AI and Big Data in Cardiology by
This book provides a detailed technical overview of the use and applications of artificial intelligence (AI), machine learning and big data in cardiology. Recent technological advancements in these fields mean that there is significant gain to be had in applying these methodologies into day-to-day clinical practice. Chapters feature detailed technical reviews and highlight key current challenges and limitations, along with the available techniques to address them for each topic covered. Sample data sets are also included to provide hands-on tutorials for readers using Python-based Jupyter notebooks, and are based upon real-world examples to ensure the reader can develop their confidence in applying these techniques to solve everyday clinical problems. Artificial Intelligence and Big Data in Cardiology systematically describes and technically reviews the latest applications of AI and big data within cardiology. It is ideal for use by the trainee and practicing cardiologist and informatician seeking an up-to-date resource on the topic with which to aid them in developing a thorough understanding of both basic concepts and recent advances in the field.
Artificial Intelligence by
The rediscovery of the potential of artificial intelligence (AI) to improve healthcare delivery and patient outcomes has led to an increasing application of AI techniques such as deep learning, computer vision, natural language processing, and robotics in the healthcare domain. Many governments and health authorities have prioritized the application of AI in the delivery of healthcare. Also, technological giants and leading universities have established teams dedicated to the application of AI in medicine. These trends will mean an expanded role for AI in the provision of healthcare. Yet, there is an incomplete understanding of what AI is and its potential for use in healthcare. This book discusses the different types of AI applicable to healthcare and their application in medicine, population health, genomics, healthcare administration, and delivery. Readers, especially healthcare professionals and managers, will find the book useful to understand the different types of AI and how they are relevant to healthcare delivery. The book provides examples of AI being applied in medicine, population health, genomics, healthcare administration, and delivery and how they can commence applying AI in their health services. Researchers and technology professionals will also find the book useful to note current trends in the application of AI in healthcare and initiate their own projects to enable the application of AI in healthcare/medical domains.
Artificial Intelligence and Precision Oncology by
This book highlights the use of artificial intelligence (AI), big data and precision oncology for medical decision making in cancer screening, diagnosis, prognosis and treatment. Precision oncology has long been thought of as ideal for the management and treatment of cancer. This strategy promises to revolutionize the treatment, control, and prevention of cancer by tailoring tests, treatments and predictions to specific individuals or population groups. In order to accomplish these goals, vast amounts of patient or population group specific data needs to be integrated and analysed to be able to identify key patterns or features which can be used to define or characterize the disease or the response to the disease in these individuals. These patterns or features can be as varied as molecular patterns or features in medical images. This level of data analysis and integration can only be achieved through the use of AI. The book is divided into three parts starting with a section on the use of artificial intelligence for screening, diagnosis and monitoring in precision oncology. The second part: Artificial intelligence and Omics in precision oncology, highlights the use of AI and epigenetics, metabolomics, microbiomics in precision oncology. The third part covers artificial intelligence in cancer therapy and its clinical applications. It also highlights the use of AI tools for risk prediction, early detection, diagnosis and accurate prognosis. This book, written by experts in the field from academia and industry, will appeal to cancer researchers, clinical oncologists, pathologists, medical students, academic teaching staff and medical residents interested in cancer research as well as those specialising as clinical oncologists.
Artificial Intelligence for Drug Development, Precision Medicine, and Healthcare by
Artificial Intelligence for Drug Development, Precision Medicine, and Healthcare covers exciting developments at the intersection of computer science and statistics. While much of machine-learning is statistics-based, achievements in deep learning for image and language processing rely on computer science's use of big data. Aimed at those with a statistical background who want to use their strengths in pursuing AI research, the book: · Covers broad AI topics in drug development, precision medicine, and healthcare. · Elaborates on supervised, unsupervised, reinforcement, and evolutionary learning methods. · Introduces the similarity principle and related AI methods for both big and small data problems. · Offers a balance of statistical and algorithm-based approaches to AI. · Provides examples and real-world applications with hands-on R code. · Suggests the path forward for AI in medicine and artificial general intelligence. As well as covering the history of AI and the innovative ideas, methodologies and software implementation of the field, the book offers a comprehensive review of AI applications in medical sciences. In addition, readers will benefit from hands on exercises, with included R code.
