An SOS presentation IS NOT a systematic review and does not require the same level of rigor. As an authority in the field, you will use your discretion to select relevant articles to support your discussion.
However, your professor or your publisher may require information about your search process to ensure that you captured relevant articles. Take notes on your search process. Primarily:
It is also a good idea to use a citation manager to help manage your results.
When you find articles of interest in a database or search engine, bibliographic management programs such as Zotero or EndNote make it easy to create a personal collection of references (citations and/or articles) and cite them in your document in the citation style of your choice.
Learn more:
EndNote is a commercial bibliographic management software package. It is intended to find, share, store, and create references. Users build and manage their personal research libraries.
You can attach PDFs, notes, and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
*Beginning Monday, November 6, 2023, the EndNote program will be available for UT Health San Antonio Faculty, Staff, and Students from UT Health San Antonio Information Technology (UTHSA-IT). It is available for Windows and Mac OSX.
Zotero is an application that collects, managers, and cites research sources. It works in any OS, connects with your browser, and is free to use. You can download it from zotero.org.
You can attach PDFs, notes, and images to your citations, organize them into collections for different projects, and create bibliographies.
Rayyan QCRI is a web application to help authors conduct systematic reviews a quick, easy fashion. A free account can have up to 3 active reviews.
