Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News From the Libraries: November 2021

Library Feature of the Month: Exercise Desks

Did you know Briscoe Library has exercise desks available for use on the 5th floor of the library? Based on her experience at the Health Sciences Library at the University of Colorado, Long School of Medicine student Olivia Hart proposed the idea of exercise desks to Briscoe Library. With Olivia’s recommendations, the library identified some highly rated stationary bike and walking treadmill options to consider.

Olivia proposed the options to fellow Class of 2021 students in a poll to see which would prove the most popular. Based on the results of the poll and other feedback from library surveys, one treadmill desk and three stationary bike desks were purchased by the library. In the Spring of 2018, space was cleared in a light-filled area on the 5th floor of the library that offers great views of the campus and provides a space for students to study in a healthier way.

Library Feedback

The library is conducting a year long review of the collection and would like your feedback. Does the collection meet your needs? Do you have everything you need for your courses? Let us know! 

Resources for Citing and Reference Management

New research does not stand alone. Today’s breakthroughs build on past discoveries. Research publications customarily include literature reviews to put projects into context. Researchers writing about their efforts almost always reference past work done by others.

Ethical researchers formally cite the work of others to avoid plagiarism. In addition to giving credit where it is due, the citations themselves are valuable. They provide a trail of related research.

Proper citing is a necessity, then. But it can be tricky. The following are common questions researchers have about citing:

  • When is it necessary (or unnecessary) to cite?
  • How do I cite a specific form of media, like a conference paper or website?
  • Where can I find examples of proper citation?
  • The style I use was just updated. What has changed?
  • Is there a way to easily create citations?

If you have questions like these, the library has you covered. We have information, resources, and expertise to answer all your citation questions.

For starters, we have an online guide to plagiarism and citing, which covers the basics principles of why and when to cite source to avoid plagiarism.

For authors who use the American Psychological Association citation style, we have a guide to APA Style as well as a brief tutorial covering the changes to APA 7th edition. Both of these resources are particularly suited for students learning to cite in their coursework.  We also have the AMA Manual of Style, 11th edition available in e-format.

If you’re interested in an app to help cite properly and create Works Cited pages, we recommend a free, open-source reference manager program called Zotero, available for download at zotero.org. We also have a guide to using Zotero.

If you have any questions about writing citations, using citations, or any of the above resources, please feel free to contact your Liaison Librarian.

LibKey Nomad - E-Resource Tip

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that provides instant links to full text content for articles as you do research on the web. Get one click access to library content from publisher websites like PubMed, Ovid, Scopus and more. LibKey Nomad can provide alternative full text options as well as a link to the library's interlibrary loan form when full text is not available

 

After downloading the extension, use these instructions to set up:

  1. Click the button above. From the Third iron website, click on your favorite browsers.

  2. Click on the “Add to” button inside the browser window, and follow the pop-ups to finish the installation.

  3. A box will ask you to choose your institution.

  4. Under “Select Institution”, type in UT Health and click on “UT Health San Antonio” from the suggestions.

  5. You will see a green box that says “Library Selection Saved!” That’s it.

 

Need other tips? Start with our E-Resources Tips guide to learn more about ebooks, ejournals, databases and more. 

Systems Status

Let's be honest, technology can be temperamental. In the world of electronic resources there are days when everything seems to break. The library has added a new feature for our patrons, the Systems Status page. The page, located on the E-Resources Help guide, will show the current status on a variety of resources and include messages regarding outages and scheduled maintenance. 

Notice an issue not currently listed? Report the Problem and we will look into the issue immediately. 

AACR Offering New OA Title - Cancer Research Communications

Cancer Research Communications is an open access, peer-reviewed journal from the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) that encompasses the full spectrum of research on cancer. 

The scope of Cancer Research Communications is captured in the below list of major sections and related descriptions:

  • Molecular and Cellular Biology: Studies that investigate cancer-associated biochemical and molecular pathways and their influence on cell biology and carcinogenesis
  • Tumor Biology: Studies that investigate the intercellular interactions and physiology governing tumor development and progression
  • Immuno-oncology: Studies that investigate the immune system, its interactions with tumor cells, and opportunities to enhance the body's natural defenses against cancer
  • Therapeutic Research and Development: Translational studies that investigate molecular targets, lead compounds, and experimental therapies in a preclinical setting
  • Emerging Technologies and Data Science: Studies, methods, and large datasets that employ computational biology, high-throughput techniques, imaging, physical sciences, or engineering to investigate cancer biology
  • Precision Medicine and Biomarkers: Clinical or translational studies aimed at optimally matching patients to treatments, including biomarkers and resistance mechanisms
  • Clinical Research and Trials: Studies involving patients that investigate the efficacy of novel screening strategies, therapeutics, combinations, or regimens in the setting of clinical investigation
  • Epidemiology and Prevention: Population-level studies that investigate the genetic and environmental risk factors of cancer and their application in disease prevention and interception
  • Health Policy and Outcomes Research: Studies that investigate the cause and impact of differences in patient group outcomes, cancer survivorship, and the development of health policy from individual or population-level perspectives with a focus on health disparities

Join the Avanzando Caminos Study

Featured New eBooks for November 2021

For a list of the newest titles at the Briscoe Library click here.

Purchase suggestions?
Complete the online Purchase Suggestion Form or contact
Andrea N. Schorr, Associate Director of Resource Management.