Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Textbook of Family Medicine by This ninth edition of the Textbook of Family Medicine, edited by Drs. Robert E. Rakel and David P. Rakel, remains your #1 choice for complete guidance on the principles of family medicine, primary care in the community, and all aspects of clinical practice. Ideal for both residents and practicing physicians, this medical reference book includes evidence-based, practical information to optimize patient care and prepare you for the ABFM exam. A clean, quick-reference layout makes it easy for you to put information to work immediately in your practice. Gain a new understanding of the patient-centered medical home and how to achieve this status in outpatient clinics. Make the most effective care decisions with help from "Evidence vs. Harm" icons that guide you through key treatments of common medical conditions. Take advantage of today's most useful online resources with a convenient list of outstanding clinical websites. Quickly spot "Best Evidence Recommendations" with special boxes located throughout the text, and glean helpful tips on diagnosis and therapy from "Key Points" boxes found on every page. Quickly access content with an efficient new layout that includes more than 1,000 tables and full-color illustrations; treatment boxes for a concise overview of how to treat various conditions; Grade A SORT recommendations; and key points highlighting the major takeaways of each chapter. Take advantage of an enhanced focus on team-based care as the role of primary care providers evolves, and stay up to date on the most current practice guidelines with evidence-based information throughout. View 30 immersive procedural videos online from Procedures Consult, including chest tube placement, knee injection, vasectomy, vaginal tear repair, skin biopsy, colposcopy, IUD insertion, and more. Remain at the forefront of the field with coverage on self-care, the emergence of tobacco alternatives such as e-cigarettes, and the changing picture of cancer in America. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and videos from the book on a variety of devices. The Textbook of Family Medicine continues to provide the latest, most comprehensive coverage of family medicine practice.
Publication Date: 2015-02-20
Family Medicine by Family Medicine: Principles and Practice is a comprehensive reference text providing clear guidelines for diagnosing and managing acute and chronic illnesses regularly seen in family practice. The sixth edition will follow the format successfully established with the fourth edition. In addition, it will include new chapters on: Herbal Medicine, Hospitalist Medicine, Telemedicine, Evidence-Based Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Effective Office Management. Also, a whole new section on The Future of Family Medicine will be added. All chapters will be completely updated and with new clinical guidelines and references. Websites will be included in the references as well.
Publication Date: 2002-09-23
The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, 3rd Edition by The updated visual atlas of family medicine--enhanced by more than 2,000 illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2021! "The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine, Third Edition, will be an invaluable addition to busy physicians' clinical libraries. Its wide-ranging topics covering the gamut of family medicine are thoroughly covered and efficiently organized for point-of-care use. This, as well as its useful and exceptional photographs, will make it a resource the clinician will reach for again and again during evaluation of unfamiliar conditions. Residents and students will find it particularly useful as they systematically broaden their experiences and fund of knowledge--well done! " --Family Medicine The Color Atlas and Synopsis of Family Medicine simplifies and supports visual diagnosis like no other guide. The text is bolstered by more than 2,000 illustrations, consisting of state-of-the-art photos and drawings, most in full color. Page after page, the book's precise clinical images are integrated with evidence-based diagnostic pearls presented in bulleted text--ideal for time-pressed physicians. Sections highlight specific diseases and disorders, organized by anatomic and physiologic systems, with each chapter opening with a patient story to connect the photographs with real-life clinical scenarios. Every condition features a consistent format that includes the patient story, Epidemiology, Etiology and Pathophysiology, Diagnosis, Differential Diagnosis, and Management to aid the reader in navigating to the right section with ease and efficiency. NEW TO THIS EDITION: New chapters on Mental Health, the Opioid Crisis, Dementia, Sports-related Head Injury, and LGBT health issues New chapter on Zika, Ebola and other emerging infections expand the insights in the Global Health chapter New Foundations of Dermatology section contains a dermoscopy chapter, plus chapters on dermatology terminology, topical and intralesional steroids, and biopsy principles and techniques Management section is now divided into first- and second-line therapies
Publication Date: 2018-12-11
Family-Oriented Primary Care by The first edition helped bring the family approach to health care into the medical mainstream. This new edition, like the first, provides health care professionals with a practical guide to working with and treating both the individual patient and the family. Tackling challenging and emerging issues, such as AIDS and the family, race and gender, child abuse and domestic violence in addition to pregnancy, child behavior and chronic illness, this volume is sure to be an indispensable guide for primary care providers.
