LibGuides: Family Medicine Residency Resource Guide: Patient Safety &amp; Quality Improvement Resources

INTRODUCTION

Links that provide an introduction to topics in Health Care Quality and Safety:

AAFP Basics of Quality Improvement
Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ) - Patient Safety Primer
- "Each primer defines a topic, offers background information on its epidemiology and context, and highlights relevant content from both AHRQ PSNet (Patient Safety Network) and AHRQ WebM&M (Morbidity & Mortality Rounds on the Web)."
- AHRQ Patient Safety 101 Primer
- AHRQ Quality Improvement in Primary Care
- AHRQ Quality Measures Tools & Resources
American Hospital Association (AHA) - Quality and Patient Safety
- AHA policy and advocacy news & updates; resources from AHA initiatives addressing quality and patient safety improvements
Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) - Knowledge Center
- "Offers tools, change ideas, measures to guide improvement, IHI white papers, audio and video, improvement stories, and more."
Joint Commission - National Patient Safety Goals®
- 2021 National Patient Safety Goals® (NPSGs) are available
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) - Healthcare-associated infections
- Information on types of and prevention of Healthcare-Associated Infections (HAIs); data and statistics, guidelines & recommendations, patient safety, lab resources, and more.

Health Resources and Services Administration | Quality Improvement
The purpose of this 2011 module was to provide a foundation and an introduction to QI concepts and key topics for developing or improving a QI program within an organization

Finding Patient Safety/Quality Improvement Literature

PubMed queries for QI publications:

Copy and paste the words in bold into PubMed, then add your specific topic to find QI articles. Each search below yields different results, for best results try each of them with your topic.

Simple text word search: quality AND improv* AND intervention*
Simple text words, synonyms A: ((quality) AND ((improv* OR enhance*))) AND ((intervention* OR initiative* OR strategy* OR program*))
Simple text words, synonyms B: ((((quality OR system OR process))) AND ((improv* OR enhance*))) AND ((intervention* OR initiative* OR strategy* OR program*))
Subject Headings: (((("Quality of Health Care"[Mesh]) OR "Quality Assurance, Health Care"[Mesh]) OR "Quality Indicators, Health Care"[Mesh]) OR "Health Plan Implementation"[Mesh]) OR "Quality Improvement"[Mesh]

How to identify quality improvement intervention publications - comparison of electronic search strategies

Quality Improvement Articles in PubMed

Quality Improvement was introduced as a medical subject heading (MeSH) in 2011. This link goes to all articles indexed with the Quality Improvement subject heading since 2011. Add your topic to the search to find specific articles.

Health Survey/Assessment Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, it covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Education Resource Information Center This link opens in a new window
Includes annotated bibliographic records–citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window Provides access to information about measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, and tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) includes full-text reviews of 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments, plus all previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938 (10,000+ full-text reviews).Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. For help on TIP, see How to Use Buros Publications.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window Developed by the American Psychological Association (APA), this collection is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and others. Coverage is from 1800's to the present.

Measurement tools are instruments used by researchers and practitioners to aid in the assessment or evaluation of subjects, clients or patients. Types of measurement tools include scales, indexes, surveys, interviews, and informal observations. IMPORTANT NOTE: This is an instructional guide. It may not help you find your specific test nor is it a direct link to the full-text of tests.

Research Instruments

Note

Some Information on this PS/QI guide tab provided by Tulane University Libraries, Patient Safety & Quality Improvement: A Guide and University of Washington Health Sciences Library Measurement Tools/Research Instruments LibGuide. (Creative Commons-Attribution-Noncommercial License)

Quality Improvement Information

Clinical Checklist

Health Services Research Filter for PubMed Searches

Specialized PubMed search filter to help locate information on healthcare quality and costs. From National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care (NICHSR)

HSRProj - Health Services Research Projects in Progress (no longer supported as of 9/12/21)

Go to the National Information Center on Health Services Research & Health Care Technology website for more information.

PHF QI Quick Guide
With contributions from the National Library of Medicine, PHF has developed a Quality Improvement Quick Guide for public health practitioners. The guide contains a Plan-Do-Check-Act Tutorial, a Quick Quiz, and other resources.
Texas Hospital Association Clinical Initiatives and Quality
Clinical and Quality Initiatives, a division of the Texas Hospital Association Foundation, works to assist hospitals and systems around the state to advance quality and patient safety. Information regarding initiatives and advocacy efforts can be found on their site.

Patient Safety Information

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce (PHPartners) - no longer supported but some links may be available via archived pages below.

see archived page here (last captured on 9/12/21). Health People 2020 Structured Evidence Queries can be found here. Search by Topic Area including Healthcare-Associated Infections, Medical Product Safety, Food Safety, Occupational Safety and Health and more. Note: some links on archived site may not work.

AccessGUDID

The Global Unique Device Identification Database (GUDID) contains key device identification information submitted to the FDA about medical devices that have Unique Device Identifiers (UDI).

SafetyLit®: Injury Research and Prevention Literature Update

SafetyLit includes summaries of doctoral theses, "scholarly" reports and journal articles about injury occurrence and risk factors.

Patient Education

Health Literacy - CDC