MSLP 5004: Research Methods in Communication Disorders: Select Resources (databases)

1. Identify a clinical problem
2. Create a well-defined research question [using PICO]
3. Translate PICO into a search strategy

• Brainstorm and gather synonyms
• Construct the search strategy

1. Select most likely resources (databases)
2. Tailor search strategy to database(s)
3. Save search & export results to reference manager

SpeechBITE

A free database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice.

NeuroBITE

NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.

Scopus

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It includes scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. 

For tips on searching Scopus, see the Scopus LibGuide. 

What about Google or Google Scholar?

• Imprecise searching
• Results are numerous and not necessarily displayed in a helpful order
• The sources searched by Google Scholar are not disclosed
• Currently, it is unknown how often Google Scholar is updated
• Useful for finding a specific article (search by title)

PubMed and CINAHL will have articles relevant to speech-language pathology. You can find more key databases and journals here: Speech-Language Pathology: Evidence-Based Practice.

Go to the library's A-Z Databases page to access all databases that the library subscribes to.

PubMed

Contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. At the heart of this search system is the MEDLINE database, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Offers access to over 5,400 biomedical journal citations from the U.S. and 80 foreign countries. Contains over 26 million references from 1946.

For tips on searching PubMed see the PubMed: Ten Tips LibGuide.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Provides indexing for more than 4,500 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.

CINAHL tutorial

ASHA's Evidence Maps

Evidence maps, from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA), are intended to provide clinicians, researchers, clients, and caregivers with tools and guidance to engage in evidence-based decision making.

PsycInfo

Developed by the American Psychological Association (APA), this collection is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and others. Coverage is from 1800's to the present.