Artificial Intelligence in Cardiothoracic Imaging by
This book provides an overview of current and potential applications of artificial intelligence (AI) for cardiothoracic imaging. Most AI systems used in medical imaging are data-driven and based on supervised machine learning. Clinicians and AI specialists can contribute to the development of an AI system in different ways, focusing on their respective strengths. Unfortunately, communication between these two sides is far from fluent and, from time to time, they speak completely different languages. Mutual understanding and collaboration are imperative because the medical system is based on physicians' ability to take well-informed decisions and convey their reasoning to colleagues and patients. This book offers unique insights and informative chapters on the use of AI for cardiothoracic imaging from both the technical and clinical perspective. It is also a single comprehensive source that provides a complete overview of the entire process of the development and use of AI in clinical practice for cardiothoracic imaging. The book contains chapters focused on cardiac and thoracic applications as well more general topics on the potentials and pitfalls of AI in medical imaging. Separate chapters will discuss the valorization, regulations surrounding AI, cost-effectiveness, and future perspective for different countries and continents. This book is an ideal guide for clinicians (radiologists, cardiologists etc.) interested in working with AI, whether in a research setting developing new AI applications or in a clinical setting using AI algorithms in clinical practice. The book also provides clinical insights and overviews for AI specialists who want to develop clinically relevant AI applications.
Artificial Intelligence in Covid-19 by
This book deals with the advantages of using artificial intelligence (AI) in the fight against the COVID-19 and against future pandemics that could threat humanity and our environment. This book is a practical, scientific and clinically relevant example of how medicine and mathematics will fuse in the 2020s, out of external pandemic pressure and out of scientific evolutionary necessity. This book contains a unique blend of the world's leading researchers, both in medicine, mathematics, computer science, clinical and preclinical medicine, and presents the research front of the usage of AI against pandemics. Equipped with this book the reader will learn about the latest AI advances against COVID-19, and how mathematics and algorithms can aid in preventing its spreading course, treatments, diagnostics, vaccines, clinical management and future evolution.
Artificial Intelligence in Medical Imaging by
Choice Recommended Title, January 2021 This book, written by authors with more than a decade of experience in the design and development of artificial intelligence (AI) systems in medical imaging, will guide readers in the understanding of one of the most exciting fields today. After an introductory description of classical machine learning techniques, the fundamentals of deep learning are explained in a simple yet comprehensive manner. The book then proceeds with a historical perspective of how medical AI developed in time, detailing which applications triumphed and which failed, from the era of computer aided detection systems on to the current cutting-edge applications in deep learning today, which are starting to exhibit on-par performance with clinical experts. In the last section, the book offers a view on the complexity of the validation of artificial intelligence applications for commercial use, describing the recently introduced concept of software as a medical device, as well as good practices and relevant considerations for training and testing machine learning systems for medical use. Open problematics on the validation for public use of systems which by nature continuously evolve through new data is also explored. The book will be of interest to graduate students in medical physics, biomedical engineering and computer science, in addition to researchers and medical professionals operating in the medical imaging domain, who wish to better understand these technologies and the future of the field. Features: An accessible yet detailed overview of the field Explores a hot and growing topic Provides an interdisciplinary perspective
Artificial Intelligence in Medicine by
This book identifies Artificial Intelligence (AI) as a growing field that is being incorporated into many aspects of human life, including healthcare practice and delivery. The precision, automation, and potential of AI brings multiple benefits to the way disease is diagnosed, investigated and treated. Currently, there is a lack of any appreciable understanding of AI and this book provides detailed understandings, which include; foundational concepts, current applications, future challenges amongst most healthcare practitioners. The book is divided into four sections: basic concepts, current applications, limitations and future directions. Each section is comprised of chapters written by expert academics, researchers and practitioners at the intersection between AI and medicine. The purpose of the book is to promote AI literacy as an important component of modern medical practice. This book is suited for all readers as it requires no previous knowledge, it walks non-technical clinicians through the complex ideas and concepts in an easy to understand manner.
