Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia by
Trusted by anesthesiologists, nurse anesthetists, and pain management specialists through five outstanding editions, Brown's Atlas of Regional Anesthesia, 6th Edition, continues to keep you fully informed and up to date in this fast-changing field. This practical how-to guide demonstrates each technique in an easy-to-follow manner, providing unmatched guidance on administering a wide range of nerve block techniques in all areas of the body. New videos, new illustrations, and new chapters improve your knowledge and expertise, helping you provide optimal, safe regional anesthesia to every patient. Covers the full range of key regional anesthesia topics including anatomy, local anesthetic pharmacology, traditional landmark-based and ultrasound-guided blocks, pediatric regional anesthesia, and chronic pain procedures. Features step-by-step instruction highlighted by superb artwork, new anatomical drawings, and clinical photographs-now entirely in full color. Includes access to a video library that includes numerous new videos covering every block described in the atlas, a new introductory video on daily clinical practice procedures, and enhanced voiceover on all videos. Contains an all-new section on obstetric regional anesthesia, plus new coverage of pic block, serratus anterior block, erector spinae block, stellate ganglion block, rectus sheath catheter block, and pediatric pudendal nerve block, with significant updates to pharmacology sections. Presents a wide variety of images to help you develop a 3-dimensional concept of anatomy essential to successful regional anesthesia: cross-sectional anatomy, illustrations of gross and surface anatomy, and ultrasound, CT, and MRI scans. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Anesthesia by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! BMA Medical Book Awards 2018?: Anesthesia - Highly Commended The British Medical Association honored Clinical Anesthesia with this prestigious award. Where experts turn for definitive answers! Clinical Anesthesia covers the full spectrum of clinical issues and options in anesthesiology, providing insightful coverage of pharmacology, physiology, co-existing diseases, and surgical procedures. Unmatched in its clarity and depth of coverage as well as its robust multimedia features, this classic clinical reference brings you the very latest essential knowledge in the field, equipping you to effectively apply today's standards of care and make optimal clinical decisions on behalf of your patients. Key Features Apply the latest know-how with a new chapter on cardiovascular pharmacology...new coverage of autonomic pharmacology...a greatly expanded Clinical Updates section...updated coverage of occupational hazards...and many other important additions. Focus on the most essential information with Key Points in every chapter. Advance your skills with 180 new Narrated Interactive Clinical Vignettes - which immerse you in a virtual classroom setting where a master teacher guides you through a focused discussion on common and uncommon clinical topics. A clinical question is posed, and you are given time to develop an appropriate answer. Then, in a stepwise fashion, you will see and hear the answer unfold. In addition to the Interactive vignettes, the ebook also comes with a collection of over 300 procedural videos to help hone your technique. Your book purchase includes a complimentary download of the enhanced eBook for iOS, Android, PC & Mac. Take advantage of these practical features that will improve your eBook experience: The ability to download the eBook on multiple devices at one time -- providing a seamless reading experience online or offline Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links allow you to search within this book, or across your entire library of VitalSource eBooks Multiple viewing options offer the ability to scale images and text to any size without losing page clarity as well as responsive design The ability to highlight text and add notes with one click
Miller's Anesthesia, 2-Volume Set by
Covering everything from historical and international perspectives to basic science and current clinical practice, Miller's Anesthesia, 9th Edition, remains the preeminent reference in the field. Dr. Michael Gropper leads a team of global experts who bring you the most up-to-date information available on the technical, scientific, and clinical issues you face each day - whether you're preparing for the boards, studying for recertification, or managing a challenging patient care situation in your practice. Contains fully revised and updated content throughout, including numerous new videos online. Includes four new chapters: Clinical Care in Extreme Environments: High Pressure, Immersion, and Hypo- and Hyperthermia; Immediate and Long-Term Complications; Clinical Research; and Interpreting the Medical Literature. Addresses timely topics such as neurotoxicity, palliation, and sleep/wake disorders. Streamlines several topics into single chapters with fresh perspectives from new authors, making the material more readable and actionable. Features the knowledge and expertise of former lead editor Dr. Ronald Miller, as well as new editor Dr. Kate Leslie of the University of Melbourne and Royal Melbourne Hospital. Provides state-of-the-art coverage of anesthetic drugs, guidelines for anesthetic practice and patient safety, new techniques, step-by-step instructions for patient management, the unique needs of pediatric patients, and much more - all highlighted by more than 1,500 full-color illustrations for enhanced visual clarity. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices, in addition to accessing regular updates, related websites, and an expanded collection of procedural videos. The initial printing of Miller's Anesthesia, 9e contained a dosage error in chapter 26, "Intravenous Drug Delivery Systems," on page 771, Table 26.5 (Manual Infusion Schemes). A maintenance infusion of Dexmedetomidine was mistakenly reported as 0.3 - 0.7 mcg/kg/min instead of 0.3 - 0.7 mcg/kg/hr (or 0.005-0.015 mcg/kg/min). As of October 2, 2020 all stock has been corrected. If you find that you have a book with this error please contact publisher for correction sticker.
Miller's Basics of Anesthesia by
Long regarded as the undisputed leading text of its kind, Miller's Basics of Anesthesia provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of both basic science and clinical topics in anesthesiology. Under the experienced editorial leadership of Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr., the 8th Edition has been meticulously updated to reflect the latest advances in practice and important aspects of contemporary anesthesia care, including pathophysiology, pharmacology, regional anesthesia, anesthetic management, and special problems and patient groups. It remains the first learning resource of choice for anesthesia providers, including anesthesia residents and fellows, medical students, and student registered nurse anesthetists, and is also a valuable review tool for practitioners undergoing maintenance of certification or recertification. Features a reader-friendly format with color-coded section tabs, easy-to-read chapters, and a concise writing style, along with color patterns in every chapter for quick navigation. Contains new chapters on Clinician Well-Being, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound, Environmental Impact of Anesthetics, and Perioperative Medicine. Covers key topics such as anesthesia neurotoxicity, palliative care, sleep medicine, trauma, and much more. Includes high-quality images that offer a detailed visual understanding of complex topics, while numerous figures and tables condense material for easier retention and review. Shares the knowledge and experience of renowned anesthesia expert Dr. Manuel C. Pardo, Jr. and a team of more than 80 global contributing authors. Serves both as an initial learning resource and a useful tool for solidifying the essential "must know" information and reviewing core knowledge for maintenance of certification. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Morgan and Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, 7th Edition by
The most engagingly written, clinically relevant overview of the practice of anesthesiology Morgan & Mikhail's Clinical Anesthesiology, Seventh Edition is an essential resource for all anesthesia students and practitioners. Hailed as the best primer on the topic, this trusted classic delivers comprehensive coverage of the field's must-know basic science and clinical topics in a clear, easy-to-understand presentation. The text is also ideal for coursework, review, or as a clinical refresher. Key features that make it easier to understand complex topics: Rich full-color art work combined with a modern, user-friendly design make information easy to find and remember The perfect distillation of essential information: succinct without sacrificing important details Case discussions promote application of concepts in real-world clinical practice Key Concepts at the beginning of each chapter identify important issues and facts Numerous tables and figures encapsulate important information and facilitate recall Up-to-date discussion of all relevant areas of anesthesiology, including equipment and monitors, pharmacology, pathophysiology, regional anesthesia, pain management, and critical care URLs for societies, guidelines, and practice advisories
Smith and Aitkenhead's Textbook of Anaesthesia by
