Use the Databases - NURS 6320 - Theoretical Foundations - LibGuides at University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Accessing the Databases

To search the databases you can

Browse the full list of databases

Visit commonly used databases directly using the links below

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, it covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
View PubMed libguide.
A search system that contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. Powered by MEDLINE, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Full-text linking is available for free and subscribed content only.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus quick reference guide or view libguide.
A collection of abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed literature in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences. This database is updated daily and includes tools that track, analyze, and visualize research. Full-text linking is available for free and subscribed content only.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Developed by the American Psychological Association (APA), this collection is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and others. Coverage is from 1800's to the present.

Or access from the library homepage:

Boolean Operators

Combine your search terms using Boolean operators to get results.

What are Boolean Operators?

Boolean operators connect your search words together to either narrow or broaden your results in a database (like PubMed) or search engine (like Google Scholar).

Boolean operators are the words "AND", "OR" and "NOT".