It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Must register for personal account to download book sections as PDFs, save searches, create reading list, and use presentation maker. User guide available.
A comprehensive collection of medical and surgical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey is an upgraded and expanded version of MD Consult that offers full text access to selected medical textbooks, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
A search system that contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. Powered by MEDLINE, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Full-text linking is available for free and subscribed content only.
For direct linking to the UTHSC journals, log in to TRIP and select our institution from the drop-down menu. Full Text: HSCLink will appear under citations.
A clinical search engine designed to retrieve high quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, guidelines, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. The aim of the TRIP database is to allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web in support of evidence-based practice.
Mobile app is available. On campus registration required. Re-verify once every 90 days. Registration Help.
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource used to make point-of-care decisions. Specialties include Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Family Practice, Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Oncology, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, and others.
35 concurrent users. Entire books are not downloadable.
A collection of full text, authoritative healthcare resources in a variety of specialties, such as Emergency/Critical Care, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Infectious Disease, Nursing, Evidence-based Medicine, Drug Information, and Surgery. Content consists of ebooks, EBM practice guidelines, drug information, EBM calculator, patient hand-outs, and medical news feeds.
Titles can also be browsed in the library catalog.
Create a log in ID for STAT!Ref and add the following to your favorites:
Greenfield's Surgery by Michael W. MulhollandRevised, updated, and enhanced from cover to cover, the Sixth Edition of Greenfield's Surgery: Scientific Principles and Practice remains the gold standard text in the field of surgery. It reflects surgery's rapid changes, new technologies, and innovative techniques, integrating new scientific knowledge with evolving changes in surgical care. Updates to this edition include new editors and contributors, and a greatly enhanced visual presentation. Balancing scientific advances with clinical practice, Greenfield's Surgery is an invaluable resource for today's residents and practicing surgeons. Key Features: Features enhanced, full-color illustrations, clinical photographs, key teaching points, and decision-making algorithms for quick reference to key information. Covers general scientific principles such as inflammation, shock, nutrition, pain management, and much more, followed by surgical practice chapters arranged by organ system. Introduces two new editors, Hasan Alam, MD and Timothy Pawlik, MD, who bring a fresh perspective and vision to this classic reference. Showcases the scientific and clinical expertise of more than 200 contributing authors, each an active practitioner in the field of surgery. Includes two new chapters on Obesity and Preoperative Risk Assessment. eBook version features over 40 "Morbidity and Mortality" case discussions and an Interactive Quesiton Bank with nearly 900 questions Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues
Publication Date: 2016-12-13
Scientific American Surgery by Stanley W. Ashley (Editor in Chief)cientific American Surgery Returns! Decker Intellectual Properties Inc. has signed a licensing agreement with Scientific American to re-establish the comprehensive professional surgical database, Scientific American Surgery. First published in 1989 under the name Care of the Surgical Patient, now includes an enhanced surgical offering through this agreement with Scientific American. For the past eleven years (2002-2013), the resource was known as American College of Surgeons (ACS) Surgery.
Scientific American Surgery has a reputation of providing practicing surgeons and students with comprehensive and up-to-date surgical information. Now, Scientific American will offer the editors of SAS access to Scientific American Magazine's vast archive and cutting-edge reporting to incorporate relevant articles into the surgical database.
Scientific American Surgery is a continuously updated online resource. It covers all subspecialties of surgery plus Competency-Based Surgical Care, Care in Special Situations, Scientific Foundations, and Organ Systems. SAS provides clear and actionable diagnostic and procedural recommendations.
You must create a personal account via AccessSurgery to access the first two resources. Restricted to UTHSCSA domain.