This highly successful textbook is internationally renowned as a core text for trainee anaesthetists and is essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar examinations. The previous 6th edition was awarded First Prize at the BMJ Medical Book awards. The book provides full coverage of the sciences underpinning practice in anaesthesia, critical care and pain management together with details of clinical anaesthesia and perioperative care. In combining these aspects, anaesthetists new to the specialty have found the textbook particularly useful during the first few years of training as well as when preparing for professional examinations. It has also proved a valuable day-to-day reference for allied professionals such as operating department practitioners and physician assistants who need an understanding of clinical practice in anaesthesia and related specialties. The goal for this Seventh Edition has remained to equip the reader with the basic knowledge and practical considerations required to administer anaesthesia and perioperative care for a whole range of surgical conditions in patients with all common medical comorbidities. Reflecting the expanding role of anaesthesia beyond the operating theatre it also includes essential material related to safety and quality assurance, consent, resuscitation, intensive care medicine, pre-hospital care and chronic pain management. The content of each chapter is closely aligned to the syllabus of the primary FRCA examination. Sample online questions and answers are provided for each chapter and linked to the relevant part of each chapter. This book's scope includes the full range of clinical practice, from anaesthetic equipment and pre-operative assessment through to post-operative care, local anaesthesia, anaesthesia for individual specialties and the management of chronic pain. The text covers the principles of pharmacology, anaesthetic agents and physics for the anaesthetist. This Seventh Edition has been restructured into four sections: Basic Sciences; Physics and Apparatus; Fundamentals of Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine; and Clinical Anaesthesia. There are four new chapters reflecting the UK postgraduate anaesthetic examination syllabus and changes in clinical practice. There are: The older patient; Anaesthesia in low and middle-income areas; Management of critical incidents; and Data analysis, clinical trials and statistics. Thirty new contributors provide a new perspective or contribute new chapters. This edition makes extensive use of new line drawings and diagrams and, for the first time, many of these are available in colour. Chapters have been extensively cross-referenced to aid the reader and avoid repetition to include substantially more information without increasing the overall size of the book. The content of each chapter is closely aligned to the syllabus of the Primary FRCA examination. Sample online questions and answers are provided for each chapter and linked to the relevant part of each chapter.
Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease by
A valuable resource for anesthesia providers at all levels of training and practice, Stoelting's Anesthesia and Co-Existing Disease, 8th Edition, provides concise, thorough coverage of pathophysiology of the most common diseases and their medical management relevant to anesthesia. Noted authority Dr. Roberta L. Hines and new editor Dr. Stephanie Jones lead a stellar team of contributing authors who provide clear, detailed guidance on successfully managing or avoiding complications stemming from pre-existing conditions. Presents detailed discussions of common diseases, as well as highlights of more rare diseases and their unique features that could be of importance in the perioperative period. Includes the latest practice guidelines, easy-to-follow treatment algorithms, bulleted key points, and more. Contains two new chapters on Nutritional Diseases: Obesity and Malnutrition and Chronic Pain, and significantly revised content on valvular heart disease, heart failure and cardiomyopathies, pericardial disease and cardiac trauma, endocrine disease, diseases of aging, pregnancy-associated diseases, and more. Features abundant figures, tables, diagrams, and photos that provide fast access to the most pertinent aspects of every condition and clarify critical points regarding management. Examines specific anesthesia considerations for special patient populations, including pediatric, obstetric, and elderly patients. Ideal for anesthesiologists in practice and for anesthesia residents in training and preparing for boards. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by
For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care. Originally prepared as essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar exams, this fully updated edition will also prove as invaluable as ever for all anaesthetists and critical care physicians, as well as operating department practitioners and specialist nurses. The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook. There has been a substantial addition of new entries as well as revision of existing ones. This acknowledges the breadth of information needed to satisfy the range of activities performed by anaesthetic, intensive care, nursing and other colleagues, and also reflects the ever-changing field in which they all work. The consolidation of the role of anaesthetists as 'perioperative physicians' is reflected in additional entries of particular relevance and also by the enhanced title of the book. The structured 'revision checklist' of entries which is particularly useful to those preparing for examinations has been further developed for this edition.
Anesthesia and Uncommon Diseases E-Book by
Your awareness of uncommon diseases and possible complications is vital to successful anesthetic patient management. Anesthesia and Uncommon Diseases, 6th Edition, brings you up to date with new information on less commonly seen diseases and conditions, including the latest evidence and management guidelines. This unique medical reference book is essential for a complete understanding of today's best options and potential difficulties in anesthesia. Improve your ability to successfully manage every patient, including those with rare diseases or conditions. Avoid complications with unique coverage of an important aspect of anesthetic management. Stay current with all-new chapters on adult congenital heart disease, rheumatic diseases, and the cancer patient, plus many more revisions throughout. Get outstanding visual guidance with hundreds of illustrations, now in full color.
Complications in Anesthesia by
This easy-to-use resource details all of the complications likely to be encountered in clinical practice. The scope has been expanded to include the critical care setting. Internationally renowned authorities explain the nature, likelihood, and causes of each problem, and then guide you through the appropriate treatment measures. Each type of complication is discussed in its own concise chapter making it easier to quickly locate and research specific topics of interest. Presents content in an updated, logical organization covering various types of complications (drugs, testing, intubation, line insertion, surgical procedures, etc.) followed by differential diagnosis and treatment of signs of complications (intraoperative, such as hypoxia or hypotension; and postoperative, such as MI). Follows a problem-based, practice-oriented approach throughout; case synopses are followed by concise coverage of recognition, risk assessment, implications, management, and prevention. Allows you to review the case reports, contemplate the implications, then check your response against what the experts have to say. Includes numerous photographs, diagrams, flow charts, and tables that illustrate key concepts. Ideal as a clinical reference and as a study tool when preparing for oral boards. Brings you up to date with new safety standards and the latest ASA guidelines. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Crisis Management in Anesthesiology by
The fully updated Crisis Management in Anesthesiology continues to provide updated insights on the latest theories, principles, and practices in anesthesiology. From anesthesiologists and nurse anesthetists to emergency physicians and residents, this medical reference book will effectively prepare you to handle any critical incident during anesthesia. "A comprehensive discussion of the latest theories, principles and practices for CRM in perioperative practice and will be a useful resource for anaesthetists of all grades and levels of experience" Reviewed by British Journal of Anaesthesia, Jun 2015 "...this book contains essential information that all anesthesiologists should know or readily be able to easily reference..." Reviewed by Jane Torrie, Oct 2015 "Every anesthesia provider needs to study, not just read, this new edition, even if you read the first edition. Also, distilled instructions of key elements of the cases covered in this book need to be included in manuals made available for emergencies (although that, too, needs further study on how best to use them). If I were your patient, I would ask if you had studied these principles. If you hadn't, I might ask for another health care provider into whose hands I would want to entrust my life." Foreword by: Jeffrey B. Cooper, PhD Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts, July 2015 Identify and respond to a broad range of life-threatening situations with the updated Catalog of Critical Incidents, which outlines what may happen during surgery and details the steps necessary to respond to and resolve the crisis. React quickly to a range of potential threats with an added emphasis on simulation of managing critical incidents. Useful review for all anesthesia professionals of the core knowledge of diagnosis and management of many critical events. Explore new topics in the ever-expanding anesthesia practice environment with a detailed chapter on debriefing. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase.
