LibGuides: Anesthesiology Residency Resource Guide: Journals & Databases

Key Journals

Anesthesiology
Anesthesia & Analgesia
Journal of Anesthesia
Journal of Clinical Anesthesia
Pain Medicine
Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine (1998 - 2018) via OVID (2019-present is not currently available - we are working to resolve problem)
Regional Anesthesia & Pain Medicine (1997 - 2008) via ScienceDirect

Key Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, it covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision. Databases include: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; Health Technology Assessment Database; NHS Economic Evaluation Database; and Cochrane Review Groups.
User guide available.
Health and Psychosocial Instruments This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information about measurement instruments (i.e. questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, and tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex is a database of drug and pharmacological information, including drug interactions and drug identification.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Developed by the American Psychological Association (APA), this collection is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and others. Coverage is from 1800's to the present.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A search system that contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. Powered by MEDLINE, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Full-text linking is available for free and subscribed content only.
Turning Research Into Practice Database This link opens in a new window
A clinical search engine designed to retrieve high quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, guidelines, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. The aim of the TRIP database is to allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web in support of evidence-based practice.
For direct linking to the UTHSC journals, log in to TRIP and select our institution from the drop-down menu. Full Text: HSCLink will appear under citations.

Other Useful Databases

PubMed Clinical Queries
Easy keyword searching with pre-applied filters for Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic textbooks, drug information, videos, animations, and a differential diagnosis tool. Also includes self-assessment tools. Accessible via mobile device.
Must create personal account to use email function, access self-assessments, and download images.
A collection of electronic textbooks, drug information, videos, animations, and a differential diagnosis tool. Also includes self-assessment tools. Accessible via mobile device.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of medical and surgical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey is an upgraded and expanded version of MD Consult that offers full text access to selected medical textbooks, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials. *Replaces MD Consult.
Must register for personal account to download book sections as PDFs, save searches, create reading list, and use presentation maker. User guide available.
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
35 concurrent users. Entire books are not downloadable.
A collection of full text, authoritative healthcare resources in a variety of specialties, such as Emergency/Critical Care, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Infectious Disease, Nursing, Evidence-based Medicine, Drug Information, and Surgery. Content consists of ebooks, EBM practice guidelines, drug information, EBM calculator, patient hand-outs, and medical news feeds.

Titles can also be browsed in the library catalog.
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource used to make point-of-care decisions. Specialties include Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Family Practice, Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Oncology, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, and others.
On campus registration required.

Mobile app is available. On campus registration required. Re-verify once every 90 days. Registration Help.

Journals & Books by Subject Area

Acute & Chronic Pain

Pain Medicine About the Journal Pain Medicine is a multi-disciplinary journal dedicated to pain clinicians, educators and researchers with an interest in pain from various medical specialties such as pain medicine, anaesthesiology, family practice, internal medicine, neurology, neurological surgery, orthopaedic spine surgery, psychiatry, and rehabilitation medicine as well as related health disciplines such as psychology, neuroscience, nursing, nurse practitioner, physical therapy, and integrative health.
Pain Physician Pain Physician is the official publication of the American Society of Interventional Pain Physicians (ASIPP). The open access journal is published 6 times a year. Pain Physician is a peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary, open access journal written by and directed to an audience of interventional pain physicians, clinicians and basic scientists with an interest in interventional pain management and pain medicine. Pain Physician presents the latest studies, research, and information vital to those in the emerging specialty of interventional pain management – and critical to the people they serve.
Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, official publication of the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, is a bimonthly journal that publishes peer-reviewed scientific and clinical studies to advance the understanding and clinical application of regional techniques for surgical anesthesia and postoperative analgesia. Coverage includes perioperative pain, chronic pain, obstetric anesthesia, pediatric anesthesia, outcome studies, and complications. Practical issues such as choice of anesthetics and technical challenges are addressed. The journal has a special interest in all forms of research pertaining to ultrasound-guided regional anesthesia and to education in regional anesthesia and pain medicine. Published for over thirty years, this respected journal also serves as the official publication of ASRA's affiliates, the European Society of Regional Anaesthesia and Pain Therapy, the Asian and Oceanic Society of Regional Anesthesia, and the Latin American Society of Regional Anesthesia.
more...less...
Vol. 23 (1998) +

Cardiovascular

Journal of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia The Journal of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesia is primarily aimed at anesthesiologists who deal with patients undergoing cardiac, thoracic or vascular surgical procedures. JCVA features a multidisciplinary approach, with contributions from cardiac, vascular and thoracic surgeons, cardiologists, and other related specialists. Emphasis is placed on rapid publication of clinically relevant material. The journal is international in scope and encourages innovative submissions from all continents.
Circulation Circulation publishes original contributions of scientific excellence concerned with clinical and laboratory research relevant to cardiovascular disease. The research articles are from many disciplines including cardiovascular medicine and surgery, epidemiology, radiology, and pathology, to appeal to cardiologists, internists, cardiovascular surgeons, nurses, and others interested in cardiovascular medicine. Coverage includes Cardiovascular News, Clinical Cardiology, From Bench to Bedside, Images in Cardiovascular Medicine, and the AHA Calendar.
Journal of the American College of Cardiology As the leader in its field, JACC publishes original peer-reviewed clinical and experimental reports on all aspects of cardiovascular disease. Topics covered include coronary artery and valve disease, congenital heart defects, vascular surgery, cardiomyopathy, drug treatment, new diagnostic techniques, findings from the laboratory, and large multicenter studies of new therapies. JACC also publishes abstracts of papers presented at the annual scientific sessions of the American College of Cardiology and the reports and recommendations of the Bethesda Conferences on current topics in cardiovascular disease.
Journal of the American Society of Echocardiography The Journal of the American Society of Echocardiography(JASE) brings physicians and sonographers peer-reviewed original investigations and state-of-the-art review articles that cover conventional clinical applications of cardiovascular ultrasound, as well as newer techniques with emerging clinical applications. These include three-dimensional echocardiography, strain and strain rate methods for evaluating cardiac mechanics and interventional applications.

