Select Articles
When reviewing search results, click the box next to the PubMed citations.
Click the Send to link on the top left (under the search tool bar) to see destination options. Send to options default to the entire results set when no boxes are checked.
Send to Clipboard
The Clipboard provides temporary storage for selected items. It allows you to save citations from various searches so that you can move them to more permanent storage in one step.
Once you have added items to the Clipboard, a link to the items is posted just below the the search on the results screen. Items placed on the clipboard have a gray "Item in clipboard" notice above the abstract.
At the end of your search, click on the Clipboard (#) items link to go to the Clipboard page. Use the Send to options on the Clipboard page to move your selections to a permanent place.
**NOTE** Sign in to My NCBI before completing the following options.
Send to Collections
PubMed provides access to a permanent storage space called My NCBI. From the Send to menu click Collections. After logging in to My NCBI, you can create a new collection or add to an existing collection.
To retrieve your collection when you start your next PubMed session, click on the Log In option at the very top of the right hand side of the screen. After sign in, click on your user name next to the My NCBI link to access your collection.
Send to Email
The Email option sends the article record/citation information. It does not send links to the full-text of the article.
The Email option has two dropdown menus. Be sure to review the settings to make sure you receive the content you want.
Selection: All results; All results on this page; or Selection
Format: Summary, Summary (Text); Abstract; or Abstract (Text)
Send to Citation Manager
The Send to Citation Manager formats a file to download for import into bibliographic reference programs such as RefWorks or EndNote. Detailed help for importing citations can be found in the following guides: