Cecil Essentials of Medicine by
Known for its concise, easy-to-read writing style and comprehensive coverage, Cecil Essentials of Medicine has been a favorite of students, residents, and instructors through nine outstanding editions. This revised 10th Edition continues the tradition of excellence with a focus on high-yield core knowledge of key importance to anyone entering or established in the field of internal medicine. Fully revised and updated by editors Edward J. Wing and Fred J. Schiffman, along with other leading teachers and experts in the field, Cecil Essentials remains clinically focused and solidly grounded in basic science. New focus on high-yield, core knowledge necessary for clerkships or residencies in medicine, with concise, complete coverage of the core principles of medicine and how they apply to patient care. Each section describes key physiology and biochemistry, followed by comprehensive accounts of the diseases of the organ system or field covered in the chapters. Full-color design enhances readability and retention of concepts, while numerous imaging videos cover cardiovascular disease, endoscopy, sphincterotomy, and more. Superb images and photographs vividly illustrate the appearance and clinical features of disease. New chapters cover Women's Cancer and Transitions in Care from Children to Adults with Pulmonary Disease. Student Consult features include web-only extras, additional figures and tables, clinical photos, radiologic images, video procedures, imaging studies, and audio recordings. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine by
Well over two million medical students, doctors and other health professionals around the globe have owned a copy of Davidson's Principles and Practice of Medicine since it was first published over 70 years ago. Now in its 24th Edition, this thoroughly updated textbook describes the pathophysiology and clinical features of the most frequently encountered conditions in the major specialties of adult medicine, and explains how to recognise, investigate, diagnose and manage them. Taking its origins from Sir Stanley Davidson's much-admired lecture notes, Davidson's has endured because it keeps pace with how modern medicine is taught and provides a wealth of trusted information in an easy-to-read, concise and beautifully illustrated format. Key features: Part 1 'Fundamentals of Medicine' - provides an account of the principles of genetics, immunology, infectious diseases, population health, oncology and pain management, along with a discussion of the core principles behind clinical decision-making and good prescribing. Part 2 'Emergency and Critical Care Medicine' - covers medical emergencies in poisoning, envenomation and medicine in austere environments, as well as common presentations in acute medicine and the recognition and management of the critically ill. Part 3 'Clinical Medicine'- covers the major medical specialties, each thoroughly revised and brought fully up to date. A new section on COVID-19 has been added and the impact of this infection is described throughout the book. Clinical Examination overviews - extended and updated to summarise the main elements for each system. Presenting Problems sections - provide a clear pathway for the assessment of and approach to the most common complaints in each specialty. Practice Point summaries - detail the practical skills that medical students and junior doctors must acquire. Emergency boxes - emphasise the core knowledge needed to manage acutely ill patients. In Old Age, In Pregnancy and In Adolescence boxes - highlight differences in the practice of medicine in these patient groups, and illustrate the interfaces between medical, obstetric and paediatric services. The text is extensively illustrated - with over 1000 diagrams, clinical photographs, and radiology and pathology images. The global perspective is enhanced by an International Advisory Board of experts from 11 countries and by leading authors from around the world. The complete, downloadable eBook version is included with your (print copy) purchase - for easy access on your portable device, anytime, anywhere! Now enhanced with: NEW interactive self-assessment material - over 150 Questions and Answers test your understanding of chapter key points and aid efficient exam preparation Davidson's will serve readers everywhere as a core text that integrates medical science with clinical medicine, conveying key knowledge and practical advice in a highly accessible and readable format. REVIEWS Beautifully constructed with superb clarity of style - Davidson's continues to provide for students, doctors and other health professionals a sound basis for the practice of medicine. Royal Society of Medicine and Society of Authors Medical Book Awards This book comes through where others fail: an excellent textbook, easy to read and superb value. British Medical Journal
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-First Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2) by
