Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A Welcome to the Briscoe Library: More About the Libraries

Guide to Library Resources and Services

Library Mission

The mission of The Libraries is to promote learning, inspire discovery, and connect with our communities. To achieve our mission we:

  • Deliver resources for teaching, learning, and research

  • Provide expert information and instructional services

  • Develop innovative physical and virtual spaces

  • Strengthen existing partnerships and seek new collaborations

The Libraries include the Dolph Briscoe, Jr. Library, the Laredo Regional Campus Library, and the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library on the 5th floor of the Briscoe Library.

Library Divisions

Office of the Director

The Office of the Senior Director of Libraries, headed by Owen Ellard, MLIS, MA, is responsible for overall planning, budget and personnel administration, building maintenance, staff development, and official communication with The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and external institutions and organizations. 

Resource Management

The purpose of the Resource Management division, led by Andrea N. Schorr, MSIS, is to manage and develop services and resources that support the teaching, learning and research needs of the UT Health Science Center community. The Resource Management division oversees four main service areas within the library: Collection Development, Interlibrary Loan, and Special Collections.

Collection Development services include the acquisition, maintenance, and assessment of print and electronic collections, licensing, cataloging, course reserves, the digital archive, and binding services.

Interlibrary Loan/Borrowing services provide delivery of articles and books that are not in the library collection by requesting them from another library. In addition, interlibrary loan also fulfills requests from other libraries for items that are in the HSC collection.

Special Collections services provide access to a unique set of historical works in the P.I. Nixon Historical Library, which include rare books, University Archives, and various local historical documents.

Outreach and Community Engagement

The purpose of the Outreach & Community Engagement division, led by Peg Seger, MA, MLIS, is to expand utilization of Library services, initiatives and innovations among the various user groups within the UT Health Science Center campus and to promote awareness of the Library and its resources to the broader South Texas community. The division develops expertise and ideas to assist the various components of the Library in promoting products and services and collaborates with other Library divisions to determine appropriate and relevant messages. It coordinates Library programming and communications to engage faculty, staff, students, and researchers with Library resources and services and promotes effective access to quality health science information to the broader community.

Library Liaisons

The liaison librarians, led by Chris Gaspard, MSLS, serve as a single point of contact at each school for library instruction and research services. Liaisons work with the faculty or program directors to plan and develop curriculum-integrated courses on use of library databases, evidence-based practice health information, and citation management. They participate on curriculum committees as well as other campus groups. The liaison librarians participate in systematic reviews, and provide reference services and customized instruction. 3D Printing & Virtual Application services include consultation, training, and custom design for 3D printing/modeling and virtual reality applications. The service also develops targeted educational resources using 3D, virtual, and video technologies.