professional Development Collection; Psychology & Behavioral Sciences, Science & Technology Collection and more. See full list of resources here.
Coming soon:
Access to a variety of Cengage/Gale resources. Details available in October newsletter.
ProQuest Databases added through the TexShare program and now available on library site:
For a list of the newest titles at the Briscoe Library click here.
Purchase suggestions?
Complete the online Purchase Suggestion Form or contact
Andrea N. Schorr, Associate Director of Resource Management.