Critical Care

Critical Care Medicine Critical Care Medicine is the premier peer-reviewed, scientific publication in critical care medicine. Directed to those specialists who treat patients in the ICU and CCU, including chest physicians, surgeons, pediatricians, pharmacists/pharmacologists, anesthesiologists, critical care nurses, and other healthcare professionals, Critical Care Medicine covers all aspects of acute and emergency care for the critically ill or injured patient. Each issue presents critical care practitioners with clinical breakthroughs that lead to better patient care, the latest news on promising research; and advances in equipment and techniques. The purpose of this journal is to publish original articles on significant work in critical care medicine, as well as meaningful abstracts of the more important papers on the subject appearing in world medical literature. It also provides a forum for exchange of ideas on what's right and what's wrong in the management of the critically ill; a truly in-depth coverage of this new science. All articles are original submissions and peer-reviewed.
Chest CHEST is committed to advancing the care of patients served by multidisciplinary clinicians across pulmonary, critical care, and sleep medicine through the publication of clinical research relevant to today?s challenges and reflecting advances on the horizon. To provide context in a fast-changing landscape, CHEST also incorporates review articles, offers commentaries, and fosters debate on emerging controversies. CHEST applies strict peer review standards to ensure the scientific rigor and publishes all content online within two weeks of acceptance.
more...less...
access full text for vol. 57 (1970)+
Journal of Critical Care The Journal of Critical Care, the official publication of the World Federation of Societies of Intensive and Critical Care Medicine (WFSICCM), is a leading international, peer-reviewed journal providing original research, review articles, tutorials, and invited articles for physicians and allied health professionals involved in treating the critically ill. The Journal aims to improve patient care by furthering understanding of health systems research and its integration into clinical practice.

Health Policy & Economics

Health Affairs Health Affairs is the leading journal of health policy thought and research. The peer-reviewed journal was founded in 1981 under the aegis of Project HOPE, a nonprofit international health education organization. Health Affairs explores health policy issues of current concern in domestic and international spheres. Its mission is to serve as a high-level, nonpartisan forum to promote analysis and discussion on improving health and health care, and to address such issues as cost, quality, and access.
Journal of Healthcare Management access full text vol 45 (2000) +
Modern Healthcare access full text for vol 26, no 27 (July 1996) + Modern Healthcare is the industry's leading source of healthcare business and policy news, research and information. We report on important healthcare events and trends, as they happen, through our weekly print magazine, websites, e-newsletters, mobile products and events. Our readers use that information to make informed business decisions and lead their organizations to success. It's for this reason that Modern Healthcare magazine is ranked No. 1 in readership among healthcare executives and deemed a "must-read" by the who's who in healthcare.
Physician Executive (1989-2014) 01/1989 - 07/2014 now known as Physician Leadership Journal An academic and professional publication for physicians who are also medical managers and executives in the health-care industry. Publishes peer-reviewed articles on health economics, clinical technology, health law, health services research, career management, health and business relations, and health policy reform.
Physician Leadership Journal (2014-current) 09/2014 - present once known as Physician Executive An academic and professional publication for physicians who are also medical managers and executives in the health-care industry. Publishes peer-reviewed articles on health economics, clinical technology, health law, health services research, career management, health and business relations, and health policy reform.

Neuroanesthesia

Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology The Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology is a peer-reviewed publication directed to an audience of neurosurgical anesthesiologists, neurosurgeons, neurosurgical monitoring specialists, neurosurgical support staff and Neurosurgical Intensive Care Unit personnel. The journal publishes original material in the form of Clinical and Laboratory Investigations, Clinical Reports, Review Articles, Journal Club synopses of current literature in related journals, presentation of Points of View on controversial issues, Book Reviews, Correspondence, and selected Abstracts from affiliated neuroanesthesiology societies.

Obstetrics

International journal of obstetric anesthesia The International Journal of Obstetric Anesthesia is the only journal publishing original articles devoted exclusively to obstetric anesthesia and bringing together all three of its principal components; anesthesia care for operative delivery and the perioperative period, pain relief in labour and care of the critically ill obstetric patient.
Obstetric anesthesia digest Obstetric Anesthesia Digest provides timely summaries of the world literature in obstetric anesthesia. Each quarterly issue features dozens of clear, concise summaries of the most significant recent articles. The summaries are frequently accompanied by insightful commentary by one of the Digest's renowned editorial consultants. The articles surveyed cover all aspects of anesthesia and analgesia as they relate to the mother, fetus, and neonate. Also included are editorials, case reports, and "Short Takes"-abbreviated abstracts of secondary papers.

Pediatrics

Pediatric Anesthesia Vol 7 (1997) + Pediatric Anesthesia's mission is to advance the science and clinical practice of paediatric anaesthesia, pain management and peri-operative medicine through dissemination of research, education and quality improvement.

Transplant/Transplantation

Liver Transplantation vol 1 (1995) - present Liver Transplantation is published on behalf of The American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases. Aims and Scope Since the first application of liver transplantation in a clinical situation was reported more than twenty years ago, there has been a great deal of growth in this field and more is anticipated. As an official publication of the AASLD, Liver Transplantation delivers current, peer-reviewed articles on liver transplantation, liver surgery, and chronic liver disease — the information necessary to keep abreast of this evolving specialty.