Contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. At the heart of this search system is the MEDLINE database, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Full-text linking is available for free for PubMed Central, books, and subscribed content. MEDLINE is also available through EBSCO and Ovid. Access PubMed through the Briscoe Library website for access tp UT Health San Antonio holdings.
Provides indexing for 3,000+ journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (2005-present)
Includes full-text systematic reviews (of the highest level) of methodological studies and protocols.
A comprehensive collection of medical and surgical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey is an upgraded and expanded version of MD Consult that offers full text access to selected medical textbooks, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
A registry and results database of federally and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Point of Care Resources
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource used to make point-of-care decisions. Specialties include Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Family Practice, Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Oncology, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, and others. Note: Create your account while on campus.
Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP)
A clinical search engine with high-quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. Note: Search results link directly to PubMed and other resources for access.
A database of drug and pharmacological information, including drug interactions and identification.
American Association for Respiratory Care (AARC)
AARC Networking - information on degree advancement, state societies, AARConnect professional network, and more.
Texas Society for Respiratory Care (TSRC)
Association of Schools of Allied Health Professions (ASAHP)
Texas Society for Allied Health Professions (TSAHP)
American Respiratory Care Foundation (ARCF) - grants, awards, and fellowships
Community Service Learning (CSL)