Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EMSP 3041: Current Research in Emergency Health Sciences: Resources

An introduction to resources for research in EMSP 3041.

Key Databases

PubMed

A search system that contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. At the heart of this system is the MEDLINE database, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). MEDLINE is also available through EBSCO and Ovid. Access PubMed through the library's website for access to UT Health San Antonio holdings.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

Provides indexing for 3,000+ journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association.‚Äč

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (2005-present)

Includes full-text systematic reviews (of the highest level) of methodological studies and protocols.

Proquest Theses and Dissertations

The world's most comprehensive database of theses and dissertations from around the world, from 1743-present.

PsycINFO

An American Psychological Association (APA) collection devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Covers the 1800’s to the present.

Scopus

A collection of abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed literature in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences. See the LibGuide.

Turning Research Into Practice (TRIP)

A clinical search engine with high-quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. Note: Search results link directly to PubMed and other resources for access.

Career Resources

National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians (NREMT) - the nation's EMS cerification organization.

National EMS Management Association (NEMSMA) - a professional association of EMS leaders dedicated to the discovery, development, and promotion of excellence in leadership and management. Student membership available.

International Association of Flight & Critical Care Paramedics (IAFCCP) - educational resources, a career center, and other information for paramedics. 

EMS1.com - news, training, grant assistance, job listings, and more for emergency medical professionals.

BrowZine

BrowZine allows you to:

  • Easily browse e-journals online or via the mobile app 
  • Create a personalized collection of your favorite journals
  • Be alerted when new articles are published in your favorite journals
  • Save articles for offline reading

See the BrowZine LibGuide for more information.

Use Interlibrary Loan to request any journal articles, book chapters or other items that are not readily available through the library.