Skip to main content

School of Dentistry: Evidence-Based Practice: Resources

Key Databases

PubMed

A search system that contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. At the heart of this system is the MEDLINE database, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Full-text linking is available for free and subscribed content only. MEDLINE is also available through EBSCO and Ovid.

Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP)

A clinical search engine with high-quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. Note: To link to UTHSC journals, log in and select our institution from the drop-down menu. Full Text: HSCLink will appear under citations.

ADA Center for Evidence Based Practice Database

A database of critical summaries prepared by ADA Evidence Reviewers and maintained under the advisement of the ADA Council on Scientific Affairs. Arranged by topic and browsable, this database provides immediate access to summaries specific to dental clinical practice. 

CATs

The CAT (Critically Appraised Topic) is a structured one-page summary and critique of the best available evidence on a focused question.The CATs are updated as new research is published. This online library rapidly provides users with up-to-date evidence-based answers to over 1000 clinical questions.

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (2005-present)

Includes full-text systematic reviews (of the highest level) of methodological studies and protocols.

UpToDate

An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which synthesizes the most recent medical information into recommendations to aide clinicians in making point-of-care decisions

Micromedex

Evidence based clinical resource that provides unbiased, referenced Clinical Decision Support (CDS) for medication, toxicology, disease, acute care and alternative medicine.

CINAHL

Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature provides abstracts as well as full text articles and a subset of EBP designed to narrow your results in five research areas, Therapy, Prognosis, Review, Qualitative, and Causation (Etiology)

 

Affiliations

American Dental Association (ADA) 

Founded in 1859, the not-for-profit American Dental Association is the nation's largest dental association and is the leading source of oral health related information for dentists and their patients. 

International Association for Dental Research

(IADR), headquartered in Alexandria, Va.  USA, is a nonprofit organization whose mission includes the advance of research, increase knowledge and to support the communication and application of research findings. 

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners

provides licensing, peer assistance, and related information services to licensees

Data Repositories

Additional Open Access Resources

PLoS :

PLOS was founded in 2001 as a nonprofit Open Access publisher, innovator and advocacy organization with a mission to  accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication

*UTHealth Libraries have online, full text access to PLoS publications through the catalog

Parts of this guide are used with permission and have been adapted from guides created by Emme Lopez and Christine Gespard. 2017 Tyson.C