Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision. Databases include: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; Health Technology Assessment Database; NHS Economic Evaluation Database; and Cochrane Review Groups.
Turning Research Into Practice
A clinical search engine designed to retrieve high quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, guidelines, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. The aim of the TRIP database is to allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web in support of evidence-based practice.
Cumulative Index of Nursing & Allied Health Literature
Provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, it covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Developed by the American Psychological Association (APA), this collection is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and others. Coverage is from 1800's to the present.
Essential Evidence Plus is a powerful, comprehensive clinical decision support system that integrates information on 9,000 diagnoses into healthcare professionals' clinical workflows. This clinical tool, created by an international team of renowned medical experts, was developed for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals on the front line of patient care.
EE+ features over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, tools, images, and summaries covering the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians come in contact with every day. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating that accurately grades each recommendation's merit on the basis of all of the evidence available in the relevant literature.
A collection of electronic textbooks, drug information, videos, animations, and a differential diagnosis tool. Also includes self-assessment tools. Accessible via mobile device.
A comprehensive collection of medical and surgical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey is an upgraded and expanded version of MD Consult that offers full text access to selected medical textbooks, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
Micromedex is a database of drug and pharmacological information, including drug interactions and drug identification.
JAMAevidence is an online medical resource with guides and resources that help decision-makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
This tool uses predefined filters (for Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, Medical Genetics, and COVID-19) to help you quickly refine PubMed searches on clinical or disease-specific topics.
A collection of full text, authoritative healthcare resources in a variety of specialties, such as Emergency/Critical Care, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Infectious Disease, Nursing, Evidence-based Medicine, Drug Information, and Surgery. Content consists of ebooks, EBM practice guidelines, drug information, EBM calculator, patient hand-outs, and medical news feeds.
Create a log in ID for STAT!Ref and add the following to your favorites:
Greenfield's Surgery by
Revised, updated, and enhanced from cover to cover, the Sixth Edition of Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles and Practice remains the gold standard text in the field of surgery. It reflects surgery's rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques, integrating new scientific knowledge with evolving changes in surgical care. Updates to this edition include new editors and contributors, and a greatly enhanced visual presentation. Balancing scientific advances with clinical practice, Greenfield's Surgery is an invaluable resource for today's residents and practicing surgeons. Key Features: Features enhanced, full-color illustrations, clinical photographs, key teaching points, and decision-making algorithms for quick reference to key information. Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. Introduces two new editors, Hasan Alam, MD and Timothy Pawlik, MD, who bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. Showcases the scientific and clinical expertise of more than 200 contributing authors, each an active practitioner in the field of surgery. Includes two new chapters on Obesity and Preoperative Risk Assessment. eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions and an Interactive Quesiton Bank with nearly 900 questions Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
Scientific American Surgery by
cientific American Surgery Returns! Decker Intellectual Properties Inc. has signed a licensing agreement with Scientific American to re-establish the comprehensive professional surgical database, Scientific American Surgery. First published in 1989 under the name Care of the Surgical Patient, now includes an enhanced surgical offering through this agreement with Scientific American. For the past eleven years (2002-2013), the resource was known as American College of Surgeons (ACS) Surgery.
Scientific American Surgery has a reputation of providing practicing surgeons and students with comprehensive and up-to-date surgical information. Now, Scientific American will offer the editors of SAS access to Scientific American Magazine's vast archive and cutting-edge reporting to incorporate relevant articles into the surgical database.
Scientific American Surgery is a continuously updated online resource. It covers all subspecialties of surgery plus Competency-Based Surgical Care, Care in Special Situations, Scientific Foundations, and Organ Systems. SAS provides clear and actionable diagnostic and procedural recommendations.