The Voice of Clinical ReasonA Doody's Core Title for 2022! Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine is the world's most trusted clinical medicine text--and a superb resource for learning the art and science of clinical reasoning. Recognized by healthcare professionals worldwide as the leading authority on applied pathophysiology and clinical medicine, Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine provides the informational foundation you need for the best patient care possible. This new edition is fully updated with timely new chapters and essential updates across the spectrum of internal medicine. Written and edited by the world's top experts in their respective fields, this landmark guide provides comprehensive, accurate, and essential coverage of the pathogenesis, diagnosis, and treatment of disease. Harrison's is world-renowned as the most authoritative source for: * Clear, concise schemas that facilitate the generation of differential diagnoses to reason efficiently through complex real world clinical cases * The physiologic and etiologic basis of signs and symptoms, which are covered through a wealth of unsurpassed expert guidance and linked to the disease-specific chapters that follow * Updated clinical trial results and recommended guidelines * Excellent and extensive visual support, including radiographs, clinical photos, schematics, and high-quality drawings * Coverage of both therapeutic approaches and specific treatment regimens * Practical clinical decision trees and algorithms * Organ/system-specific sections, with clinically relevant pathophysiology and practical clinical advice on the approach to the patient, strategies towards building a differential diagnosis, outstanding clinical algorithms and diagnostic schema, a wealth of clinical images and diagrams, current clinical guidelines, and general and specific approaches to therapy Harrison's remains the most trusted resource in a world influenced by endless sources of medical information. The most timely and comprehensive updates from the world's top experts are featured in the 21st edition: * Current coverage of the diagnosis and treatment of diseases, from COVID to dementia to sepsis to multiple sclerosis to lung cancer * Updated content that reflects new approved therapeutics and new practice-changing guidelines and evidence summaries * More than 1000 clinical, pathological, and radiographic photographs, diagnostic and therapeutic decision trees, and clear schematics and diagrams describing pathophysiologic processes * Numerous atlases featuring curated collections of important visual aspects of diagnosis and management * Updated and time-saving curation and synthesis of established and new medical literature and studies * Clinically relevant coverage of disease mechanics and pathophysiology, and related therapeutic mechanisms
Harrisons Manual of Medicine, 20th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. All the authority of the most trusted brand in medical content in a convenient, portable guide Derived from most clinically salient content featured in Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 20th Edition, this full color, portable guide covers all diseases and conditions commonly seen in general medical practice. This edition has been updated to reflect the latest clinical developments in medicine. Designed for quick access and employing an effective blend of concise text, bulleted key points, decision trees, and summary tables, the Manual makes it easy to find what you need at the point of care. The easy-to-navigate chapters use a standard repeating template and cover: * Etiology and Epidemiology * Clinically Relevant Pathophysiology * Signs and Symptoms * Differential Diagnosis * Physical and Laboratory Findings * Therapeutics * Practice Guidelines, and more
Huppert's Notes: Pathophysiology and Clinical Pearls for Internal Medicine by
This high-yield pocket manual helps medical trainees bridge the gap between science lectures and patient wards and build confidence with clinical skills Filled with visuals and pearls, Huppert's Notes emphasizes pathophysiology and evidence-based medicine to help improve clinical decision-making and differential diagnosis skills. It provides succinct descriptions of common medical conditions and disease states, proven tips on how to distinguish them, and the appropriate treatment course highlighted with conditions. Huppert's Notes succinctly organizes the foundational science covered early in medical school and provides a framework for clinical learning encountered in clerkship, and beyond. This marriage of pathophysiology and basic treatment principles helps you make clear sense of clinical concepts mechanistically, rather than through memorization. Created and road-tested by a resident, you won't wish to be without this handy little guide. Features Outline-format, diagrams, tables, and space for note-taking facilitate quick recall Highlights must-know clinical trials guiding medical decisions Provides sensitivities and specificities for diagnostic criteria
On Rounds: 1000 Internal Medicine Pearls by
Clinical judgment is a critical aspect - perhaps the most critical aspect - of efficient, accurate, and cost-effective patient care. Focusing on essential clinical skills, On Rounds: 1000 Internal Medicine Pearls helps clinicians in training and in practice to identify the critical findings that will simplify complex clinical problems and lead to an accurate diagnosis. One thousand easy-to-remember clinical aphorisms, or "pearls," help you distinguish the important findings from the incidental, pointing out the distinctive features amidst the mass of data that is accumulated in the evaluation of a sick patient, and leading to the development of mature clinical judgment.Go "on rounds" with one of the most respected educators in internal medicine and learn from his nearly 50 years of clinical experience.Focus on the areas that are often a source of confusion for students, trainees, and even seasoned practitioners.Learn each pearl in a relevant clinical context, with tables, clinical images, and physiology information, where appropriate.Recognize "black pearls:" statements that, although widely believed, are demonstrably false.Improve your clinical judgment skills whether you're a resident or an experienced clinician.Carry these pocket-sized pearls with you for quick reference.