Case Files Anesthesiology by
Learn the fundamentals of anesthesiology in the context of real patients. 4 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW! "The book targets medical students, but even junior anesthesia trainees would find it very compelling....Although it has the appearance of a handbook, this book is an overview of clinical anesthesiology. It takes a simulation approach to drive home essential concepts of anesthesia management in different disease conditions. Of all the handy books out there, this is perhaps the only one that teaches anesthesia in the context of real patients rather than merely stating facts. It would be an invaluable aid to medical students doing anesthesia clerkships or junior anesthesia trainees who need a quick review for an emergency case in the middle of the night."--Doody's Review Service Case Files: Anesthesiology contains 53 high-yield cases with open-ended questions. Each case includes an extended discussion, definitions, clinical Pearls, 3-5 USMLE-style comprehension questions, and references to the most current literature for further reading. Features: 53 high-yield clinical situations tailored for management of the anesthetic patient Clear and easy-to-follow case-based format helps readers develop clinical thinking skills Clinical pearls give evidence-based recommendations for patient management USMLE-style comprehension questions accompany each case Content enhanced by numerous tables, illustrations, and clinical images Content that makes learning easy: Preoperative evaluation: Preoperative evaluation: cardiac and pulmonary disease, Preoperative evaluation in an obese patient, Anesthesia in Patients with Heart Disease: Coronary artery disease, Pulmonary hypertension, R heart failure, Left Heart failure, Mitral stenosis, mitral insufficiency, Aortic stenosis, Subacute Aortic Hypertrophy, Congestive heart failure, AICD, Abdominal aortic aneurysm/stint, open Cardiac tamponade, Protamine reaction Anesthesia for the Patient with Pulmonary Disease: Anesthesia in a patient with reactive airway disease, Anesthesia in a patient with COPD, Thoracotomy, Aspiration, Anesthesia for the Patient with Neurological or Neurosurgical Conditions: Subdural hematoma/head injury, Crainotomy for mass excision, Crainotomy for aneurysm, The quadriplegic, Cervical fracture, Myasthenia gravis, Anesthesia for obstetrics: For caeserian section, Appendectomy or cholecystectomy in a pregnant patient, Total spinal, Local anesthetic toxicity, Anesthesia in the Pediatric Patient: Child with a Foreign Body, Cleft Palate, Anesthesia for a tonsillectomy--sleep apnea, and hemorrhage, Pyloric stenosis, Anesthesia in Patients with Hematologic Disorders: Hemaglobinapathy, Transfusion reaction, Coagulopathies, Anesthesia for Patients with Endocrinologic or Metabolic Disorders: Diabetes--hyperglycemia/hypoglycemia, Malignant hypertension/pheochromocytoma, Malignant hyperthermia, Cholinesterase deficiency, Anesthesia Special Situations: Complication of laporoscopy--ptx, air embolism, Complication of laporoscopy--occult hemorrhage, Burns, Trauma, MRI, Hypoxia of unknown etiology (equipment failure), Monitoring (including PA line, TEE), Awareness under anesthesia, End of life/ethics
Clinical Cases in Anesthesia by
Prepare for the oral boards with the thoroughly updated Clinical Cases in Anesthesia. This comprehensive and current anesthesia review tool presents case studies representing today's most commonly encountered clinical situations, equipping you to master the latest anesthesia treatment protocols and practice guidelines and achieve your very best score. Learn the most practical solutions to contemporary problems, and understand the relevant scientific and clinical principles, through actual case studies presented in a helpful Q&A format. Study on the go! Browse the complete contents online at www.expertconsult.com! Review the most recent knowledge with updated coverage of the cardiovascular, respiratory, and central nervous system; updated abdomen, trauma, and post-anesthesia care sections; and a completely new section on critical care. Stay abreast of the latest treatment options, practice guidelines, and pharmacology information with comprehensive updates throughout.
Yao and Artusio's Anesthesiology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Case-based and easy to use, Yao & Artusio's Anesthesiology: Problem-Oriented Patient Managementis the bestselling study and review reference preferred by both residents and practicing anesthesiologists. The revised Ninth Edition prepares you for the oral and written boards with more than 60 real-world cases accompanied by questions that conform to the four areas of questioning on the oral boards, reinforcing step-by-step critical thinking about today's surgical anesthesia and patient management. Fully revised throughout, including new coverage of hypertension geriatric anesthesia, enhanced recovery after surgery (ERAS), postoperative cognitive dysfunction (POCD) and updated references for further study and clarification. A consistent chapter format includes: presentation of a case; questions on medical disease and differential diagnosis, preoperative planning and preparation, intraoperative management, and postoperative management; and complete answers and discussion of the case. Problem-based approach emphasizes critical thinking, collaborative decision making, and problem-solving skills. Ideal for oral board and continuing education preparation. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z by
For 25 years Anaesthesia, Intensive Care and Perioperative Medicine A-Z has provided a comprehensive resource of the relevant aspects of pharmacology, physiology, anatomy, physics, statistics, medicine, surgery, general anaesthetic practice, intensive care, equipment, and the history of anaesthesia and intensive care. Originally prepared as essential reading for candidates for the Fellowship of the Royal College of Anaesthetists and similar exams, this fully updated edition will also prove as invaluable as ever for all anaesthetists and critical care physicians, as well as operating department practitioners and specialist nurses. The alphabetical arrangement with extensive cross-referencing ensures a full understanding of topics. The succinct and clear text and diagrams'make for easy quick reference. The exam preparation checklist is ordered by key topics to facilitate effective revision. The contents are easily accessible with the accompanying ebook. There has been a substantial addition of new entries as well as revision of existing ones. This acknowledges the breadth of information needed to satisfy the range of activities performed by anaesthetic, intensive care, nursing and other colleagues, and also reflects the ever-changing field in which they all work. The consolidation of the role of anaesthetists as 'perioperative physicians' is reflected in additional entries of particular relevance and also by the enhanced title of the book. The structured 'revision checklist' of entries which is particularly useful to those preparing for examinations has been further developed for this edition.
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care, and Peri-Operative Medicine by
Essentials of Equipment in Anaesthesia, Critical Care and Peri-Operative Medicine is a highly practical textbook for trainees in anaesthesia and an invaluable guide for all those who work with anaesthetic equipment, including anaesthetic and intensive care nurses and operating department practitioners. The superbly organized and easy-to read format of the book has been retained from previous editions. The text has been comprehensively updated and more focused on the FRCA with the addition of exam tips and new questions. A new chapter addresses the topical and ever expanding field of 'Point of Care Testing' in anaesthesia and intensive care. Clear colour photographs and illustrations as well as over 100 interactive self-assessment OSCE questions complete this concise account of anaesthetic equipment and its use in clinical settings.
