Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Surgical clinical guidelines are not provided in one convenient location. Most are specific to specialty or procedure and can be found at organizational websites. For example, view guidelines for bariatric surgery patients at the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery website. The American College of Surgeons provides an evidence base tool for members. ACOS also provides a link out to Guideline Summaries.
Clinical practice guidelines summarize the best practice in a particular area of healthcare. They define important questions related to clinical practice and outline decision options and their outcomes. The intent is to improve the connection between evidence and practice, raise the standard of care, and guide the decision-making process.
Historically, medical practice guidelines were based on tradition. Modern guidelines are written by medical associations or governmental organization using the most current data and best evidence.
AAS - Association for Academic Surgery - organized to promote research-based academic surgery. Active members include faculty and residents/fellows. Discounted student membership available for $15/year, which provides opportunities for committee appointments and research and travel awards.
ACOS - American College of Surgeons - dedicated scientific and educational association for improving surgical patient care. Medical students are eligible for free membership with a $20 application fee. Membership provides access to educational resources, quality improvement programs, and networking.
ASE - Association for Surgical Education - focused on promoting innovation and scholarship in surgical education. Medical student membership is available for $50/year, which provides access to ASE Resources, which include an educational clearinghouse, speakers, educational opportunities, and more.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
The NGC offers a database of guidelines that is:
- geared toward clinical-practice
- maintained by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
- verified annually
- updated weekly
- create personal accounts
- find guidelines by topic
- find guidelines by organization
- compare guidelines
Atlas of General Surgical Techniques by Atlas of General Surgical Techniques covers the full spectrum and breadth of general surgery through nearly 1200 easy-to-follow anatomic drawings. Drs. Courtney M. Townsend, Jr. and B. Mark Evers present step-by-step guidance for common and complex procedures, including open and minimally invasive techniques. The highly consistent approach and format allow for large educational illustrations with pearls and pitfalls at the end of each chapter. Comprehensive coverage includes hot topics such as Thyroidectomy, Parathyroidectomy, Hepaticojejunostomy, Choledochojejunostomy, Splenectomy, Hernia Repair, Exploration of Neck for Trauma, and Subclavian Artery Stab. You'll have a complete array of surgical procedures at your fingertips. 2009 PROSE Awards (awarded by Association of American Publishers for professional and scholarly excellence)Finalist/Honorable Mention, Clinical MedicineFeatures 1200 easy-to-follow, step-by-step anatomic drawings that clearly depict the full spectrum and breadth of surgical techniques--both open and minimally invasive. Covers hot topics such as Thyroidectomy, Parathyroidectomy, Hepaticojejunostomy, Choledochojejunostomy, Splenectomy, Hernia Repair, Exploration of Neck for Trauma, and Subclavian Artery Stab. Provides step-by-step instructions for each procedure in a highly consistent format that makes applying techniques easy. Highlights pearls and pitfalls at the end of each chapter so you know what to expect before entering the operating room. Presents the detailed guidance of authorities on what you need to know about common and challenging procedures.
Publication Date: 2010-01-01