The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2020 by
Practical and highly organized, The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2020 is a reliable, go-to resource for clinicians in primary care, family medicine, emergency medicine, nursing, and pediatrics. This bestselling title provides rapid access to guidance on diagnosis, treatment, medications, follow-up, and associated factors for more than 540 diseases and conditions. The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2020 delivers maximum clinical confidence as efficiently as possible ... allowing you to focus your valuable time on giving your patients the best possible care. Get quick access to all-new content , including Internet Gaming Disorder, and a new algorithm for Tinnitus. Find the answers you need quickly thanks to an intuitive, at-a-glance format, with concise, bulleted text; hundreds of diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms; ICD-10 codes, DSM-5 criteria; and much more. Make confident decisions aided by current evidence-based designations in each topic. Written by esteemed internal medicine and family medicine practitioners and published by the leading publisher in medical content, The 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2020, 28th Edition includes a 10-Day Free Trial to 5MinuteConsult.com. 5MinuteConsult.com is an evidence-based, online workflow tool easily integrated at the point of care. 5MinuteConsult.com provides online-exclusive content, including: All-new topics, including Sports Medicine topics as they apply to Primary Care, Cannabinoid Hyperemesis Syndrome, Cholesteatoma, Rumination Syndrome, and Tinea Incognito, More than 1,500 additional topics, including the full contents of The 5-Minute Pediatric Consult and Rosen & Barkin's 5-Minute Emergency Medicine Consult Differential diagnosis support from an expanded collection of algorithms Current evidence-based designations highlighted in each topic Thousands of images to help support visual diagnosis of all conditions A video library of procedures, treatment, and physical therapy techniques An A-to-Z Drug Database from Facts & Comparisons® Guidance on laboratory test interpretation from Wallach's Interpretation of Diagnostic Tests More than 3,000 patient handouts in English and Spanish Approximately 100 Diseases and Conditions in Spanish ICD-10 codes and DSM-5 criteria FREE point-of-care CME and CE: 0.5 credits each time you search the site to find the best treatment for your patients. This activity has been reviewed and is acceptable for up to 20 prescribed credits by the AAFP and the ANCC. Consider a subscription to 5MinuteConsult.com, available for 1 year with the purchase of The 5-Minute Clinical Consult Premium 2020: 1-Year Enhanced Online Access + Print, 28th Edition or an online-only subscription, available at www.5MinuteConsult.com
CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 by
The most popular annual guide of its kind--fully revised and updated to reflect all new clinical developments in every field of medicine For 60+ years, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment―the flagship volume of the renowned Lange medical series―has been delivering the authoritative information students, residents, and clinicians need to build their medical knowledge, expertise, and confidence. Written by top experts in their fields, this unmatched guide is formatted in a way that enables you to find the answers you need quickly and easily. CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2022 focuses completely on solving practical bedside clinical issues without spending too much time on pathophysiology. It includes full review of all primary care topics, including gynecology, obstetrics, dermatology, ophthalmology, otolaryngology, psychiatry, neurology, toxicology, and urology. You'll find everything you need to know about inpatient and outpatient care, along the with the most relevant diagnostic tools for day-to-day practice. Features: 320 images Hundreds of quick-access drug treatment tables, with indexed tradenames and updated drug prices Includes an annual review of advances in HIV treatment Includes Essentials of Diagnosis for most diseases/disorders Diagnostic/treatment algorithms present critical information in an at-a-glance format Up-to-date references provide peer-reviewed, evidence-based information "Electronic only" chapters available to all book customers, not just to CMDT online subscribers Expanded chapter content available online and in ebook for all chapter content
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 by
The authoritative guidelines you need to diagnose and treat the most common outpatient conditions--updated with the latest research available for each guideline Concise yet comprehensive, CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2023 provides quick access to screening, prevention, and treatment guidelines for the most common outpatient conditions. Content is drawn from a wide array of recommendations from government agencies, expert panels, medical specialty organizations, and other professional and scientific organizations. The author selected each topic based on its relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine, and he organized the book in a way that makes finding critical information a quick and easy process. With the most current, evidence-based content available, this go-to guide converts the tremendous amount of information on the web into a practical, relevant collection of usable data for busy clinicians. Features NEW: Highlights instances where major guidelines conflict. Formatted for easy fact-finding in both print and digital platforms. Organized by screening, prevention, and treatment. Topics are carefully selected for relevance to the office practice of ambulatory medicine. Text is enhanced by a convenient outline format. Screening and prevention of conditions have been combined to enhance clinician use.