The ICU Book by
A fundamental and respected resource book in critical care, The ICU Book, Fourth Edition , continues to provide the current and practical guidance that have made it the best-selling text in critical care. The text addresses both the medical and surgical aspects of critical care, delivering the guidance needed to ensure sound, safe, and effective treatment for patients in intensive care--regardless of the specialty focus of the unit. Traditionally available as a printed textbook, the print version now comes with a completely revamped digital experience. Viewable through a browser on PC and Mac or as a download to your iOS tablet or smartphone , the digital version includes: The complete text with optimized navigation A powerful, index-based search function All referenced content is linked throughout for instant access Regular literature and commentary updates integrated into the text The ability to share notes with friends and colleagues Key Features Problem-based approach teaches critical thinking and mirrors the decision-making process of the intensive care unit Expert perspectives from Dr. Marino help sharpen technique, minimize error, and improve outcomes Reader-friendly format makes essential information easy to locate and apply "Final Word" summaries at the conclusion of each chapter highlight salient points and improve retention of key concepts NEW to the Fourth Edition Fully rewritten content (including eight new chapters) assures readers of only the most up-to-date and practical information available Full-color format emphasizes clinical anatomy and facilitates visual learning Additionally, this publication is included on the ANCC: American Nurses Credentialing Center's reference list
Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures by
The second edition of Atlas of Image-Guided Spinal Procedures features a highly visual atlas format to illustrate exactly how to perform each technique. This medical reference walks you through each procedure, step-by-step, to safely and efficiently relieve patients' pain. This book presents an algorithmic, image-guided approach for each technique; trajectory view (demonstrates fluoroscopic "setup"); multiplanar confirmation views (AP, lateral, oblique); and "safety view" (what should be avoided during injection), along with optimal and suboptimal contrast patterns. Each fluoroscopic and ultrasound chapter also has the same "voice" so it is easy to follow. Safely and efficiently relieve your patients' pain with consistent, easy-to-follow chapters that guide you through each technique. Presents an algorithmic, image-guided approach for each technique: trajectory view (demonstrates fluoroscopic "setup"); multiplanarconfirmation views (AP, lateral, oblique); and "safety view" (what should be avoided during injection), along with optimal and suboptimal contrast patterns. Special chapters on Needle Techniques, Procedural Safety, Fluoroscopic and Ultrasound Imaging Pearls, Radiation Safety, and L5-S1 Disc Access provide additional visual instruction. View drawings of radiopaque landmarks and key radiolucent anatomy that cannot be viewed fluoroscopically. Videos including procedural "set-up" and optimal and suboptimal constrast flow are available in the Expert Consult eBook version. Includes new unique and diagrams demonstrating cervical, thoracic and lumbar radiofrequency probe placement and treatment zones on multiplanar views, as well as new unique tables and examples differentiating between optimal and suboptimal epidural contrast flow Features new coverage of ultrasound techniques, as well as new presentation of procedures for "spine masqueraders" such as the hip and shoulder. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to access and search all of the text, figures, images, videos, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Atlas of Interventional Pain Management by
An essential resource for pain medicine clinicians at all levels of practice and training, Atlas of Interventional Pain Management, 5th Edition, is a comprehensive, easy-to-follow guide to delivering safe, accurate, and cost-effective relief for patients with acute and chronic pain. Dr. Steven D. Waldman walks you step by step through each procedure, incorporating all clinically appropriate imaging modalities to help you achieve the best possible outcomes for more than 160 nerve block procedures. Focuses on the how rather than the why of interventional pain procedures, offering an abundance of high-quality, full-color illustrations to demonstrate the best technique. Incorporates all clinically useful imaging modalities that increase needle placement precision, including significantly expanded content on office-based ultrasound guided techniques as well as fluoroscopy and computed tomography guided procedures. Keeps you up to date with 19 brand-new chapters, including Selective Maxillary Nerve Block: Suprazygomatic Approach, Brachial Plexus Block: Retroclavicular Approach, Erector Spinae Plane Block, Transversalis Fascia Plane Block, Adductor Canal Block, Dorsal Root Ganglion Stimulation, Sacral Neuromodulation, and more. Provides Indications, Clinically Relevant Anatomy, Technique, Side Effects and Complications, and Clinical Pearls and updated CPT codes for each procedure. Clearly illustrates the anatomical targets for each procedure and the appropriate needle placement and trajectory used to reach each target. Includes access to procedural videos covering Cervical Translaminar Epidural Block, Cervical Paravertebral Medical Branch Block, Percutaneous Facet Fusion, Lumbar Transforaminal Epidural Block, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes by
Covering the many relatively uncommon pain conditions that are often misdiagnosed, this one-of-a-kind visual resource clearly presents the extensive knowledge and experience of world-renowned pain expert Steven D. Waldman, MD, JD. Atlas of Uncommon Pain Syndromes, 4th Edition, first and foremost helps you make a correct diagnosis - a critical step in managing patients in chronic pain. Hundreds of high-quality illustrations, as well as x-rays, ultrasound, CTs, and MRIs, help you confirm your diagnoses with confidence. Offers head-to-toe coverage - 135 conditions in all - providing concise, easy-to-read chapters for each condition. Dr. Waldman's practical guidance is designed to help you make the correct diagnosis of uncommon pain syndromes, even the signs and symptoms don't quite fit. Explains each pain syndrome using a consistent, easy-to-follow format: an ICD-10 CM code for billing purposes, followed by a brief description of the signs and symptoms, laboratory and radiographic testing, differential diagnosis, available treatment options, and clinical pearls. Features updated chapters throughout, as well as 12 new chapters covering Hemicrania Continua, Acute Calcific Prevertebral Tendinitis, Sternohyoid Syndrome Snapping Scapula Syndrome, Erythromelagia, Foix-Alajouanine Syndrome, Lumbar Paraspinous Muscle Compartment Syndrome, Clunealgia, Nutcracker Syndrome, Paroxysmal Extreme Pain Disorder, Iliopsoas Tendon Rupture, and Snapping Pes Anserinus Syndrome Provides practitioners and trainees in pain medicine, anesthesiology, neurology, psychiatry, physical medicine and rehabilitation, primary care, and more with a firm foundation in the diagnosis of uncommon pain in daily practice. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Clinical Pain Management by
Clinical Pain Management takes a practical,interdisciplinary approach to the assessment and management ofpain. Concise template chapters serve as a quick reference tophysicians, anesthetists and neurologists, as well as otherspecialists, generalists, and trainees managing pain. Based on theInternational Association for the Study of Pain?s clinicalcurriculum on the topic, this reference provides to-the-pointbest-practice guidance in an easy-to-follow layout includingtables, bullets, algorithms and guidelines.
Managing Pain by
The understanding of pain has undergone extraordinary development over the last 25 years. Half of all medical visits are initiated because of pain. The need for all clinicians and trainees to have a foundational knowledge of pain has become more critically important than ever. Not surprisingly, most books on pain medicine are almost all written by "pain management doctors," physicians who've trained in "pain medicine" and devote their lives to treating pain. However, the burden of pain extends to all doctors, not just those who treat it every day. Managing Pain: Essentials of Diagnosis and Treatment offers a fundamental guide on the diagnosis and therapy of frequently encountered pain conditions for non-pain physicians and clinicians. Written using easily-accessible language, this book first reviews the basics of opioids and other therapies, including psychotherapy and complementary modalities. The second part of the book presents clinically-relevant cases chosen to reflect those conditions most frequently encountered by primary care providers. Edited by world-renowned experts in pain medicine, with many chapters written by non-pain physicians who are experts in their respective specialties, Managing Pain: Essentials of Diagnosis and Treatment is a useful guide for the non-pain-trained healthcare provider who is on the frontlines treating chronic pain.
