Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evidence-Based Medicine Books
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature-A Manual for Evidence-based Clinical Practice by The #1 guide to the principles and clinical applications of evidence-based medicine has just gotten better! A Doody's Core Title ESSENTIAL PURCHASE for 2011! No other resource helps you to put key evidence-based medicine protocols into daily clinical practice better than Users' Guides to the Medical Literature. An instant classic in its first edition, this detailed, yet highly readable reference demystifies the statistical, analytical, and clinical principles of evidence-based medicine, giving you a hands-on, practical resource that no other text can match. Here, you'll learn how to distinguish solid medical evidence from poor medical evidence, devise the best search strategies for each clinical question, critically appraise the medical literature, and optimally tailor evidence-based medicine for each patient. The new second edition of this landmark resource is now completely revised and refreshed throughout, with expanded coverage of both basic and advanced issues in using evidence-based medicine in clinical practice. FEATURES: Completely revised and updated to reflect the enormous expansion in medical research and evidence-based resources since the first edition Innovative organization guides you from the fundamentals of using the medical literature to the more advanced strategies and skills for use in every day patient care situations Abundant and current real-world examples drawn from the medical literature are woven throughout, and include important related principles and pitfalls in using medical literature in patient care decisions Practical focus on the key issues in evidence-based practice: What are the results? Are the results valid? How to I apply to results to the care of my patients? More than 60 internationally recognized editors and contributors from the U.S., Canada, South America, Europe, and Asia -- the best of the best in the discipline NEW coverage on how to: --Avoid being misled by biased presentations of research findings --Interpret the significance of clinical trials that are discontinued early --Influence clinician behavior to improve patient care --Apply key strategies for teaching evidence-based medicine Also look for JAMAevidence.com, a new interactive database for the best practice of evidence based medicine.
Publication Date: 2008-05-21
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature-Essentials of Evidence-based Clinical Practice by The "essential" companion to the landmark "Users' Guides to the Medical Literature" - completely revised and updated 5 STAR DOODY'S REVIEW "This second edition is even better than the original. Information is easier to find and the additional resources that will be available at www.JAMAevidence.com will provide readers with a one-stop source for evidence-based medicine."--"Doody's Review Service" Evidence-based medicine involves the careful interpretation of medical studies and its clinical application. And no resource helps you do it better-and faster-than "Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: Essentials of Evidence-Based Clinical Practice." This streamlined reference distills the most clinically-relevant coverage from the parent "Users' Guide Manual" into one highly-focused, portable resource. Praised for its clear explanations of detailed statistical and mathematical principles, "The Essentials" concisely covers all the basic concepts of evidence-based medicine--everything you need to deliver optimal patient care. It's a perfect at-a-glance source for busy clinicians and students, helping you distinguish between solid medical evidence and poor medical evidence, tailor evidence-based medicine for each patient, and much more. Now in its second edition, this carry-along quick reference is more clinically relevant--and more essential--than ever FEATURES Completely revised and updated with all new coverage of the basic issues in evidence-based medicine in patient care Abundant real-world examples drawn from the medical literature are woven throughout, and include important related principles and pitfalls in using clinical research in patient care decisions Edited by over 60 internationally recognized editors and contributors from around the globe Also look for JAMAevidence.com, a new interactive database for the best practice of evidence based medicine.
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Searching Skills Toolkit by Searching Skills Toolkit is an expert guide to help you find the clinical evidence you need more easily and effectively. Clearly presented with useful tips and advice, flow charts, diagrams and real-life clinical scenarios, it shows the best methods for finding quality evidence. From deciding where to start, to building a search strategy, refining results and critical appraisal, it is a step-by-step guide to the process of finding healthcare evidence, and is designed for use by all health and social care professionals. This second edition has been expanded with new chapters on searching for sources to support evidence-based management decision making and how to better enable your patients to make informed choices. It has also been fully updated to include new web sources, open source reference management software, and new training resources and exercises. Searching Skills Toolkit is an ideal reference for doctors, nurses, allied health professionals, managers and decision makers, researchers and students.
Publication Date: 2013-11-07
Evidence-Based Medicine Journals
Evidence Based Medicine Toolkit
From the University of Alberta, "This is a collection of tools for identifying, assessing and applying relevant evidence for better health care decision-making. The appraisal tools are adapted from the Users' Guides series prepared by the Evidence Based Medicine Working Group and originally published in JAMA".
Evidence-Based Medicine Toolbox
From the Knowledge Translation Program of St. Michael's Hospital at the University of Toronto, who have developed various tools to aid in the dissemination and implementation of research and clinical care.
AFP Evidence-based Medicine Toolkit
American Academy of Family Physicians series containing EBM Resouces, SORT, EBM Features, EBM Glossaries and AFP Journal Club Toolkit.
CEBM: Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine Tools
CEBM from University of Oxford tools which include Asking Focused Questions, Finding the Evidence, Critical Appraisal tools, Making a Decision, CATMaker and EBM Calculators, and Finding the Evidence video tutorials