Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When you find articles of interest in a database or search engine, bibliographic management programs such as Zotero or EndNote make it easy to create a personal collection of references (citations and/or articles) and cite them in your document in the citation style of your choice.
BrowZine allows you to:
- Easily browse e-journals online or via the mobile app
- Create a personalized collection of your favorite journals
- Be alerted when new articles are published in your favorite journals
- Save articles for offline reading
See the BrowZine LibGuide for more information.
Use Interlibrary Loan to request journals in print, articles, book chapters, and more.
- EndNote offers many of the same features as RefWorks, yet must be purchased. It is available from the University Computer Store, TechZone.
- Mendeley is a free application and does not require Internet access. It can query PubMed for more accurate citation information and matching PDFs, yet with mixed success.
- Zotero is open-source and free, yet requires an additional plug-in to manage PDFs. Internet access not required.
*Briscoe Library provides classes and support for Endnote.
APA Citation Style
APA Guidelines - 7th Edition by Quick reference guide to the 7th edition of the American Psychological Association's publication manual for rules of punctuation, reference citation, structure and format in 6 laminated handy pages filled with the answers you need for these commonly used guidelines. This style guide is used largely in academics, psychology, communications, business, nursing, social sciences, criminology, education, economics and more. Having a quick reference handy can speed up the writing and editing process allowing the writer to focus on the quality of the paper, ensuring a better grade if you are a student or a more professionally clean article or paper if writing for publication in your field. For the convenience and benefit of increasing the quality of your writings, the price makes it easy to add this to your writers toolbox. 6 page laminate guide includes: What is APA Style? Scientific Writing Manuscript Structure & Content Clear & Concise Writing The Mechanics of Style Visuals & Results Paper Format with Sample Paper Citing Sources in the Text with Examples Reference Type List Sample Reference List Publication Process Suggested uses: Students - Handy reference while writing papers, collect the set of guides you need for your classes to easily switch between styles Professors/Teachers - Keep handy while writing for academic journals in your subject area Professionals - Use while writing academic articles or papers for publication
Publication Date: 2020-05-01
AMA Citation Style
AMA MANUAL of STYLE, 11th EDITION by The AMA Manual of Style is a must-have resource for anyone involved in medical, health, and scientific publishing. Written by an expert committee of JAMA Network editors, this latest edition addresses issues that face authors, editors, and publishers in the digital age. Extensive updates areincluded in the References chapter, with examples of how to cite digital publications, preprints, databases, data repositories, podcasts, apps and interactive games, and social media. Full-color examples grace the chapter on data display, with newer types of graphic presentations and updatedguidance on formatting tables and figures. The manual thoroughly covers ethical and legal issues such as authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, open access and public access, and corrections. The Usage chapter has been revised to bring the manual up-to-dateon word choice, especially in writing about individuals with diseases or conditions and from various socioeconomic, racial/ethnic, and sexual orientation populations.Specific nomenclature entries in many disciplines are presented to guide users in issues of diction, formatting, and preferred terminology. Guidance on numbers, SI units, and math has been updated, and the section on statistics and study design has undergone a major expansion. In sum, the answer tonearly any issue facing a writer or editor in medicine, health care, and related disciplines can be found in the 11th edition of the AMA Manual of Style.
Publication Date: 2020-03-02