Skip to main content

Special Collections: P.I. Nixon Historical Library

P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library

The P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library at the UT Health Science Center San Antonio houses approximately 6,000 rare and classic texts in the history of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and other health care disciplines, dating from the 15th to early 20th centuries. The Nixon Library also houses the University Archives and a small collection of local historical documents. 

The Nixon Library is located on the 5th floor of the Briscoe Library and is open by appointment Monday - Friday from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM. Tours of the Nixon Library, including viewings of the rare books, can also be arranged by making an appointment. For more information contact Andrea N. Schorr, Associate Director of Resource Management at (210) 567-2403 or specialcollections@uthscsa.edu

Please review the Special Collections Policy prior to your visit. 

A Brief History

San Antonio physician and historian Dr. Pat Ireland Nixon was the founder of the Bexar County Medical Library Association in 1919. Dr. Nixon was an avid collector of rare books, and his efforts helped the Bexar County Medical Library accumulate a large collection of historical medical books. This collection of books was donated to the University of Texas Medical School in San Antonio, Texas in 1970. The collection was named after Dr. Nixon in honor of his tireless efforts to build it, and is housed in the Briscoe Library. Strengths of the Nixon collection are in the areas of ophthalmology, surgery, and anatomy. To learn more about Dr. Pat Ireland Nixon, visit the P.I. Nixon information page. 

The Friends of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library

Interested in learning more about the history of medicine? Join the Friends of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library group. The Nixon Library has an active Friends group that meets regularly to view presentations and discuss a variety of topics about the history of medicine. Membership is open to all. For more information, visit the Friends page

The Friends group has also purchased a collection of popular books about the history of medicine which are available for check-out. The books highlight significant periods and events in medical history and are located in the library's general collection. View a complete list of titles and locations