Skip to main content

School of Dentistry: Evidence-Based Practice

Resources to support EBP: EBD

Key Databases

PubMed

A free resource, developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), containing over 29 million citations dealing with biomedical and health information.  Powered by MEDLINE, a premier collection of citations which is indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). Full-text linking may be available for free and subscribed content only. MEDLINE is also available through EBSCO and Ovid.

Briscoe Library has a LibGuide on searching in PubMed

PubMed Online Training Tutorials

PubMed: Find Articles by Subject

PubMed: "Exploding" the Medical Subject Headings

Trip

A clinical search engine with high-quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. Note: To link to UTHSC journals, log in and select our institution from the drop-down menu. Full Text: HSCLink will appear under citations.

How to Use Trip

Trip search features

ADA Center for Evidence Based Practice Database

Database maintained by the ADA Center for Evidence-Based Dentistry which develops resources that help dentists integrate clinically relevant scientific evidence at the point of care.  The Evidence Database is current up until August 2016.  Recent critical summaries are available via JADA’s Clinical Scans series.  Other EBD information available thru ADA site includes Guidelines, Critical Summaries, Plain Language Summaries, and Systematic Reviews

Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) in Dentistry

Searchable CAT library maintained by the UT Health School of Dentistry Evidence-Based Practice Program.  The CAT (Critically Appraised Topic) is a structured one-page summary and critique of the best available evidence on a focused question. The CATs are updated as new research is published. This online library rapidly provides users with up-to-date evidence-based answers to over 1000 clinical questions.

Cochrane Library

A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making.  Databases include:  Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), and Cochrane Clinical Answers (CCAs).

How to use the Cochrane Library

UpToDate

An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which synthesizes the most recent medical information into recommendations to aide clinicians in making point-of-care decisions. (only accessible from computers connected to the UTHSC network or HSCWave)

Micromedex

Evidence based clinical resource that provides unbiased, referenced Clinical Decision Support (CDS) for medication, toxicology, disease, acute care and alternative medicine.

BestBETs & BestBETS Critical Appraisals

BETs (Best Evidence Topics) were designed specifically for Emergency Medicine.  In a busy specialty, a wide variety of clinical problems, some minor and many not covered by widely publicized guidelines, are encountered.  BETs allow quick access to the best available evidence, summarized in a patient-centered format.  Each topic answers a carefully worded 3-part question by using a structured approach to find and review the literature.. The BET method allows the use of lower quality research and lists the shortcomings of the evidence used. As with other forms of EBM topic review, each BET has a clinical "bottom line" for the busy physician.

Affiliations

American Dental Association (ADA) 

Founded in 1859, the not-for-profit American Dental Association is the nation's largest dental association and is the leading source of oral health related information for dentists and their patients. 

International Association for Dental Research

(IADR), headquartered in Alexandria, Va.  USA, is a nonprofit organization whose mission includes the advance of research, increase knowledge and to support the communication and application of research findings. 

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners

provides licensing, peer assistance, and related information services to licensees