Wall and Melzack's Textbook of Pain by
Apply the latest scientific and clinical advances with Wall & Melzack's Textbook of Pain, 6th Edition. Drs. Stephen McMahon, Martin Koltzenburg, Irene Tracey, and Dennis C. Turk, along with more than 125 other leading authorities, present all of the latest knowledge about the genetics, neurophysiology, psychology, and assessment of every type of pain syndrome. They also provide practical guidance on the full range of today's pharmacologic, interventional, electrostimulative, physiotherapeutic, and psychological management options. Consult this title on your favorite e-reader with intuitive search tools and adjustable font sizes. Elsevier eBooks provide instant portable access to your entire library, no matter what device you're using or where you're located. Benefit from the international, multidisciplinary knowledge and experience of a "who's who" of international authorities in pain medicine, neurology, neurosurgery, neuroscience, psychiatry, psychology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, palliative medicine, and other relevant fields. Translate scientific findings into clinical practice with updates on the genetics of pain, new pharmacologic and treatment information, and much more. Easily visualize important scientific concepts with a high-quality illustration program, now in full color throughout. Choose the safest and most effective management methods with expanded coverage of anesthetic techniques. Stay abreast of the latest global developments regarding opioid induced hyperalgesia, addiction and substance abuse, neuromodulation and pain management, identification of specific targets for molecular pain, and other hot topics.
Pain Management Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Pain Management Secrets, 4th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in pain management for in-training or practicing professionals. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with new chapters on the latest areas in pain medicine, clear illustrations and figures, and a list of current websites that expedite study and review. Written and fully updated by internationally known pain medicine experts, including new editors Drs. Andrew Dubin and Julie Pilitsis. NEW! Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Practical Management of Pain by
For more than 30 years, Practical Management of Pain has offered expert guidance to both clinicians and trainees, covering every aspect of acute and chronic pain medicine for adult and pediatric patients. The fully revised 6th Edition brings you fully up to date with new developments in patient evaluation, diagnosis of pain syndromes, rationales for management, treatment modalities, and much more. Edited by a team of renowned pain clinicians led by Dr. Honorio Benzon, this authoritative reference is a comprehensive, practical resource for pain diagnosis and treatment using a variety of pharmacologic and physical modalities. Presents a wealth of information in a clearly written, easily accessible manner, enabling you to effectively assess and draw up an optimal treatment plan for patients with acute or chronic pain. Takes a practical, multidisciplinary approach, making key concepts and techniques easier to apply to everyday practice. Shares the knowledge and expertise of global contributors on all facets of pain management, from general principles to specific management techniques. Discusses the latest, best management techniques, including joint injections, ultrasound-guided therapies, and new pharmacologic agents such as topical analgesics. Covers recent global developments regarding opioid induced hyperalgesia, neuromodulation and pain management, and identification of specific targets for molecular based pain. Includes current information on the use of cannabinoids in pain management and related regulatory, professional, and legal considerations. Includes the latest guidelines on facet injections and safety of contrast agents. Provides new, evidence-based critical analysis on treatment modality outcomes and the latest information on chronic pain as a result of surgical interventions. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Principles of Rehabilitation Medicine by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A concise, expertly written overview of physical medicine and rehabilitation --- from leaders in the field Principles of Rehabilitation Medicine is comprehensive and authoritative review for the specialty of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. The book offers a wide array of chapters with complete reviews of classical rehabilitation topics such as brain injury, spinal cord injury, stroke, pain management and electrodiagnostic medicine. Additionally, there is in-depth coverage of musculoskeletal medicine, pediatric rehabilitation and sports. An expansive first section reviews fundamental knowledge essential to the basic rehabilitation assessment. Chapters reflect cutting edge topics in the field such as: * Regenerative medicine * Rehabilitation of the veteran * Rehabilitation of the polytrauma patient * Hand rehabilitation * Ethics * Rehabilitation in pregnancy * Sexual rehabilitation * Rehabilitation of the injured worker * Rehabilitation issues in the developing world * Rehabilitation at the end of life Chapters are authored by proven leaders in the field with a focus on pathophysiology, diagnosis and rehabilitative management. Information is presented in a clear, concise manner, with direct patient applications. The text is complemented by numerous figures, tables and patient care algorithms which are designed to confer a basic understanding of principles.
Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine by
Get up-to-date on all of the techniques that are rapidly becoming today's standard of care with Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine, 2nd Edition . With this extensively revised edition, you'll see how the increased use of ultrasound for diagnosis and treatment of chronic pain and other medical conditions can transform your patient care. Noted authorities discuss the techniques you need to know for upper and lower extremity blocks, truncal blocks, pain blocks, trauma and critical care, and more. Key Features: Quickly grasp the salient features of each block, including indications, relevant anatomy, the transducer type, needle, local anesthetic, technique, tips, and references for further study. Learn from global experts on topics such as recent ultrasound-guided musculoskeletal blocks and the uses of ultrasound in the treatment of shock and trauma. Get up to speed on new techniques, thanks to 48 new chapters covering transforaminal cervical injections, cervical facet injections, insertion of peripheral nerve stimulators using ultrasound guidance, genital femoral nerve injections, suprascapular nerve injection, ultrasound guidance to fill implanted pain reservoir, sacroiliac injections, and much more. Care for your young patients more effectively with a separate section devoted to pediatric regional anesthesia. See exactly how to perform the techniques with high-quality ultrasound images and depictions of relevant anatomy. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, offering tablet, smartphone, or online access to: Videos of selected procedures. Complete content with enhanced navigation . Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web. Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation. Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text. Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues. Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use.
Geriatric Anesthesiology by
Geriatric anesthesia is a rapidly growing and evolving field and this is the major revision of a classic anesthesia reference. The last few years have seen significant advancements and important new modalities for addressing the needs of an aging population. The editors of this second edition are uniquely situated to put together a text highlighting both essential knowledge and recent breakthroughs of importance to all who work with the elderly. This edition easily maintains the high standard for quality scholarship and useful material set by the first.
Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice by
Comprehensive, user-friendly, and up to date, Chestnut's Obstetric Anesthesia: Principles and Practice, 6th Edition, provides the authoritative clinical information you need to provide optimal care to your patients. This substantially revised edition keeps you current on everything from basic science to anesthesia techniques to complications, including coverage of new research that is paving the way for improved patient outcomes. An expert editorial team ensures that this edition remains a must-have resource for obstetric anesthesiologists and obstetricians, nurse anesthetists and anesthesiology assistants, and anesthesiology and obstetric residents and students. Presents the latest information on anesthesia techniques for labor and delivery and medical disorders that occur during pregnancy, emphasizing the treatment of the fetus and the mother as separate patients with distinct needs. Contains new chapters on shared decision-making in obstetric anesthesia and chronic pain during and after pregnancy. Features extensive revisions from cover to cover, including consolidated information on maternal infection and postoperative analgesia. Covers key topics such as neonatal assessment and resuscitation, pharmacology during pregnancy and lactation, use of nitrous oxide for labor analgesia, programmed intermittent epidural bolus (PIEB) technique, epidural analgesia-associated fever, the role of gastric ultrasonography to assess the risk of aspiration, sugammadex in obstetric anesthesia, the role of video laryngoscopy and new supraglottic airway devices, spinal dysraphism, and cardiac arrest in obstetric patients. Incorporates the latest guidelines on congenital heart disease and the management of sepsis, as well as difficult airway guidelines that are specific to obstetric anesthesia practice. Offers abundant figures, tables, and boxes that illustrate the step-by-step management of a full range of clinical scenarios. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
A Practical Approach to Obstetric Anesthesia by
Successfully combining the comprehensive depth of a textbook and the user-friendly features of a practical handbook, A Practical Approach to Obstetric Anesthesia, 2nd Edition , is a portable resource for both experienced and novice clinicians. Focusing on clinical issues in obstetric anesthesia, it uses an easy-to-follow outline format for quick reference, enhanced with numerous tables, figures, and photographs. The use of color in this edition highlights key information and improves readability for daily practice and study. Highly Commended in the Anaesthesia category of the 2017 BMA Medical Book Awards!Key Features: Presents the most up-to-date information available in obstetric anesthesiology, including guidance on both routine and complicated patient care. Features new chapters on ultrasound and echocardiographic techniques, trauma, management of the opioid dependent parturient, and maternal morbidity and mortality. Covers pharmacology and physiology, antepartum considerations, labor and delivery, postpartum issues, and disease states in obstetric patients, including a chapter on obesity and pregnancy, as well as guidelines from national organizations. Provides Clinical Pearls throughout, as well as Key Points in each chapter and current references for further study. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
World Clinics - Anesthesia and Analgesia in Labour and Delivery-II by
This second volume in the World Clinics: Anesthesia, Critical Care & Pain: Analgesia and Anaesthesia in Labor and Delivery series presents an evidence-based review of the topic with a focus on providing an updated understanding of the subject. The book is divided into twelve chapters, the first of which is on the history of labour analgesia. This initial chapter provides insights into improvements that have taken place in the management anaesthesia during labour and delivery. The articles on initiation and maintenance of labour analgesia provide essential updates, describing the safest and most effective forms of analgesia being practised currently. Intrapartum foetal monitoring, an important aspect of management of labour, has been dealt with in detail, and sections on troubleshooting and complications and management of labour analgesia provide useful information for the practising anaesthesiologist. This comprehensive update on anaesthesia and analgesia in labour and delivery, written by experts in the field, is an essential resource for students, interns and physicians. Key points Part of World Clinics: Anesthesia, Critical Care & Pain series Evidence-based reviews of obstetrical analgesia and anaesthesia Contributions from specialists in the USA, Europe and Asia Full colour images throughout
Obstetric Anesthesia Handbook by
Written by a highly regarded expert in the field of obstetric anesthesia Handy point of care Up-to-date information on the subject Good board review tool
Clinical Pediatric Anesthesia by
Through 71 case presentations, Clinical Pediatric Anesthesia covers the field of pediatric anesthesiology with a practical, point-of-care approach. Each concisely written case is organized by introduction, learning objectives, case presentation, discussion, summary, annotated references, andfurther reading. In a style akin to the oral board examinations, discussions are framed as questions and answers to encourage thorough analysis and understanding by the reader. Key words are highlighted to emphasize important points, and annotated references allow for further exploration of topics.Multiple approaches often exist for the care of children in any given situation, so various options are discussed when appropriate with advantages and disadvantages closely examined. Since questions posed by real-life clinical situations call for active thinking, this case-based book promotes thesame evaluation and decision-making skills required of the pediatric anesthesia clinician.
Gregory's Pediatric Anesthesia by
Millions of pediatric patients receive anesthetics every year, but it has been established that those under 12 months of age have a higher risk of poor outcomes. Well established at the forefront of the field, and founded and edited by one of its modern pioneers, Pediatric Anesthesia is renowned for the excellence of its practical guidance. Aimed at pediatric anesthetists, anesthetists, and trainee anesthetists, this new edition covers the use of anesthesia on newborns to young adults, placing a strong emphasis on the most recent and important information from research and publications.
Pediatric Cardiac Anesthesia by
Long established as the #1 reference on pediatric cardiac anesthesia, this definitive text is now in its thoroughly revised Fourth Edition. The book provides comprehensive guidelines on preoperative evaluation, perioperative management, and postoperative care for all pediatric cardiac surgical procedures and includes quick-reference summaries of perioperative management for each procedure. For this edition, Dr. Lake is joined by an eminent British co-editor, Peter D. Booker, and an international group of distinguished contributors. Coverage includes cutting-edge information on echocardiography, fast tracking, and the newest surgical techniques. New chapters cover teaching, practice management, anesthesia for cardiac MIS, and hemostasis, coagulation, and transfusion.
A Practical Approach to Pediatric Anesthesia by
Part of the highly popular Practical Approach to Anesthesia series, this new edition combines the comprehensive depth of a textbook and the user-friendly features of a practical handbook. Focusing on clinical issues in pediatric anesthesia, it contains the in-depth information you need for daily practice and study, presented in a concise, bulleted format for quick reference. With its emphasis on developmental aspects of pediatric anesthesia, numerous illustrations and tables, and methodical approach to decision making, this updated reference is an invaluable resource for anyone involved with anesthesia of children.Key Features Features new chapters on vascular biology and vascular anomalies, healing and recovery in pediatric surgery, and training and education in pediatric anesthesia. All existing chapters have been fully updated to keep you up to date. Covers key issues of growth and development - anatomic, physiologic, and pharmacologic - that form the basis for a better understanding of pediatric anesthesia. Discusses the approach to the pediatric patient, clinical and operational aspects of pediatric anesthesia, anesthetic management of normalities and abnormalities of each organ system, and special situations such as fetal surgery, anesthesia outside the operating room, and trauma. Provides a clear understanding of anomalies, embryology, anatomy, and surgery so that you're well prepared to choose the best induction, maintenance, and emergence techniques, as well as make informed monitoring and equipment decisions. Presents information in a bulleted, outline format for easy reference and review. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use
A Practice of Anesthesia for Infants and Children by
Covering everything from preoperative evaluation to neonatal emergencies to the PACU, A Practice of Anesthesia in Infants and Children, 6th Edition, features state-of-the-art advice on the safe, effective administration of general and regional anesthesia to young patients. It reviews underlying scientific information, addresses preoperative assessment and anesthesia management in detail, and provides guidelines for postoperative care, emergencies, and special procedures. Comprehensive in scope and thoroughly up to date, this 6th Edition delivers unsurpassed coverage of every key aspect of pediatric anesthesia. Includes a laminated pocket reference guide inside - also available as an expanded online version ("Pedi Anesth" from the Starship Children's Hospital in Auckland, NZ). Features key references at the end of each chapter that provide a quick summary for review. Presents must-know information on standards, techniques, and the latest advances in pediatric anesthesia from global experts. Provides access to a video library of 70 pediatric anesthesia procedures - 35 are new! Videos include demonstrations on managing the difficult pediatric airway, cardiac assist devices in action, new positioning devices, management of burn injuries, and many demonstrations of ultra-sound guided regional anesthesia blocks and techniques. Features extensive revisions of all chapters with many new contributors, and numerous new figures and tables throughout. Introduces new drugs such as those used to premedicate children and facilitate emergence from anesthesia, plus an up-to-date discussion of the drug approval process and detailed information on opioid safety for children with obstructive sleep. Includes new chapters on pharmacogenomic implications of drugs in children and the anesthetic implications when caring for children with cancer. Offers up-to-date information on the management of emergence agitation, sleep-disordered breathing, neonatal and pediatric emergencies, and the obese child and bariatric surgery. The Essentials chapters, with extensive input from pediatrician experts, provide the latest information concerning hematology, pulmonology, oncology, hepatology, nephrology, and neurology. Contains significant updates on perioperative fluid management, pharmacology, intravenous anesthesia and target controlled infusions, cystic fibrosis, new interventional devices for children with congenital heart defects, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, simulation in pediatric anesthesia, and much more. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Anaesthesia at a Glance by
Anaesthesia at a Glance is a brand new title that provides a concise and visually-orientated summary of a comprehensive lecture course in anaesthesia. Ideal for clinical undergraduate medical students and Foundation Programme doctors undertaking anaesthesia attachments, it gives a systematic, broad view of anaesthesia in various specialties, taking the reader through preparation, management and the pharmacology behind anaesthetic medicine. Anaesthesia at a Glance is supported by a companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/anaesthesia containing interactive multiple-choice questions and answers together with a selection of interactive cases - perfect for study and revision. Whether you want to refresh your knowledge or need a thorough overview of the specialty, Anaesthesia at a Glance presents all the vital clinical information you need.
