Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

News From the Libraries: June 2020

What's Happening at the Library?

undefined

 

We miss seeing all of you and being a part of the day-to-day hustle and bustle of the library. However, we are happy to report that as we continue to provide library services virtually, connections are being forged in new and creative ways as we adapt to ever-changing circumstances. Please remember that while working together to keep us all safe, we are still here for you!

As the library space remains closed for now, we wanted to address some of the most common questions we are hearing from you. For any other questions you may have, please contact Peg Seger, Associate Director of Outreach and Community Engagement at segerp@uthscsa.edu.

Questions:

How do I return a book?

You may not have noticed, but there is a book return drop-box outside in front of the library building. If you have a book to return, you can place it in the drop at your convenience. Library staff is periodically removing books from the drop and will check the books in at that time.

Are fines being charged for overdue books?

You don’t need to worry about overdue fines, they are not being charged. However, we do still want you to return your books. Especially if you are leaving the university, please return any library books you might have.

Can I check out a print book from the library?

At this time, we are not allowing print books to be checked out. Until we can be sure that there is not a danger of virus transmission through the circulation of books, we will continue with this practice.

Can I request a print book through the library’s interlibrary loan service?

For the same virus transmission concerns, the provision of print materials through our interlibrary loan service is also suspended. As we learn more about virus transmission relating to print materials, we will reevaluate and provide updates as soon as decisions are made.

Keep in mind that for electronic journal articles not available through the library collection,  electronic delivery of articles through interlibrary loan is still available as always.

Why can’t I currently reserve a room?

We have suspended room reservations for now while library space remains closed due to fire safety renovations and to make advanced preparations to ensure campus social distancing guidelines can be met and to comply with restrictions on group gatherings. As soon as there are any changes, we will let you all know.

When will the library space be open again for use?

For the same reasons stated above concerning room reservations, the library will remain closed until further notice.

As a reminder:

Chat, phone and email services

Despite library space being closed, you can still get in touch with us! Librarians are standing by during extended chat services hours from 8:00 am to 5:00 pm Monday through Friday to answer any questions you may have. Virtual one-on-one or group meetings are available on request. You can reach out any time of day by phone or email. See our Get Help page.

Library programming

In July we will be holding our second annual Pets of UT Health interactive exhibit. Last year, we heard from so many of you about the special pets in your lives that we thought it would be fun to do it again. Of course, for this year, the contest will be run virtually. Please see more details below.

Your Library Staff,

Working together to keep us all safe!

Coming Soon: Pets of UT Health Returns!

Last year we all had so much fun sharing our pets with Briscoe Library's interactive photo exhibit, we're bringing back Pets of UT Health again but this time it's all virtual! Pets of UT Health will give you the opportunity to show off photos of your furry friends and you’ll even get the chance to be featured on Briscoe Library’s social media accounts.

To submit a photo of your pet, send a direct message to us on any of Briscoe Library's social media accounts: Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram. In your message, please include a photo of your pet, your pet's name, your pet's age, your name, your school/dept., and a fun fact about you or your pet.

undefined  undefined

Library Catalog Gets a Facelift

The Library Catalog has gotten a much needed facelift, complete with a new banner and a rotating carousel featuring our newest eBooks. You can now find links to interlibrary loan services, LibGuides, and custom links to some of the library’s most popular collections. A chat box has also been incorporated to accommodate any questions that come up while browsing the catalog.

For questions about the Library Catalog contact askalibrarian@uthscsa.edu.

New Ebook Collections and Access Guide

The library has access to diverse ebook collections that vary in degree of access and usage. The new Ebook Collections and Access Guide provides a one-stop-shop for understanding how different ebook collections work and how they can be utilized in teaching and learning. The guide is organized by collection and includes a Quick Facts overview detailing the collection scope, number of users, viewing format, access information and more. Also included in the guide is a link to our Finding Ebooks Guide which details how to find specific ebook titles.

undefined

Featured New Books/eBooks for June 2020

For a list of the newest titles at the Briscoe Library click here.

Purchase suggestions?
Complete the online Purchase Suggestion Form or contact
Andrea N. Schorr, Associate Director of Resource Management.