This title updates: Monthly
Publication Date: 2018
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource used to make point-of-care decisions. Specialties include Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Family Practice, Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Oncology, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, and others. Mobile app is available. On campus registration required. Re-verify once every 90 days
Introduction to the Operating Room by
A unique "survival manual" for clinicians new to the operating room This one-of-a-kind resource answers all the questions that newbie clinicians , nurses, and allied health workers have about the Operating Room but are afraid to ask. It is a complete and candid explanation of the sights, sounds, technologies, personalities, and culture that readers will experience when they enter that complex, stress-inducing world. Introduction to the Operating Room delivers the practical, real-world guidance newcomers need to ensure patient safety and their own career success. The book is logically divided into two sections: Part 1 discusses the people of the Operating Room and includes companion video interviews that clarify roles and expectations. This section also delves into the politics and culture of the Operating Room. Part 2 is devoted to the equipment of the Operating Room. · The first book to combine a description of OR people/culture/rules with discussion of equipment/technology · Includes a valuable glossary of "Operating Speak" that translates the language of the Operating Room to everyday language · A great resource to help readers impress the attendings and staff of the Operating Room
Publication Date: 2016-11-16
Learning Surgery: the Surgery Clerkship manual by
Publication Date: 2006-09-28
Other Surgery Clerkship resources
You must create a personal account via AccessSurgery to access the first two resources. Restricted to UTHSCSA domain.
Case Files Surgery, Sixth Edition by
Real-life cases sharpen your critical thinking skills for your clerkship and the shelf exam The 60 cases in Case Files Surgery feature realistic clinical scenarios designed to help you enhance and hone your clinical decision-making skills. Each case includes an easy-to-understand discussion correlated to key concepts, definitions of key terms, clinical pearls, and Board-style review questions to reinforce learning. The format allows you to review a patient vignette and then explore/examine the case in a contextual, application-based manner. The book is ideal for both quick-access and slow and careful study. Realistic cases are accompanied by questions that encourage you to think through the differential diagnosis and treatment options Real-life surgery cases with high-yield discussions aligned to clerkship guidelines USMLE-style review questions and clinical pearls accompany each case Primer on how to approach clinical problems and think like an experienced doctor
Publication Date: 2021-10-22
Surgery PreTest self-assessment and review by
The closest you can get to seeing the USMLE Step 2 CK without actually taking it Surgery: PreTest Self-Assessment & Review is the perfect way to assess your knowledge of surgery for the USMLE Step 2 CK and shelf exams. You'll find 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been reviewed by students who recently passed the boards and completed their clerkship to ensure they match the style and difficulty level of the exam. 500 USMLE-style questions and answers Detailed explanations for right and wrong answers Targets what you really need to know for exam success Student tested and reviewed
Publication Date: 2012-03-30
Abernathy's Surgical Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2017-09-14
NMS Surgery Casebook (for checkout - not online) by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ideal as a stand-alone review or as a companion to NMS Surgery, this highly practical casebook presents a series of surgical cases that begin with a clinical scenario and progress step by step through the decision-making process of patient management. It offers medical students a structured subject review, practice questions to prepare for the USMLE Step 2 exam, and an opportunity to work through clinical cases with a unique "what next" approach to decision making. Updates include a new two-color design, "Deep Thoughts" and "Quick Cuts" text features that clearly call out high-yield information in every chapter, and an all-new chapter on pediatrics covering common congenital anomalies. Clinical images and illustrations offer the opportunity to detect visual clues, and the new pocket-sized format makes it easy to carry and study anytime, anywhere. In addition, this title is packaged with access to the interactive eBook version at no additional cost! Provides an excellent review for exams and an opportunity to practice real-world clinical decision making. Features a new, two-color design and a handy new pocket-sized format. Emphasizes high-yield information with easy-to-spot "Deep Thoughts" and "Quick Cuts" boxes throughout. Contains a new pediatrics chapter that brings you up to date with common congenital anomalies. Includes case variations so you can consider patients with complications or co-existing conditions. Uses an extensive illustration program that provides opportunities to make patient management decisions based on visual cues. The perfect companion to Jarrell's NMS Surgery, 6th Edition.
Call Number: WO 18.2 S96013 2016
Publication Date: 2015-07-16
Practical Guide to the Care of the Surgical Patient: The Pocket Scalpel by
If you need a practical, portable resource to get you through the day-to-day management of surgical patients, this new title in the Practical Guide series is the answer! Written by residents with practice-proven guidance and input from attending surgeons, this "Pocket Scalpel" zeroes in on the differential diagnoses, clinical findings, lab values, and treatment guidelines you need...all in an intuitive and user-friendly format that fits comfortably in your scrubs or white coat pocket. Offers current clinical information on all facets of surgical patient management-from bedside procedures and operation guidelines to the latest drug therapies and lab tests-to promote effective, state-of-the-art care. Provides diagrams, algorithms, comparative tables, lists, key images-and more-to facilitate quick and rapid review of high-yield information. Features a chapter of "Skeletons" that provides convenient access to guidance on commonly used patient care management protocols-from admit and transfer orders, history and physical examination, and procedures...to intensive care unit progress and discharge summaries. Includes a section on pharmacotherapy for addressing specific antimicrobial conditions, enabling you to choose the most effective treatment options. Covers medical terms in Spanish, equipping you to handle an increasingly diverse patient population. Uses a convenient spiral binding so the book lays flat for easy reference and at-a-glance searching.
