A search system that contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. Powered by MEDLINE, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Full-text linking is available for free and subscribed content only.
For tips on searching PubMed see the PubMed: Ten Tips LibGuide.
Provides indexing for 3,000+ journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
Includes full-text systematic reviews (of the highest level) of methodological studies and protocols.
An American Psychological Association (APA) collection devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Covers the 1800’s to the present.
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC)
Includes annotated bibliographic records–citations, abstracts, and other data, including journal articles, books, conference papers, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
Point of Care Resources
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource used to make point-of-care decisions. Specialties include Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Family Practice, Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Oncology, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, and others. Note: Create your account while on campus.
Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP)
A clinical search engine with high-quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. Note: Search results link directly to PubMed and other resources for access.
Communication Sciences and Disorders: from Science to Clinical Practice by
Communication Sciences and Disorders: From Science to Clinical Practice is included in the 2015 edition of the essential collection of Doody's Core Titles.Communication Sciences and Disorders: From Science to Clinical Practice is an excellent introductory text for undergraduate students enrolled in their first course in communication sciences and disorders. Written by experts in the field, this text contains basic information about speech disorders that are related to impairments in articulation, voice, and fluency; language disorders in children and adults; and hearing disorders that cause conductive and sensorineural hearing losses. It includes basic information on the speech, language, and hearing sciences and practical information about assessment and intervention practices. Unlike some other introductory text books, this book also includes chapters on multicultural issues, deafness, dysarthria, and dysphagia.
Cued Speech and Cued Language Development for Deaf and Hard of Hearing Children
A compilation of research and practical applications of cued speech and cued language, this text provides a vital source of information to any advocate, professional or parent of a deaf child.
Developing Speech and Language Skills by
This book is part of the Phoneme Factory Project undertaken by Granada Learning in partnership with the Speech and Language Therapy Research Unit (SLTRU) in Bristol. It aims to provide guidance for teachers, SENCos, SLTs and parents regarding: criteria for referral to speech and language therapy phonological disorders appropriate intervention approaches that can be used in the classroom and at home. Complementing the book is a CD containing downloadable resources including a picture library for the classroom and the home, as well as checklists and other time-saving documents.
Embedding Evidence-Based Practice in Speech and Language Therapy by
Like all health professionals, speech and language therapists (SLTs) need to keep themselves up-to-date with the research evidence base that is relevant to their field of practice and be able to show how this contributes to their clinical decision-making. However, it is not always clear to practitioners how evidence-based practice (EBP) can be properly embedded in their day-to-day activities. In this valuable book, Hazel Roddam and Jemma Skeat present a wealth of instructive examples by SLT contributors from around the world, showing how clinicians, educators, and researchers have risen to the EBP challenge. Embedding evidence-based practice in speech and language therapy showcases the creative ways that SLTs are developing knowledge and skills for EBP, creating contexts that support the use of evidence in practice, and working towards making evidence easily accessible and usable. It includes real-life examples of how SLTs have encountered a clinical problem or situation and have accessed and used the evidence within their day-to-day practice. The contributors come from a wide range of work settings, from services situated within large organizations to those in independent practice, and represent a range of clinical areas, from paediatric to adult and across speech, language, voice, fluency, Augmentative and Alternative Communication (AAC), and dysphagia. This book is written for an audience of clinical practitioners, at any stage of their career, and is additionally a valuable resource for SLT students and lecturers.
Ethics in Speech and Language Therapy by
Ethics in Speech and Language Therapy is a key text for students, practitioners and managers alike. The demands of practice, legislation, registration and the recognition of competencies all point to the need for speech and language therapists to be explicitly educated about ethics. This book provides an overview of this key topic, grounds ethical practice in the broader context of morals and values; discusses frameworks for ethical decision making; discusses common ethical issues in speech and language therapy practice and service management; and considers factors which complicate ethical decision making.
Handbook of Acquired Communication Disorders in Childhood by
Provides comprehensive coverage of acquired motor speech and language disorders occurring in children in terms of their neuropathological basis, neurology, clinical symptomatology, prognosis, assessment, and treatment. The authors take a disease-specific approach, a comprehensive range of the childhood neurological conditions most commonly encountered clinically by speech-language pathologists covering traumatic brain injury, cerebrovascular accidents, childhood cancers (brain tumors and leukemia), infectious diseases, metabolic disorders, neural tube defects, anoxic conditions (e.g., immersion injury), and convulsive disorder. Also featured are full descriptions of the relevant assessment and treatment procedures currently recommended for use with each of these acquired childhood communication disorders, supported by numerous figures and graphs, case studies, and photographs of the various clinical conditions.
Hearing and Deafness an Introduction for Health and Education Professionals by
Hearing and Deafness: An Introduction for Health and Education Professionals clearly explains the development of speech, hearing, language, and literacy in d/Deaf and hard of hearing children and adolescents. This important reference offers new insights on the contribution of hearing rehabilitation to English language acquisition. Students pursuing careers in deaf education, audiology, and speech pathology will gain a thorough understanding of the audiological dimensions of hearing and how hearing loss affects speech, language, and literacy.Featuring up-to-date research and clinical information, this comprehensive resource discusses the latest advances in hearing aids, cochlear implants, speech reading, and visual phonics. Thoughtfully integrating knowledge with practice, Hearing and Deafness helps students and professionals develop effective skills to use in their work. This text is ideal for introductory undergraduate and graduate courses that cover the development of speech, language, and hearing in the d/Deaf and hard of hearing as well as for educators working with young children and adolescents.* Explains the development of speech, hearing, language, and literacy in d/Deaf and hard of hearing children* Features the latest advances in cochlear implants, hearing aids, speechreading, and visual phonics* Discusses how hearing rehabilitation affects English language acquisition* Offers sound guidance on how to apply knowledge to professional practice* Facilitates learning through informative summaries, challenge questions, and problem-solving activities
Introductory Linguistics for Speech and Language Therapy Practice by
This practical introduction to linguistics is a must-have resource for all speech and language therapy students, providing you with the fundamental theory needed as a foundation for practice. Written by authors with extensive experience in both research and teaching, Introductory Linguistics for Speech and Language Practice equips you with a practical understanding of relevant linguistic concepts in the key language areas of morphology, syntax, semantics, discourse and pragmatics. Each chapter opens by explaining why the information is of relevance to the speech language therapist, and this integrated approach is emphasised via reference to relevant clinical resources. Exercises throughout each chapter also allow you to test your understanding of key principles and apply this knowledge to other areas of your study. This concise, readable guide is a core text for all undergraduate and postgraduate students of speech and language therapy, and is also ideal for qualified therapists wanting to enrich their understanding of the linguistic assessments they use in practice.
The Handbook of Language and Speech Disorders by
An authoritative overview of language and speech disorders, featuring new and updated chapters written by leading specialists from across the field The Handbook of Speech and Language Disorders, Second Edition, provides timely and authoritative coverage of current issues, foundational principles, and new research directions within the study of communication disorders. Building upon the reputation of the landmark first edition, this volume offers an exceptionally broad and in-depth survey of the field, presenting original chapters by internationally recognized specialists that examine an array of language, speech, and cognitive disorders and discuss the most crucial aspects of this evolving discipline while providing practical information on analytical methods and assessment. Now in its second edition, the Handbook features extensively revised and refocused content throughout, reflecting the latest advances in the field. Original and updated chapters explore diverse topics including literacy and literacy impairments, patterns of normal and disordered language development, hearing impairment and cochlear implants, language acquisition and language delay, dementia, dysarthria, ADHD, autism spectrum disorder, and many others. This acclaimed single-volume reference resource: Provides 26 original chapters which describe the latest in new research and which indicate future research directions Covers new developments in research since the original publication of the first edition Features in-depth coverage of the major disorders of language and speech, including new insights on perception, hearing impairment, literacy, and genetic syndromes Includes a series of foundational chapters covering a variety of important general principles, including labelling, diversity, intelligibility, assessment, and intervention The Handbook of Speech and Language Disorders, Second Edition, is essential reading for researchers, scholars, and students in speech and language pathology, speech, language and hearing sciences, and clinical llinguistics, as well as active practitioners and clinicians.
Translational Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology by
Translational research has been present and ongoing for decades and yet, in spite of The National Institutes of Health promoting this "bench-to-bedside" approach since 2006, its adoption by the professions of speech-language pathology and audiology has been relatively scant and mostly individually approached. Although efforts have been made in this direction by individuals, the communication sciences and disorders professions are somewhat behind the curve in not addressing this issue directly.. For practicing clinicians, researchers, and students taking research seminars, Translational Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology examines the broad fields of laboratory, clinical, and public health research. Interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary in scope, it aims to expedite the translation of related discoveries into new and improved standards of care. This series of short essays also honors Dr. Sadanand Singh, the late CEO and Founder of Plural Publishing, Inc., who encouraged innovation throughout his career. All royalties will be donated to the San Diego Foundation/Dr. Sadanand Singh Fund.
Dictionary of Communication Disorders by
This dictionary provides clear and concise explanations of terms used in the field of speech, therapy pathology and relevant terms in related fields including augmentative, alternative communication, hearing, linguistic, medicine, phonetics/phonology and psychology/psychiatry. Those working with people who have communication disorders and those who may be returning to this field will find the explanations easy to understand. Terms include assessments, therapy programmes and current theories in these fields. This edition has been thoroughly updated. It includes useful website addresses for manufacturers and suppliers of communication aids and publishers of assessments, and where to find useful information on the internet for various conditions.
Encyclopedia of Special Education by
The Third Edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education has been thoroughly updated to include the latest information about new legislation and guidelines. In addition, this comprehensive resource features school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since publication of the second edition in 1999, and new biographies of important figures in special education. Unique in focus, the Encyclopedia of Special Education, Third Edition addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field.
Hearing Loss - A Medical Dictionary, Bibliography, and Annotated Research Guide to Internet References by
This is a 3-in-1 reference book. It gives a complete medical dictionary covering hundreds of terms and expressions relating to hearing loss. It also gives extensive lists of bibliographic citations. Finally, it provides information to users on how to update their knowledge using various Internet resources. The book is designed for physicians, medical students preparing for Board examinations, medical researchers, and patients who want to become familiar with research dedicated to hearing loss. If your time is valuable, this book is for you. First, you will not waste time searching the Internet while missing a lot of relevant information. Second, the book also saves you time indexing and defining entries. Finally, you will not waste time and money printing hundreds of web pages.
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association (ASHA) - a national association.
SpeechBITE - a free database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice.
Texas Speech-Language Hearing Association (TSHA) - a professional membership organization and resource for SLPs, audiologists, Texas citizens with speech or hearing disorders, and students.
Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) - SLP and audiology page.