Digital Disruption in Healthcare by
Digital disruption in healthcare is generating new technologies, applications, and large data sets, and these are all precipitating significant changes in healthcare processes. Emerging applications due to digital disruption and their impact on healthcare delivery and quality are becoming some of the key focus areas of research. However, to date, systematic, generalizable, full-scale evaluation of these new technologies/applications is lacking. Little is known about the net short- or long-term health and wellness impacts of digital technologies. Similarly, the care-delivery and management process changes caused by digital disruption are forcing healthcare organizations to react rather than plan for them in advance. Given these gaps, this book addresses the technology, applications, data, and process aspects of digital disruption in healthcare. This volume is a collection of key areas in health and wellness impacted by digital disruption. It highlights the benefits, barriers,facilitators, and transformative forces that are shaping healthcare digital disruption. Topics explored in the chapters include: Towards Network Medicine: Implementation of Panomics and Artificial Intelligence for Precision Medicine Telehealth Implementation: A Synopsis of Patients' Experience of Clinical Outcomes Realising the Healthcare Value Proposition of Better Access, Quality and Value of Care by Incorporating the Social Determinants of Health with Digital Health The Internet Hospital in the Time of COVID-19: An Example from China Given the diverse interest in healthcare delivery solutions today, the need is broad across academia and the healthcare industry for a comprehensive resource for teaching, practice, and research. Digital Disruption in Healthcare is a point-of-entry resource for transferring theory into practice for heads of IT departments in hospitals, consultants, and academia,as well as scholars and researchers. Both graduate and undergraduate students as well as certificate-seeking health informatics and public health students would benefit from this book. Furthermore, it is useful for healthcare stakeholders including healthcare professionals, clinicians, medical administrators, managers, consultants, policy-makers, and IT practitioners within the healthcare space.
Explainable AI in Healthcare and Medicine by
This book highlights the latest advances in the application of artificial intelligence and data science in health care and medicine. Featuring selected papers from the 2020 Health Intelligence Workshop, held as part of the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) Annual Conference, it offers an overview of the issues, challenges, and opportunities in the field, along with the latest research findings. Discussing a wide range of practical applications, it makes the emerging topics of digital health and explainable AI in health care and medicine accessible to a broad readership. The availability of explainable and interpretable models is a first step toward building a culture of transparency and accountability in health care. As such, this book provides information for scientists, researchers, students, industry professionals, public health agencies, and NGOs interested in the theory and practice of computational models of public and personalized health intelligence.
Machine Learning and AI for Healthcare by
This updated second edition offers a guided tour of machine learning algorithms and architecture design. It provides real-world applications of intelligent systems in healthcare and covers the challenges of managing big data. The book has been updated with the latest research in massive data, machine learning, and AI ethics. It covers new topics in managing the complexities of massive data, and provides examples of complex machine learning models. Updated case studies from global healthcare providers showcase the use of big data and AI in the fight against chronic and novel diseases, including COVID-19. The ethical implications of digital healthcare, analytics, and the future of AI in population health management are explored. You will learn how to create a machine learning model, evaluate its performance, and operationalize its outcomes within your organization. Case studies from leading healthcare providers cover scaling global digital services. Techniques are presented to evaluate the efficacy, suitability, and efficiency of AI machine learning applications through case studies and best practice, including the Internet of Things. You will understand how machine learning can be used to develop health intelligence-with the aim of improving patient health, population health, and facilitating significant care-payer cost savings. What You Will Learn Understand key machine learning algorithms and their use and implementation within healthcare Implement machine learning systems, such as speech recognition and enhanced deep learning/AI Manage the complexities of massive data Be familiar with AI and healthcare best practices, feedback loops, and intelligent agents Who This Book Is For Health care professionals interested in how machine learning can be used to develop health intelligence - with the aim of improving patient health, population health and facilitating significant care-payer cost savings.
