Free Educational Technology Resources

Are you looking for media to add to your presentations, lectures, and other work? Media can make a big impression, but it can be difficult to find media that's safe to use. This part of the guide offers some options for searching for copyright free, creative commons, and other open source applications for media creation.

This guide contains resources for finding, editing, and using freely licensed media found online, for educational and classroom projects.

You can find many resources available through a Creative Commons License or in the public domain. Please check the guidelines on each site before downloading to assure proper usage of the media provided.

• Briscoe Library Copyright Guide - General information about copyright and fair use in the classroom.
• UT Health Office of Legal Affairs - For more indepth questions about copyright contact the Office of Legal Affairs.
• What is Creative Commons? - Guidelines on using Creative Commons licensed works.
• Understanding Copyright and Fair Use for Education - Youtube playlist of videos covering this topic.

• The Gender Spectrum Collection: Stock Photos Beyond the Binary - A stock photo library featuring images of trans and non-binary models. This collection aims to help media better represent members of these communities as people not necessarily defined by their gender identities.
• The Jopwell Collection: Intern Edition - Features free stock photos of young professionals of color.
• nappy - High-res stock photos of Black and brown people.

General Images

Flickr Commons - Project launched in 2008 to provide access to public photography archives.

Unsplash - Database of freely useable images. Available under a Creative Commons license.

New York Public Library Public Domain Collections - NYPL's collection of over 180k free to reuse digital items.

Wikipedia meta list of public domain image resources - Comprehensive list of sites covering a variety of subjects.

Image: Nursing at Freedmen's Hospital. Public Domain, from NIH Digital Collections

Health Care Media

CDC Public Health Image Library - Public health images created and shared by the Center for Disease Control.

NIH Digital Collections - Featuring historical image, texts, and health psas from the National Library of Medicine.

Medical Gallery by Blausen Medical - Gallery of free to use medical images.

Video

Videvo - Free stock video site.

Archive.org Stock Footage - A collection of stock footage submitted by Internet Archive users.

Audio

Freesound - A database of Creative Commons licensed music tracks for use in noncommercial projects.

Jamendo - An archive of over 220k royalty free music tracks for use in projects.

PhotoPea - Advanced image editor in the vein of Adobe Photoshop. Free and browser based. Does offer a subscription fee to remove ads.

Canva - Browser based design program with many premade templates. Projects can be worked on collaboratively.

Shotcut - Free and open source. A perfect video editor to put together simple clips with basic transitions. Works on Windows, Mac, and Linux.

DaVinci Resolve 17 - Powerful, free video editing aimed at advanced users. Works on Windows, Mac, and Linux.

Audacity - Powerful, open source, audio editing program. Offers a large library of plugins with additional features. Works on Windows, Mac, and Linux.

Hya-Wave - Browser based audio editing for simple projects. Works on Windows, Mac, and Linux.