Publication Date: 2008-11-25
Vascular Surgery Resources
Current Therapy in Vascular and Endovascular Surgery by
Current Therapy in Vascular and Endovascular Surgery is an ideal medical reference book to consult for information in this ever-changing field Thoroughly revised to reflect the most recent innovations in vascular and endovascular surgery, it features more than 150 chapters on topics new to this edition, and equips residents and practitioners alike with the latest procedures and techniques in this rapidly growing area. Internationally recognized experts present expanded coverage of a wide array of topics, keeping you abreast of all of today's developments Consult this title on your favorite device, conduct rapid searches, and adjust font sizes for optimal readability. Quickly locate key information with concise, to-the-point chapters. Prepare for boards or certification exams through coverage that spans the entire spectrum of vascular surgery.Explore brand-new coverage of endovascular procedures and techniques.Learn from leaders in the field, including internationally recognized editors and numerous global experts in specialized disciplines.Access in-depth, detailed coverage of various vascular diseases, each sub-divided into discrete topics for a more focused approach.View procedures more clearly than ever before with the help of more than 800 full-color illustrations throughout.
Publication Date: 2014-03-28
Endovascular Skills by
The goal of Endovascular Skills: Guidewire and Catheter Skills for Endovascular Surgery has always been to provide a "step-by-step" approach to techniques and procedures that comprise one of the most exciting and rapidly developing specialties in medicine today: minimally invasive management of vascular disease. Endovascular technique has gone from being a novelty to a mainstay of vascular care and this edition of Endovascular Skills has been revised and expanded to reflect these changes. This book serves as a "how-to" guide for endovascular intervention and aims to assist clinicians in the development and refinement of skills that are now essential to vascular practice. The book introduces readers to strategy, vascular access, guidewire-catheter handling, and arteriography in a multitude of vascular beds. The knowledge base builds as the text progresses in much the same manner that the skill of the professional builds as experience is gained by performing more complex cases and managing complicated patterns of disease. The chapters progress to all aspects of endovascular therapy, including sheath access, balloon angioplasty, stents, and other treatment modalities.
Publication Date: 2019-08-27
Moore's Vascular and Endovascular Surgery by
Using an easy-to-read, user-friendly format and hundreds of review questions that facilitate effective studying, Vascular and Endovascular Surgery: A Comprehensive Review, 9th Edition, contains the essential information you need for exam success and daily reference. Dr. Wesley Moore and a team of international experts cover everything from foundational concepts to the latest developments in the field, with each specialist providing a complete summary of a particular area of expertise. Extensive updates throughout the text keep you current with all that's new in this rapidly expanding field. Presents indications, techniques, and results of the spectrum of open vascular operations including carotid endarterectomy, repair of abdominal aortic aneurysm, aorto-femoral bypass, and infra-inguinal bypass, as well as management of varicose veins and deep venous occlusive disease. Contains hundreds of review questions for self-assessment and exam preparation, enhancing your study with superb, easy-to-follow illustrations: line drawings, photographs, duplex ultrasound, magnetic resonance angiography, CT angiography, and catheter-based contrast angiography. Discusses key topics such as catheter-based intervention, including endovascular repair of thoracic and abdominal aortic aneurysm, aorto-iliac and femoral-popliteal-tibial occlusive disease, and carotid artery stenting. Features five new chapters: Congenital Arterial Malformations; Atherectomy and Arterial Closure Devices; Carotid Body Tumors; Building a Hybrid Operating Suite including Robotic Capability; and Management of Venous Leg Ulcers. Provides up-to-date coverage of the increasingly important role of endovascular intervention in the vascular surgeon's practice. Details the latest medical management of vascular disease including treatment of hypertension, risk factor modification, and the use of anti-platelets, anti-coagulants, and statins. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2018-08-07