Publication Date: 2004-08-27
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care by Primary care clinicians are performing more varied procedures than ever before, and physicians, residents, and students need a comprehensive, authoritative resource that provides trusted information in an easy-to-follow format. Through three outstanding editions, Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care has been the go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. This 4th Edition continues that tradition with new section editors, updated illustrations, new chapters, and much more. No other primary care procedure book compares with Pfenninger and Fowler's breadth and depth of practical, step-by-step content! Access to this product, which may be at the discretion of your institution, is up to 3 years of online and perpetual offline access. Elsevier reserves the right to restrict or remove access due to changes in product portfolio or other market conditions. Provides comprehensive, real-world coverage of more than 230 procedures that arise in the primary care setting, including many that were previously performed only in subspecialty settings, such as joint injections and cosmetic procedures. Includes new chapters: Esophageal Foreign Body Removal, Manual Testicular Detorsion, Symphysiotomy, Zipper Injury Management, and Blood Products. Presents the "how-to" expertise of six new section editors, for a fresh, contemporary perspective throughout the book. Additional focus on the evidence, with plentiful citations to key references, makes this the most evidence-based edition yet. Features numerous updated illustrations, including many more in full color, and incorporates updated ICD-10-CM codes throughout. Provides access to online resources including patient education handouts and consent forms, lists of device manufacturers, and more. Utilizes a concise outline format, detailed text and illustrations, and abundant boxes and tables for quick access to the information you need. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Publication Date: 2019-04-12
Case Files Family Medicine, Second Edition by Real-Life Cases for the Family Medicine Clerkship and the Shelf-Exam. You need exposure to high-yield cases to excel on the Family Medicine clerkship and the shelf-exam. Case Files: Family Medicine presents 55 real-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in Family Medicine. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, definitions of key terms, and USMLE-style review questions. With this system, you'll learn in the context of real patients, rather than merely memorize facts. 55 clinical cases, each with USMLE-style questions · Clinical pearls highlight key concepts · Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like a doctor · Proven learning system improves your shelf-exam scores. Written by experienced educators who know exactly what it takes to excel.
Publication Date: 2009-08-25
Difficult Cases in Primary Care by This concise yet comprehensive guide covers important topics concerning women's health. Using clinical scenarios, the reader can observe how conditions often present in the surgery and understand how they can be effectively managed. Each topic is followed by a self-test question to consolidate knowledge and understanding. The section then concludes
Publication Date: 2012-07-13
Conn's Current Therapy 2021 by Designed to suit a wide range of healthcare providers, including primary care, subspecialties, and allied health, Conn's Current Therapy has been a trusted clinical resource for well over 70 years. The 2021 edition continues this tradition of excellence with current, evidence-based treatment information presented in a concise yet in-depth format. More than 300 topics have been carefully reviewed and updated to bring you state-of-the-art information in even the most rapidly changing areas of medicine. Offers personal approaches from recognized leaders in the field, covering common complaints, acute diseases, and chronic illnesses along with the most current evidence-based clinical management options. Follows a consistent, easy-to-use format throughout, with diagnosis, therapy, drug protocols, and treatment pearls presented in quick-reference boxes and tables for point-of-care answers to common clinical questions. Includes new and significantly revised chapters on COVID-19, Diabetes Mellitus in Adults, Chronic Leukemias, and Osteomyelitis. Incorporates more electronic links throughout the text that connect the reader to apps and clinical prediction tools that can easily be accessed in practice. Features thoroughly reviewed and updated information from many new authors who offer a fresh perspective and their unique personal experience and judgment. Provides current drug information thoroughly reviewed by PharmDs. Features nearly 300 images, including algorithms, anatomical illustrations, and photographs, that provide useful information for diagnosis. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2020-12-22
