Are you looking for media to add to your presentations, lectures, and other work? Media can make a big impression, but it can be difficult to find media that's safe to use. This part of the guide offers some options for searching for copyright free, creative commons, and other open source applications for media creation.
This guide contains resources for finding, editing, and using freely licensed media found online, for educational and classroom projects.
You can find many resources available through a Creative Commons License or in the public domain. Please check the guidelines on each site before downloading to assure proper usage of the media provided.
Flickr Commons - Project launched in 2008 to provide access to public photography archives.
Unsplash - Database of freely useable images. Available under a Creative Commons license.
New York Public Library Public Domain Collections - NYPL's collection of over 180k free to reuse digital items.
Wikipedia meta list of public domain image resources - Comprehensive list of sites covering a variety of subjects.
Image: Nursing at Freedmen's Hospital. Public Domain, from NIH Digital Collections
CDC Public Health Image Library - Public health images created and shared by the Center for Disease Control.
NIH Digital Collections - Featuring historical image, texts, and health psas from the National Library of Medicine.
Medical Gallery by Blausen Medical - Gallery of free to use medical images.
Videvo - Free stock video site.
Archive.org Stock Footage - A collection of stock footage submitted by Internet Archive users.
Freesound - A database of Creative Commons licensed music tracks for use in noncommercial projects.
Jamendo - An archive of over 220k royalty free music tracks for use in projects.