Skip to main content

Distance Learning: Home

Resources and links to support Distance and online tools

Distance learners have 24/7 access to library resources

Students who are enrolled in distance programs or are unable to get to the Library in person are still able to take advantage of the library’s collections and services.

Distance Learning Students include:

  • Students living outside of San Antonio or Laredo area who are currently enrolled in a UT Health Science Center school-sponsored course and are not attending any class that meets in person at least once a week.
  • Students and residents who are on rotation at sites outside San Antonio.
  • Doctoral candidates who have completed course work and are living outside San Antonio or Laredo area.

Distance Learning Need to Know:

All Students and Staff must sign into the UTHealth Briscoe Library Homepage to access any library resources or services:

Find this box: on the left side of the page. Click and follow prompts.

Finding materials through the catalog and databases: UTHSCSA  Library Homepage offers a at the top of the page. When using this bar, you are searching for all types of materials. You can also search PubMed, Google Scholar and Browzine (electronic resources) directly by clicking on the grey tabs at the bottom of the box.

Borrowing; Document and Book Delivery:  For distance learners and students residing outside of the San Antonio or Laredo areas:

  • Students must have a library account in KOHA and also an ILLiad account.; You can renew, place holds and order materials that are not housed on campus through the links provided. When ordering: Use one form per article and/or book.

Circulation Policies and Procedures: for more information on loan periods and renewing materials

If you are in need of further help or information please click on the  here or on the UTHealth Briscoe Library home page.

 

The Issue of Time

Four Key Things to Mastering Time Management by Owen Fitzpatrick

Connect to Resources

Types of Materials Eligible for Delivery

  • Print books, journal articles owned by UTHSC Libraries.
  • Books, book chapters, journal articles not in the library’s collection, ordered through Interlibrary Loan—allow extra time for delivery.

Types of Materials Not Eligible for Delivery

  • Reference and Rare books are non-circulating.
  • Print Reserve materials cannot be borrowed, but chapters less than 50 pages can be delivered electronically.
  • Online course materials are available through Canvas.
  • Any electronic delivery that is subject to licensing or copyright restrictions.

Key to ICONS in the library catalog

Key to ICONS: 

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Mobile Enabled = Mobile Enabled