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine, 5th Edition by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Provide continuous, comprehensive care of patients throughout their lifetimes with this evidence-based guide An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care NEW content includes coverage of genetics and precision medicine use in family medicine, telehealth in family medicine, CTE and sports injuries, Zika, the opioid epidemic, Hepatitis C, expansion of the HIV section, veteran's health and PTSD, and more The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification Essential for primary care trainees, practicing physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants Features Organized according to the developmental lifespan, beginning with childhood and adolescence and progressing through adulthood and senior years Evidence-based recommendations Conservative and pharmacologic therapies Complementary and alternative therapies when relevant Suggestions for collaborations with other healthcare providers Attention to the mental and behavioral health of patients as solitary as well as comorbid conditions Recognition of impact of illness on the family Patient education information End-of-life issues
Publication Date: 2020-06-17
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2020 by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The #1 annually updated general medical text - delivering the diagnostic tools most relevant to daily practice CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment is the most comprehensive, reliable, and timely reference available to answer common questions that arise in everyday clinical practice. Readers will find authoritative, evidence-based coverage of more than 1,000 diseases and disorders along with a concise, yet thorough synopsis of diagnosis and treatment. Written in a clear, easy-to-read style, this trusted classic covers all aspects of outpatient and inpatient care, and also includes discussion of new developments and breakthroughs in medicine. Presented in full color, CMDT covers every aspect of general medicine, with an emphasis on prevention and cost-effective strategies. * Market: Internal medicine practitioners (77,000), family physicians (74,000), internal medicine residents (23,000), family medicine residents (8,000), nurse practitioners (100,000), physician assistants (34,000), medical students (70,000), nurse practitioner students (5,500/yr), physician assistant students (3,000/yr.) * Up-to-date references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information * The only text with an annual review of the advances made in HIV treatment * Detailed overview of other primary care topics, from gynecology, orthopedics and dermatology to ophthalmology, psychiatry, and neurology * Updated throughout with the latest breakthroughs and developments, guidelines, references, drug prices, approved drugs, and more * Includes acclaimed online content
Publication Date: 2019-09-02
Ferri's Best Test by Practical and concise, this spiral bound, pocket-sized manual is a quick, go-to reference for up-to-date clinical material on today's diagnostic testing and laboratory tests. Three convenient sections provide quick access to key information on clinical laboratory testing, diagnostic imaging, and diagnostic algorithms. Experienced author Dr. Fred Ferri uses a unique, easy-to-follow format to simplify complex information and help you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. Includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders. Includes essential information on indications, advantages, disadvantages, approximate costs, normal ranges, typical abnormalities, likeliest causes, and more. Features a new appendix on when to use contrast agents in ordering CT and MRI scans. Discusses new modalities including transient elastography (Fibroscan), CT enterography and CT enteroclysis. Provides new comparison tables to easily evaluate the best test; new algorithms for evaluation of immunodeficiency and hematochezia; and new tables and illustrations throughout to improve your test selection. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2017-12-06
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2022 by Access immediate answers on the medical conditions you're likely to see with this unique, bestselling resource! Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2021 uses the popular "5 books in 1" format to deliver vast amounts of information in a clinically relevant, user-friendly manner. This practical reference is updated annually to provide you with easy access to answers on 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines-all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields. Extensive algorithms, along with hundreds of clear figures, tables, and photographs, ensure that you stay current with today's medical practice. Contains significant updates throughout, covering all aspects of current diagnosis and treatment. Features 30 all-new topics including Covid-19 disease, anal cancer, electronic cigarette or vaping-associated lung injury (EVALI), gaming disorder, early pregnancy loss, smoke inhalation injury, and subjective cognitive decline, among others. Includes useful appendices covering common herbs in integrated medicine and herbal activities against pain and chronic diseases; care of the transgender patient, palliative care; preoperative evaluation, and more. Offers online access to Patient Teaching Guides in both English and Spanish. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2021-06-24