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 11th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The classic guide to the undifferentiated patient-enhanced by new cases Technological advances have taken testing and imaging to remarkable new places--yet establishing patient history and performing physical examinations are more important now than ever. This classic guide has been showing students and clinicians how to approach the diagnostic process thoughtfully and systematically for decades--and this revised edition brings you completely up to date. Part physical examination primer, part differential diagnosis tool, DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination provides the information and insights you need to make accurate, evidence-based diagnostic hypotheses. Covering all physical exam techniques and procedures, this updated edition shows how to collect clinical findings gleaned from the physical examination and synthesize them into a differential diagnosis. * Covers the latest developments in evidence-based physical examinations * Explains how to obtain a complete patient history and perform a thorough physical exam * Organized by signs, symptoms, and syndromes to make finding what you need quick and easy * Connects symptoms and signs with disease pathophysiology * Facilitates efficient, cost-effective diagnostic testing using focused differential diagnoses This classic guide continues to effectively combine current diagnostic practices with the unchanging aspects of clinical medicine.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2024 by
Summary: "For more than 25 years, Ferri's Clinical Advisor has provided immediate answers on the myriad medical diseases and disorders you're likely to encounter in a unique, easy-to-use format. A bestselling title year after year, this popular "5 books in 1" reference delivers vast amounts of information in a user-friendly manner. It is updated annually to provide current and clinically relevant answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines--all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields. Extensive algorithms, along with hundreds of high-quality photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and tables, ensure that you stay current with today's medical practice." -- Publisher's description.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor 2023 by
For 25 years, Ferri's Clinical Advisor has provided immediate answers on the myriad medical diseases and disorders you're likely to encounter in a unique, easy-to-use format. A bestselling title year after year, this popular "5 books in 1" reference delivers vast amounts of information in a user-friendly manner. It is updated annually to provide current and clinically relevant answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines?all carefully reviewed by experts in key clinical fields. Extensive algorithms, along with hundreds of high-quality photographs, illustrations, diagrams, and tables, ensure that you stay current with today's medical practice. Contains significant updates throughout all 5 sections, covering all aspects of diagnosis and treatment. Features 27 all-new topics including coronary artery dissection, perimandibular abscess, retinal vein occlusion, performance enhancing hormones, aphasia, hemorrhagic ovarian cyst, pelvic fracture, lung transplant, penile cancer and obsessive rumination syndrome, among others. Includes useful appendices covering care of the transgender patient, palliative care, preoperative evaluation, nutrition, poison management, commonly used herbal products in integrated medicine, and much more. Offers online access to Patient Teaching Guides in both English and Spanish. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The essential guide to more than 450 of the most commonly performed diagnostic tests - updated with the latest molecular, genetic, and microbiological tests A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Guide to Diagnostic Tests, Seventh Edition is a concise guide to the selection and interpretation of more than 450 of the laboratory and microbiology tests most relevant to the general practice of medicine. This on-the-spot clinical companion also includes coverage of diagnostic imaging, electrocardiology, echocardiography, and the use of tests in differential diagnosis. Features: * Covers areas of internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, neurology, and obstetrics and gynecology * Over 25 new or substantially revised laboratory tests * New and updated coverage of emerging and re-emerging pathogens and infectious agents,including the Zika and Ebola viruses * Updated material on molecular and genetic tests, including pharmacogenetics tests * An entire section of diagnostic algorithms * Full literature citations with PubMed identification (PMID) numbers included for each reference * Details costs and risks of various procedures and tests * Full section on electrocardiography and echocardiography If you've been looking for an authoritative, up-to-date, and easy-to-carry guide to the latest diagnostic testing procedures, your search ends here.
