Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

PhD in Health Sciences: Key Resources

Resources for students in the PhD in Health Sciences program.

Key Databases

PubMed

Contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. At the heart of this search system is the MEDLINE database, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM).  Full-text linking is available for free for PubMed Central, books, and subscribed content. MEDLINE is also available through EBSCO and Ovid. Access PubMed through the Briscoe Library website for access tp UT Health San Antonio holdings.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Provides indexing for 3,000+ journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (2005-present)

Includes full-text systematic reviews (of the highest level) of methodological studies and protocols.

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print

Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) includes full-text reviews of 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments, plus all previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938 (10,000+ full-text reviews).
Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. For help on TIP, see How to Use Buros Publications.

ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)

Includes annotated bibliographic records–citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.

APA PsycInfo

Developed by the American Psychological Association (APA), this collection is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and others. Coverage is from 1800's to the present.

Other Resources