Anesthesia Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Anesthesia Secrets, 6th Edition offers practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of anesthesiology. This bestselling resource features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. New chapters on Electrocardiogram Interpretation, Cardiac Physiology, Vasoactive Agents, Volume Assessment, Blood Pressure Disturbances, Mechanical Ventilation Strategies, Perioperative Point-of-Care Ultrasound and Echocardiography, Neuraxial Techniques, Peripheral Nerve and Trunk Blocks, Patient Safety, and Medical Ethics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Manual of Clinical Anesthesiology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Designed for rapid reference at the point of care, Manual of Clinical Anesthesiology is the clinician's go-to resource for practical, clinically focused information on all aspects of anesthesia management. The comprehensive second edition consolidates multidisciplinary expertise in one resource, offering revised and updated content in a highly visual, portable format, with short, easy-to-read chapters, margin icons noting pearls and pitfalls, and more. Presents information in a rapid-reference, outline format throughout, with color-coded sections, chapter summaries, pearls and pitfalls, cross-references to related text, and more. Features new chapters on: Hemorrhage in Obstetrics, Highly Lethal Viruses (such as SARS and Ebola), Thromboelastogram/Point of Care Laboratory Interpretation, Hazards in the MRI Suite, and Substance Abuse in Medical Professionals, as well as new cognitive aids for Caudal Anesthesia, Cardiopulmonary Bypass, Ultrasound-Guided Neuraxial Anesthesia, OB Cardiac Arrest, Transthoracic Echo, and PALS. Covers monitoring, equipment and procedures, anesthesia and comorbid diseases, pediatric anesthesia, subspecialty anesthesia, and other key topics. Includes four full-color atlases that clearly depict procedures, transesophageal echocardiography, peripheral nerve blocks, and crisis management (including new crisis management checklists) as well as a drug dosing pull-out card. Enrich Your Ebook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s),such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook,powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia by
Returning for its fifth edition, the Oxford Handbook of Anaesthesia has been re-energized by new editors and a specialist contributor team, while still retaining its much-loved, clear and concise style. Written for anaesthetists at all stages of their careers, from trainees sitting exams through to experienced consultants as well as ODPs and nurses involved in theatre area work and pre-assessment, this comprehensive guide to the anaesthetic world is as indispensable as ever.This new edition has been completely revised and brings you the most up-to-date guidance and information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of anaesthesia, including a completely revised regional anaesthesia chapter. Now in full colour and packed with enhanced illustrations throughout, including new ECG rhythm strips and illustrations of specialist equipment, the Handbook also includes colour coding for easier navigation. Designed for daily use, this Handbook is your essential companion to anaesthesia, with everything you need at your fingertips whether on the go or for revision.
Anesthesia Equipment by
Offering highly visual, easy-to-read coverage of the full range of anesthesia equipment in use today, this authoritative reference is your go-to text for objective, informed answers to ensure optimal patient safety. Anesthesia Equipment, 3rd Edition, provides detailed information on the intricate workings of each device or workstation, keeping you fully up to date and helping you meet both equipment and patient care challenges. Remains unequalled in both depth and breadth of coverage, offering readable, concise guidance on all aspects of today's anesthesia machines and equipment. Details the latest machines, vaporizers, ventilators, breathing systems, vigilance, ergonomics, and simulation. Improves your understanding of the physical principles of equipment, the rationale for its use, delivery systems for inhalational anesthesia, systems monitoring, hazards and safety features, maintenance and quality assurance, special situations/equipment for non-routine adult anesthesia, and future directions for the field. Includes ASA Practice Parameters for care, and helps you ensure patient safety with detailed advice on risk management and medicolegal implications of equipment use. Highlights the text with hundreds of full-color line drawings and photographs, graphs, and charts. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Anesthesiology Resident Manual of Procedures by
This book describes in concise yet detailed step-by-step instructions on how to perform common procedures, including complex airway management, vascular access, neuraxial blocks, and nuanced anesthetic techniques; it not only covers this breadth of procedures, but presents them in an accessible manner. Chapters follow the format of the indications for a particular procedure, a list of equipment required, step-by-step instructions for performing the procedure, common complications, and troubleshooting techniques. The book is designed intentionally for the busy physician to be able to easily read the essential information, including lists of equipment necessary, numbered steps to perform the procedure, tables of common errors and methods to troubleshoot, indications and contraindications for procedures, detailed photos of equipment setup, and handmade diagrams and images. Anesthesiology Resident Manual of Procedures is comprehensive and written with the physician-in-training in mind, as well as those who are completing their residency or fellowship in the fields of anesthesiology, critical care medicine, and emergency medicine.
Clinical Anesthesia Procedures of the Massachusetts General Hospital by
Written by residents and attendings at the world-renowned Massachusetts General Hospital Department of Anesthesia, Clinical Anesthesia Procedures of the Massachusetts General Hospital, Tenth Edition, offers current, comprehensive, and concise guidelines on all facets of anesthesia, perioperative care, critical care, and pain management. Emphasizing the clinical fundamentals necessary for patient safety and optimal outcomes, this trusted guide provides fast answers to the most frequent problems encountered in daily anesthetic practice, making it an invaluable resource for practicing anesthesiologists and residents as well as nurse anesthetist trainees and practitioners. Focuses on the clinical fundamentals needed for the safe delivery of anesthesia and perioperative care in day-to-day practice. Uses an easy-to-scan outline format that progresses intuitively from preoperative evaluation through administration of anesthesia to perioperative issues for each subject. Updated and reorganized table of contents in addition to chapters on evaluating the patient, anesthesia for pediatric surgery and care of the neonate, non-operating room anesthesia and pain management. Includes new chapters on the basics of echocardiography, anesthesia for orthopedic surgery, anesthesia for transplant surgery and vascular access. Features appendices covering drugs and intravenous antibiotics. Enrich Your eBook Reading Experience Read directly on your preferred device(s), such as computer, tablet, or smartphone. Easily convert to audiobook, powering your content with natural language text-to-speech.
Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery by
Patients with cardiac conditions routinely present for noncardiac surgeries, requiring special protocols for perioperative assessment and management by the anesthesiologist. Essentials of Cardiac Anesthesia for Noncardiac Surgery: A Companion to Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia provides current, easily accessible information in this complex area, ideal for general anesthesiologists and non-cardiac subspecialists. From preoperative assessment through postoperative care, this practical reference covers all perioperative approaches to today's patients with cardiac conditions. Provides guidance on the anesthetic diagnosis and management of the full range of cardiac lesions, helping minimize adverse outcomes and reduce complications for patients with common, complex, or uncommon cardiac conditions. Includes complete coverage of echocardiography and current monitoring techniques needed for thorough perioperative assessment - all from the anesthesiologist's perspective. Discusses safe and effective perioperative anesthetic management of patients presenting with advanced levels of cardiac care such as drug-eluting stents, multiple antiplatelet drugs, ventricular assist devices, multiple drugs for end-stage heart failure, and implanted electrical devices that produce cardiac resynchronization therapy, as well as patients with complicated obstetric problems or other significant cardiovascular issues. Features a concise, easy-to-navigate format and Key Points boxes in each chapter that help you find answers quickly. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care by
Current, comprehensive, and evidence-based, Kaplan's Cardiac Anesthesia: Perioperative and Critical Care Management, 8th Edition, offers practical guidance from today's international leaders in cardiac anesthesiology, helping you to optimize perioperative outcomes, avoid complications, and ensure maximum patient safety. Dr. Joel A. Kaplan, along with an expert team of associate editors, guides you through today's clinical challenges, including expanded coverage of critical care, the newest approaches to perioperative assessment and management, state-of-the art diagnostic techniques, and cardiovascular and coronary physiology.
Textbook of Onco-Anesthesiology by
This book covers all essential evidence on perioperative care and anesthetic concerns for cancer surgeries, including the evaluation and assessment of patients' schedule for cancer surgeries, perioperative anesthetic management of various cancers, perioperative analgesia for cancer surgeries, and issues related to inoperable cancers. It reviews anesthetic considerations of all cancer types as there is a wide variation in anesthetic requirements in this subset of patients. Cancer surgeries are on the rise worldwide and healthcare facilities with cancer as a core specialty are emerging quickly around the globe. As cancer is on rise and efficient surgical management is available, more and more patients are being treated surgically. However, cancer surgeries are complicated, have varied concerns and these are not covered sufficiently in presently available textbooks of anesthesiology. This book fulfills the growing need for complete and comprehensive textbook of onco-anesthesia and fills the gap in the current texts that do not exclusively cover anesthesia for cancer surgeries. This textbook serves as a comprehensive but quick guide for trainee residents/fellows and practicing anesthesiologists, clinicians and surgeons.
Principles of Physiology for the Anaesthetist, Third Edition by
Principles of Physiology for the Anaesthetist, now in its Third Edition, continues to provide candidates with a "tailor-made" alternative to more general physiology textbooks and delivers information designed and written specifically with the trainee anaesthetist in mind. The book covers the physiology of all major organ systems, with specific emph
Handbook of Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice by
Designed for quick reference in the operating room or rapid review for board exams, this compact, portable handbook presents the most critical clinical information from the newly updated Fourth Edition of Pharmacology and Physiology in Anesthetic Practice. The handbook is written in easy-to-scan outline format, with more than 250 tables to summarize key points and dosages for use in the operating room. The 60 chapters of the handbook correspond to the chapters in the textbook, so readers can easily refer back to the textbook for more detailed information. A separate drug index is included. Subscribe to Lippincott's Interactive Anesthesia Library and get online access to the fully searchable content of eight critically acclaimed references in anesthesiology, critical care, and pain management.
Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia by
Pharmacology and physiology are the foundation of every anesthesia provider's training and clinical competency. Pharmacology and Physiology for Anesthesia: Foundations and Clinical Application, 2nd Edition, delivers the information you need in pharmacology, physiology, and molecular-cellular biology, keeping you current with contemporary training and practice. This thoroughly updated edition is your one-stop, comprehensive overview of physiology, and rational anesthetic drug selection and administration, perfect for study, review, and successful practice. Contains new chapters on Special Populations (anesthetic pharmacology in obesity, geriatrics, and pediatrics), Oral and Non-IV Opioids, Thermoregulation, Physiology and Pharmacology of Obstetric Anesthesia, Chemotherapeutic and Immunosuppresive Drugs, and Surgical Infection and Antimicrobial Drugs. Incorporates entirely new sections on Physics, Anatomy, and Imaging. Includes new information on consciousness and cognition, pharmacodynamics, the immune system, and anti-inflammatory drugs. Features user-friendly tables, figures, and algorithms (including 100 new illustrations), all presented in full color and designed to help explain complex concepts. Helps you understand the molecular mechanism of drug actions and identify key drug interactions that may complicate anesthesia with dedicated sections on these areas. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase, which allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices
Anesthesiology by
Anesthesiology: A Comprehensive Review for the Written Boards and Recertification is a high-yield, streamlined study aid. It contains more than 1000 updated, realistic multiple-choice questions tailored to the question content of recent American Board of Anestesiology (ABA) exams. To maximizereading efficiency, key messages are repeated and highlighted in the bullets.While focusing on most-frequently tested keywords by the ABA, this book also covers new "emerging" topics such as patient safety, statistics, and ethics. Well-chosen illustrations and graphs are used to enhance the learning experience. Also novel is a high-yield summary of the 60 most frequentlytested topics and concepts to be reviewed just before taking the boards. With this book as guidance, readers will be able to efficiently prepare for the written primary certification or recertification anesthesiology board exam.
Pediatric Anesthesiology by
Pediatric Anesthesiology: A Comprehensive Board Review is a high-yield, streamlined study aid. It contains more than 800, realistic, multiple-choice questions tailored to the keywords in the outline of the Pediatric Anesthesiology Certification Examination published by the American Board ofAnesthesiology (ABA). To maximize reading efficiency, annotated answers are followed by bulleted key facts and key references. With this book as guide, readers will be able to efficiently prepare for the written primary certification pediatric anesthesiology board exam.
Anesthesiology in-Training Exam Review by
Focused on rotations in regional anesthesia and chronic pain, this book provides a structured review of the concepts covered in the American Board of Anesthesiology in-training exam. The first section of the book covers regional anesthesia with dedicated chapters on basic science, acute postoperative pain, and nerve blocks for neuraxial, lower and upper extremity blocks, and head and neck. The second section on chronic pain includes chapters on basic science and common pain conditions - including craniofacial pain, CRPS, neuropathic pain, and cancer pain. This section closes on multimodal analgesia and other treatment approaches. Each chapter presents a common clinical topic and is organized by indications, preparation, technique, complication, prevention, clinical pearls, and related ABA key points. Highlights must-know information in bold throughout the text. Concise, practical, and easy-to-read, this book will aid anesthesiology residents, certifiednurse anesthetists, and medical students in their study regarding patient care practices on regional anesthesia and chronic pain. The book will also be useful to residents going into regional anesthesia and pain medicine subspecialties during the year of their anesthesiology training.