Precision Health and Artificial Intelligence by
This book provides a comprehensive explanation of precision (i.e., personalized) healthcare and explores how it can be advanced through artificial intelligence (AI) and other data-driven technologies. From improving the diagnosis, treatment, and monitoring of many medical conditions to the effective implementation of precise patient care, this book will help you understand datasets produced from digital health technologies and IoT and teach you how to employ analytical methods such as convolutional neural networks and deep learning to analyze that data. You'll also see how this data-driven approach can enhance and democratize value-based healthcare delivery. Additionally, you'll learn how the convergence of AI and precision health is revolutionizing healthcare, including some of the most difficult challenges facing precision medicine, such as ethics, bias, privacy, and health equity. Precision Health and Artificial Intelligence provides the groundwork for clinicians, engineers, bioinformaticians, and healthcare enthusiasts to apply AI to healthcare. What You Will Learn Understand the components required to facilitate precision health and personalized care Apply and implement precision health systems Overcome the challenges of delivering precision healthcare at scale Reconcile ethical and moral implications of delivering precision healthcare Gain insight into the hurdles providers face while implementing precision healthcare Who This Book Is For Healthcare professionals, clinicians, engineers, bioinformaticians, chief information officers (CIOs), and students
Trends of Artificial Intelligence and Big Data for E-Health by
This book aims to present the impact of Artificial Intelligence (AI) and Big Data in healthcare for medical decision making and data analysis in myriad fields including Radiology, Radiomics, Radiogenomics, Oncology, Pharmacology, COVID-19 prognosis, Cardiac imaging, Neuroradiology, Psychiatry and others. This will include topics such as Artificial Intelligence of Thing (AIOT), Explainable Artificial Intelligence (XAI), Distributed learning, Blockchain of Internet of Things (BIOT), Cybersecurity, and Internet of (Medical) Things (IoTs). Healthcare providers will learn how to leverage Big Data analytics and AI as methodology for accurate analysis based on their clinical data repositories and clinical decision support. The capacity to recognize patterns and transform large amounts of data into usable information for precision medicine assists healthcare professionals in achieving these objectives. Intelligent Health has the potential to monitor patients at risk with underlying conditions and track their progress during therapy. Some of the greatest challenges in using these technologies are based on legal and ethical concerns of using medical data and adequately representing and servicing disparate patient populations. One major potential benefit of this technology is to make health systems more sustainable and standardized. Privacy and data security, establishing protocols, appropriate governance, and improving technologies will be among the crucial priorities for Digital Transformation in Healthcare.
Work and AI 2030 by
In ten years, we will take working with artificial intelligence (AI) more for granted than using cell phones today. 78 recognized experts from practice and research provide deep insights and outlooks regarding the influence of AI on everyday working life in 2030, explaining with practical tips how you can prepare for this development. The 41 concise articles cover a broad spectrum in the area examined in each case. Thanks to a standardized structure, they include a summary of the status quo, concrete examples, future expectations, an overview of challenges and possible solutions, and practical tips. The volume begins with societal and ethical issues before discussing legal considerations for employers and HR professionals, as well as the administration of justice. The other chapters examine the impact of AI on the world of work in 2030 in the sectors of business, industry, mobility and logistics, medicine and pharmaceuticals, and (further) education.
AI-Based Literature Review Tools - Texas A&M Univ. Libraries
AI in Health Sciences - Univ. of New Mexico Libraries
AI in the Classroom - Butler Univ. Libraries and Center for Academic Technology
Artificial Intelligence - Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Hospital Library
Artificial Intelligence - Univ. of Washington Health Sciences Library
Artificial Intelligence (AI) Guide - UT Southwestern Health Sciences Digital Library and Learning Center
Artificial Intelligence (AI) in Learning and Discovery - Levy Library, Icahn School of Medicine at Mt. Sinai
Artificial Intelligence and Healthcare - St. Michaels Unity Health Toronto Library
Artificial Intelligence (Generative) Resources - Georgetown Univ. Libraries
Assignments with ChatGPT - Univ. of New Mexico Libraries
OverviewArtificial Intelligence & Responsible Business Conduct - Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
What is Deep Learning - Amazon Web Services (AWS)
Generative AI - Amazon Web Services (AWS)
What are Large Language Models (LLM)? - Amazon Web Services (AWS)
AI in Health Sciences - Univ. of New Mexico Libraries
Data Quality and Artificial Intelligence – Mitigating Bias and Error to Protect Fundamental Rights - European Union Agency for Fundamental Rights (FRA)
AI and Plagiarism - Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL)
What are Hallucinations? - IBM
AI Detection Tools are Really Easy to Fool - Massachusett's Institute of Technology (MIT)
AI and Teaching at Duke: Guidance for Instructors - Duke University
AI in the Classroom - Butler University Libraries and Center for Academic Technology.
Assignments with ChatGPT - Univ. of New Mexico Libraries.
ChatGPT and other AI-based tools - Univ. of Washington, Teaching@UW.
Should You Add an AI Policy to Your Syllabus? - The Chronicle of Higher Ed
A Teacher's Prompt Guide to ChatGPT - Centre for Education Statistics and Evaluation
Understanding AI Writing Tools and Their Uses for Teaching and Learning - UC Berkeley.
* All images generated using Microsoft Copilot or Limewire