Symptom to Diagnosis an Evidence Based Guide, Fourth Edition by Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. "This book is a tremendous asset for students and residents learning to develop their diagnostic skills. It can also be useful as a refresher for established clinicians when the more common diagnoses are not the cause of a patient's complaints." --Doody's Review An engaging case-based approach to learning the diagnostic process in internal medicine Symptom to Diagnosis, Fourth Edition teaches an evidence-based, step-by-step process for evaluating, diagnosing, and treating patients based on their clinical complaints. By applying this process clinicians will be able to recognize specific diseases and prescribe the most effective therapy. Each chapter is built around a common patient complaint that illustrates essential concepts and provides insight into the process by which the differential diagnosis is identified. As the case progresses, clinical reasoning is explained in detail. The differential diagnosis for that particular case is summarized in tables that highlight the clinical clues and important tests for the leading diagnostic hypothesis and alternative diagnostic hypotheses. As the chapter progresses, the pertinent diseases are reviewed. Just as in real life, the case unfolds in a stepwise fashion as tests are performed and diagnoses are confirmed or refuted. Completely updated to reflect the latest research in clinical medicine, this fourth edition is enhanced by algorithms, summary tables, questions that direct evaluation, and an examination of recently developed diagnostic tools and guidelines. Clinical pearls are featured in every chapter. Coverage for each disease includes: Textbook Presentation, Disease Highlights, Evidence-Based Diagnosis, and Treatment.
Publication Date: 2019-11-21
Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics by 75th Anniversary Edition Established for more than 75 years, The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics, 36th Edition,provides concise, high-yield content that reflects today's fast-changing advances in medical technology and therapeutics. In one convenient, portable resource, you'll find complete coverage of every area of medicine and the core subspecialties--all at your fingertips for quick review and reference. Discover why housestaff and faculty worldwide depend on this best-selling resource for day-to-day clinical practice in internal medicine. Offers brief, logical approaches to diagnosis and management of commonly encountered medical conditions, including new therapies that improve patient outcomes. Presents valuable content in a concise, practical format that includes easy-to-follow guidelines, tables, diagrams, algorithms, dosing, and treatment information. Provides a clear view of the challenges faced by residents, interns, medical students, and other practitioners, plus offers practical solutions, and expert guidance--all in one convenient and easily accessible source. Edited by Internal Medicine Chief Residents from the Washington University School of Medicine and Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis. The Washington Manual is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by LWW under license from Washington University. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Publication Date: 2019-06-04
Cardiology in Family Practice by A concise summary of the most important medical and scientific topics concerning cardiovascular medicine in the primary care environment. Writing in an easy-to-read format-background, diagnosis, and disease management-and emphasizing practical techniques of evaluation and treatment, the authors explain the basic mechanisms underlying cardiovascular disease states and the treatment strategies that arise from them. Topics range from acute coronary syndromes, arrhythmias, and hyperlipidemia, to hypertension, pericardial diseases, valvular disease, and stable angina. Cardiology in Family Practice: A Practical Guide offers a clear understanding of today's standard approaches to cardiovascular illnesses and a highly valuable resource when specific questions arise during the care of patients. A special PDA version of Cardiology in Family Practice: A Family Guide is also available.
