Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free Educational Technology Resources: Image, Audio, and Video Editing

Use these resources for anatomical education and visualization, and for the creation of media and resources for classroom use.

Introduction

Are you looking for media to add to your presentations, lectures, and other work? Media can make a big impression, but it can be difficult to find media that's safe to use. This part of the guide offers some options for searching for copyright free, creative commons, and other open source applications for media creation.

Copyright, Fair Use, and Creative Commons

This guide contains resources for finding, editing, and using freely licensed media found online, for educational and classroom projects.

These resources are usually available through a Creative Commons License or are in the public domain. Please check the guidelines on each site before downloading to assure proper usage of the media provided.

Creative Commons logo

Diverse Images

Finding Usable Media

General Images

Flickr Commons - Project launched in 2008 to provide access to public photography archives.

Unsplash - Database of freely useable images. Available under a Creative Commons license.

New York Public Library Public Domain Collections - NYPL's collection of over 180k free to reuse digital items.

Wikipedia meta list of public domain image resources - Comprehensive list of sites covering a variety of subjects.

 

Health Care Media

CDC Public Health Image Library - Public health images created and shared by the Center for Disease Control.

NIH Digital Collections - Featuring historical image, texts, and health psas from the National Library of Medicine.

Medical Gallery by Blausen Medical - Gallery of free to use medical images.

 

Video

Videvo - Free stock video site.

Archive.org Stock Footage - A collection of stock footage submitted by Internet Archive users.

 

Audio

Freesound - A database of Creative Commons licensed music tracks for use in noncommercial projects.

Jamendo - An archive of over 220k royalty free music tracks for use in projects.

Image Editing

PhotoPea - Advanced image editor in the vein of Adobe Photoshop. Free and browser based. Does offer a subscription fee to remove ads.

Canva - Browser based design program with many premade templates. Projects can be worked on collaboratively.

Video Editing

Shotcut - Free and open source. A perfect video editor to put together simple clips with basic transitions. Works on Windows, Mac, and Linux.

DaVinci Resolve 16 - Powerful, free video editing aimed at advanced users. Works on Windows, Mac, and Linux.

Audio Editing

Audacity - Powerful, open source, audio editing program. Offers a large library of plugins with additional features. Works on Windows, Mac, and Linux.

Hya-Wave - Browser based audio editing for simple projects. Works on Windows, Mac, and Linux.