Skip to Main Content

University Archives: Identifying and Preparing Materials for Transfer: Home

This guide will walk you through evaluating your materials to determine if they are appropriate for the archives.

Start Here

Who is this guide for?

This is intended for Records Management Representatives (RMRs) and other UT Health San Antonio staff in charge of records in their departments.

How will this guide help me?

It will walk you through the process to determine if your materials are appropriate for the archives.

How to use this guide

This guide is broken into two parts, each on a separate tab.

Part 1: How to determine if materials are appropriate for the University Archives

  • Materials typically accepted
  • Materials typically not accepted

Part 2: How to prepare and send materials to the University Archives

  • Procedures
  • Dos and dont's

University Archives Overview

What are the University Archives?​

The University Archives house records with lasting administrative and/or historical value to the institution and ensures best practices for long-term preservation and research. These records should document the main functions of the university and its departments and how those functions were determined and implemented. Archival records are transferred physically and legally when the retention period is met, and the department that created them no longer needs them in the course of business.

What's in the University Archives?

Collections include:

  • Administrative records
  • Institutional history
  • History of medicine
  • Collections on subjects that are specialties of faculty members on campus

Other Information

  • Archival records do not include reference materials generated outside of the university
  • Each department's appointed Records Management Representative is expected to review any departmental records before sending to the University Archives
  • Unless the collection/records are closed, they are accessible to public researchers, regardless of their affiliation with the university

Extra Documentation

Archives Information

The UT Health San Antonio University Archives are located on the 5th floor of the Briscoe Library.

Archives Staff

University Archivist: Diane Fotinos
Senior Archive Assistant: Mellisa DeThorne

Contact Information

Email: specialcollections@uthscsa.edu​ 
Telephone: 210-450-8260​