Gomella and Haist's Clinician's Pocket Reference, 12th Edition by
An all new edition of the original Scut Monkey Handbook--the acclaimed survival guide for the wards and the clinic 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This pocket reference is packed with information that is important for medical students and interns on a day-to-day basis. It is rich with practical information that might otherwise be located in different manuals.... The fundamental information is important for all clinicians to master, thus the book serves house staff quite well also.... This book continues to be a favorite among medical students and house staff for good reason."--Doody's Review Service (on a previous edition) This portable, pocket-sized "manual of manuals" provides medical students and residents with essential patient care information, including up-to-date coverage of current treatment protocols, clinical microbiology, critical care, and commonly used medications. Readers will find step-by-step guidance on the history and physical examination, differential diagnosis, key lab and diagnostic tests, and much more. The Twelfth Edition is highlighted by NEW specialty Pearls; NEW chapters on the Patient Presentation, Specialized Diagnostics, Hospice and Palliative Care, Interdisciplinary Health Care Teams, and Principles of Ambulatory Care; and "must know" board tips at the end of each chapter; and NEW laboratory tests.
Quick Reference to Critical Care by
The fifth edition of this pocket-sized reference guide to procedures, treatments, and stabilization techniques for disorders, injuries, and patient situations commonly seen in the critical care setting.It features extensive cross referencing to prevent discrepancy between terms. The text is "to the point" and is comprised of easy-to-understand terms. The layout features bullets to highlight specific information, provides "Remember" notations to emphasize important facts, and incorporates sun rhymes to help with reader retention.
The Washington Manual Internship Survival Guide by
Substantially revised since the previous edition, this Internship Survival Guide offers first-year residents practical, real-world medical and professional guidance from senior residents and faculty advisors at the Washington University School of Medicine. Advice is presented in a concise, bulleted format, lending itself to quick comprehension of the material. You'll learn the nuts and bolts of logistical issues and patient and colleague communication, as well as the basics of navigating your clinical rotations. To-the-point, updated explanations of the 10 most common diagnoses and patient complaints you'll encounter; includes key history, what not to miss, and when to call for help. Features a detachable pocket card with step-by-step instructions and full-color illustrations of basic procedures you need to master to pass residency requirements. Now with checklists--also on the pocket card--that serve as handy action items for interns. Includes helpful do's and don'ts on often overlooked workplace issues such as patient admission and discharges and communication with others on the medical team. Medical topics cover patient safety, risk mitigation, fluid management, operation of common devices like EKGs, as well as overviews of key clinical specialties. Enhance Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
The Washington Manual of Bedside Procedures by
Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual of Bedside Procedures focuses on the essential information you need for the preparation, performance, and aftercare of invasive bedside procedures. This practical reference presents brief, logical approaches to invasive procedures commonly performed by most housestaff, with an emphasis on internal medicine and surgery. Using a colorful, step-by-step approach, it provides a clear view of the challenges faced by residents, interns, and medical students, plus offers practical solutions and expert guidance - all in one convenient and easily accessible source.Offers step-by-step guidance on the indications, contraindications, technique, and potential complications of a variety of invasive bedside procedures.Includes comprehensive coverage of central venous cannulation, radial arterial line placement, endotracheal intubation, lumbar puncture, abdominal paracentesis, thoracentesis, and knee arthrocentesis, as well as universal protocols and precautions.Provides commentary on the safety and contraindications of the procedures based on the latest evidence-based data.Discusses the use, potential benefits, and technique of ultrasound guidance for certain procedures, as well as fluid analysis, where appropriate.
Washington Manual® General Internal Medicine Consult by
Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual® General Internal Medicine Consult, Third Edition , provides quick access to the essential information needed when performing an inpatient consult. Chapters are organized around presenting symptom (e.g., approach to nausea, approach to low back pain), allowing quick look-up of differential diagnosis and management. Ideal for medical students, residents, and practitioners, the manual is also useful as a quick-reference guide for practicing hospitalists. Key Features: Brief, focused information throughout, zeroing in on the essential diagnosis and assessment information you need for an internal medicine consult. Thoroughly revised to include new approaches to diagnosis and new therapeutic management, as well as an all-new chapter on venous thromboembolic disease. Organized by presenting symptom, making information easy to find so you can maximize your time spent during the consult. Perfect for residents asked to perform a medical consult, hospitalists, students, NPs, and PAs. Written by residents, fellows, and attending physicians from the Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
