Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Briscoe Library Disaster Plan

Andrea Schorr

Office Phone:  210-567-2403

Emergency Contact Information is not publicly available.

Regular Duties related to Disaster Planning

  • Maintains an inventory of the library collections (primarily using the OPAC)
  • Identifies specific priority collections to be saved or recovered first

During and After a Disaster

  • Supervises the staff and volunteers during collection recovery efforts
  • Assesses damage to the collections; works with Department of Environmental Safety and Health to determine if a mold assessment of the affected collections is necessary
  • Advises Executive Director on the extent of the damage to the collections
  • Locates specific priority collections to be saved or recovered first. Determines which parts of the damaged collection are not worth recovery efforts.
  • Advises Executive Director on the need for a recovery company
  • Determines which items can be recovered in-house and which need to be sent out for recovery. Maintains contact with recovery company until the materials are returned.
  • Supervises in-house cleaning and drying efforts
  • Supervises the processing of all damaged materials
  • Trains staff and volunteers, if applicable
  • Prepares a written report of the recovery and/or relocation activities