Publication Date: 2007-11-06
Dermatology for the Primary Care Provider by Designed for today's busy family physicians, Dermatology for the Primary Care Provider is an easy-to-use reference covering the diagnosis and management of commonly seen dermatologic conditions. It provides practical, everyday guidance for quick reference at the point of care, including management pitfalls, clinical warning signs, specific treatment recommendations, and much more. Packed with need-to-know information, this unique resource is invaluable both when you are confident in your diagnosis and need guidance on next steps, or when you need step-by-step assistance on initial management in the absence of a definitive diagnosis. Highlights common management pitfalls, how to rule out acutely dangerous entities, and clinical warning signs requiring urgent referral. Provides specific treatment recommendations including which level of therapy is necessary, clear instructions on how to prescribe, and what to watch for. Includes numerous treatment algorithms throughout, as well as a differential diagnosis overview list in every chapter with cross-references to the corresponding page. Contains helpful information on patient education as well as answers to commonly asked patient questions. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2021-06-30
Fracture Management for Primary Care and Emergency Medicine by Evaluate and treat common fractures and know when to refer uncommon ones to a specialist. This quick, practical resource presents detailed illustrations, video, and current best evidence for imaging and treating fractures so you can make accurate identifications and manage patients with confidence. Quickly find the information you need through a systematic, logical approach to each fracture. Accurately identify fractures through an extensive selection of imaging examples. Apply splints and reduce dislocations successfully thanks to detailed descriptions, illustrations, and narrated video. Tap into the latest best practices through evidence-based coverage and updated references. Effectively manage emergency situations using guidelines for emergent referral, greater detail regarding methods for closed reductions for fractures and dislocations, and more. Benefit from expanded content specifically for the emergency medicine setting, including CT, MRI, and ultrasound imaging, procedural sedation, and discharge reassessment. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2019-12-13
Obstetrics in Family Medicine by A seasoned inner-city family physician concisely surveys the normal obstetrics encountered in a busy medical practice to provide a practical guide to the evaluation and management of common prenatal, peripartum, and postpartum complications. For each stage, Dr. Lyons addresses the major issues and problems, spelling out in detail management protocols about why and what action is to be taken, when it is to be done, and how it is to be interpreted. The key points for each topic are summarized in tabular form for quick reference, and diagnostic flow charts illuminate all aspects of the decision-making process. Expert advice based on years of experience is also presented concerning physical and ultrasound examinations, laboratory tests, drug toxicities, and screening techniques. A special PDA version of Obstetrics in Family Medicine: A Practical Guide is also available.
Publication Date: 2006-05-15
Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care: Behavioral Health in the Medical Setting by An innovative psychiatry textbook that presents behavioral disorders from the perspective of what is seen in medical settings The goal of Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care is not to make psychiatrists out of medical clinicians, but rather, to help clinicians manage common behavioral conditions that most often present in a medical setting. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care seeks to integrate medicine and psychiatry --- as the authors' systems-based biopsychosocial model proposes. The book identifies physical symptoms as a common mode of presentation of mental health problems and describes how to integrate them with psychological symptoms to make diagnoses of mental disorders. Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care also details a behaviorally defined, evidence-based mental healthcare model that can be effectively used in a medical setting. The combined experiences in primary care of the authors --- who specialize in both general internal medicine and psychiatry --- provide the perfect background for a book of this nature. Having trained medical students, as well as internal and family medicine residents since 1986, their experience and research demonstrates the information they outline is effective and associated with improved mental and physical health outcomes.
Publication Date: 2019-06-05
Thyroid Disease:A Case-Based and Practical Guide for Primary Care by Thyroid Disease: A Case-Based and Practical Guide for Primary Care, by Dr. Emanuel Brams, is a supremely readable cased-based approach to understanding the myriad of disorders that encompass thyroid disease. Using cases derived from his busy practice, Dr. Brams gives us the history and physical examination details of each case, along with test results. Then, through a series of questions similar to that which any good clinician asks while caring for a patient, Dr. Brams explains an optimal approach to diagnosis, treatment, and follow-up of thyroid disease, with an emphasis on the practical and common issues that primary care physicians see in their offices. This is an important book for primary care physicians because thyroid disease is common in the population we take care of and accounts for 3-5% of primary care visits. It is often cited as an area that primary care phy- cians find confusing. Dr. Brams clarifies thyroid disease and, through his generous sharing of cases, allows us to join him in making clear diagnoses as well as share in the ambiguity and decisions about approach when the diagnoses and course of treatment are not clear. In this way, the book is honest, and deals directly with the issues of thyroid disease as they are seen by us as physicians, not as we sometimes may wish they were seen if patients presented with the clarity of walking textbooks. Dr.
Publication Date: 2007-11-15