Case Files Surgery by Eugene Toy; Terrence Liu; Andre CampbellREAL-LIFE CASES FOR THE SURGERY CLERKSHIP You need exposure to high-yield cases to excel in the surgery clerkship and on the shelf exam. Case Files: Surgery presents 56 real-life cases that illustrate essential concepts in surgery. Each case includes a complete discussion, clinical pearls, references, definitions of key terms, and USMLE-style review questions. With this system, you'll learn in thecontext of real patients, rather then merely memorize facts. 56 high-yield cases, each with USMLE-style questions, help you master core competencies to excel on the clerkship and ace the shelf exam Clinical pearls highlight key concepts Primer teaches you how to approach clinical problems Proven learning system maximizes your shelf exam scores HERE'S WHAT STUDENTS HAVE TO SAY ... " ...an extremely useful resource. It is a quick read and it serves to cover all the important topics pertaining to surgery at a level appropriate for a third-year medical student or surgical intern. It serves as a good introduction to the basic surgical diseases and their management." -- Jeffrey Feiner, Medical Student, Buffalo Medical School (reviewing previous edition)
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
Surgery PreTest self-assessment and review by Lillian Kao; Tammy LeeThe closest you can get to seeing the USMLE Step 2 CK without actually taking it Surgery: PreTest Self-Assessment & Review is the perfect way to assess your knowledge of surgery for the USMLE Step 2 CK and shelf exams. You'll find 500 USMLE-style questions and answers that address the clerkship's core competencies along with detailed explanations of both correct and incorrect answers. All questions have been reviewed by students who recently passed the boards and completed their clerkship to ensure they match the style and difficulty level of the exam. 500 USMLE-style questions and answers Detailed explanations for right and wrong answers Targets what you really need to know for exam success Student tested and reviewed
Publication Date: 2012-03-30
Abernathy's Surgical Secrets by Alden H. Harken; Ernest E. MooreFor more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Abernathy's Surgical Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, and an easy-to-read style - making reference and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets® format gives you the most return for your time - concise, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Covers the full range of essential topics in general surgery for in-training or practicing professionals. Written by global experts and thought leaders in surgery. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Fully updated throughout, with clear illustrations, figures, and flow diagrams that expedite study and review. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Publication Date: 2017-09-14
NMS Surgery Casebook (for checkout - not online) by NMS Staff; Bruce JarrellPublisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Ideal as a stand-alone review or as a companion to NMS Surgery, this highly practical casebook presents a series of surgical cases that begin with a clinical scenario and progress step by step through the decision-making process of patient management. It offers medical students a structured subject review, practice questions to prepare for the USMLE Step 2 exam, and an opportunity to work through clinical cases with a unique "what next" approach to decision making. Updates include a new two-color design, "Deep Thoughts" and "Quick Cuts" text features that clearly call out high-yield information in every chapter, and an all-new chapter on pediatrics covering common congenital anomalies. Clinical images and illustrations offer the opportunity to detect visual clues, and the new pocket-sized format makes it easy to carry and study anytime, anywhere. In addition, this title is packaged with access to the interactive eBook version at no additional cost! Provides an excellent review for exams and an opportunity to practice real-world clinical decision making. Features a new, two-color design and a handy new pocket-sized format. Emphasizes high-yield information with easy-to-spot "Deep Thoughts" and "Quick Cuts" boxes throughout. Contains a new pediatrics chapter that brings you up to date with common congenital anomalies. Includes case variations so you can consider patients with complications or co-existing conditions. Uses an extensive illustration program that provides opportunities to make patient management decisions based on visual cues. The perfect companion to Jarrell's NMS Surgery, 6th Edition.
Call Number: WO 18.2 S96013 2016
Publication Date: 2015-07-16
Practical Guide to the Care of the Surgical Patient: The Pocket Scalpel by Tom C. Nguyen; Oscar J. AbilezIf you need a practical, portable resource to get you through the day-to-day management of surgical patients, this new title in the Practical Guide series is the answer! Written by residents with practice-proven guidance and input from attending surgeons, this "Pocket Scalpel" zeroes in on the differential diagnoses, clinical findings, lab values, and treatment guidelines you need...all in an intuitive and user-friendly format that fits comfortably in your scrubs or white coat pocket. Offers current clinical information on all facets of surgical patient management-from bedside procedures and operation guidelines to the latest drug therapies and lab tests-to promote effective, state-of-the-art care. Provides diagrams, algorithms, comparative tables, lists, key images-and more-to facilitate quick and rapid review of high-yield information. Features a chapter of "Skeletons" that provides convenient access to guidance on commonly used patient care management protocols-from admit and transfer orders, history and physical examination, and procedures...to intensive care unit progress and discharge summaries. Includes a section on pharmacotherapy for addressing specific antimicrobial conditions, enabling you to choose the most effective treatment options. Covers medical terms in Spanish, equipping you to handle an increasingly diverse patient population. Uses a convenient spiral binding so the book lays flat for easy reference and at-a-glance searching.