LibGuides: School of Public Health: Data and statistical resources

First step: Please log in or use LibKey Nomad

Log in to the library's website before you follow the links on this guide. When logged in, you can more easily link to content paid for by the library and encounter fewer paywalls.

You can also install a browser extension called LibKey Nomad that will prompt you to sign in when using the library's resources.

Library's homepage
Go to the library's homepage to login or find more information on the library's services and resources.
Library login
Log in to use the library's online resources.
LibKey Nomad
Information on how to install and use LibKey Nomad.

Policy Map

PolicyMap
PolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports and upload your own data to view it with ours.

International

Global Health Observatory Data Repository
The GHO data repository is WHO's gateway to health-related statistics for its 194 Member States. It provides access to over 1000 indicators on priority health topics including mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health, immunization, HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria, neglected diseases, water and sanitation), non communicable diseases and risk factors, epidemic-prone diseases, health systems, environmental health, violence and injuries, equity among others.
ICPSR
An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
United Nations: Department of Economic and Social Affairs: Statistics
The United Nations Statistics Division compiles and disseminate sglobal statistical information, develops standards and norms for statistical activities, and supports countries' efforts to strengthen their national statistical systems.
World Health Organization: World Health Data Hub
WHO's World Health Data Hub is a comprehensive digital platform for global health data. It provides end-to-end solutions to collect, store, analyze, and share data that is timely, reliable, and actionable.

National

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The AHRQ Data Tools allow you to explore AHRQ data sources in depth through bar charts, trend charts, geographic maps, and more. Create and download charts and datasets to support your research. AHRQ also offers interactive data visualizations that feature its data and data infographics to showcase its research.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) WONDER
WONDER online databases utilize a rich ad-hoc query system for the analysis of public health data. Reports and other query systems are also available.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, CMS, is part of the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS).
Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP)
The data tool provides healthcare statistics and information for hospital inpatient and emergency department settings, as well as population-based healthcare data on counties. Generate tables and graphs on national and regional statistics and trends for community hospitals in the United States.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (CDC MMWR)
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR ) series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
NCHS collects, analyzes, and disseminates timely, relevant, and accurate health data and statistics. The products and services inform the public and guide program and policy decisions to improve our nation’s health.
National Committee on Vital and Health Statistics
The NCVHS serves as the statutory public advisory body to the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) for health data, statistics, privacy, and national health information policy and the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA). The Committee advises the HHS Secretary, reports regularly to Congress on HIPAA implementation, and serves as a forum for interaction between HHS and interested private sector groups on a range of health data issues.
National Health Expenditure Data
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA): Data
Learn more about workplace safety and health from OSHA and other federal agencies, including popular data searches such as establishments, North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) code searches, fatality inspection data, and more.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)
As an agency of the U.S. Department of Labor (DOL), BLS provides statistical guidance to the department and its agencies and works in partnership with those agencies to support their data needs.
U.S. Census Bureau: Data
Learn about America's communities through data profiles. They cover 100,000+ different geographies: states, counties, places, tribal areas, zip codes, and congressional districts. Covered topics include education, employment, health, and housing just to name a few.
U.S. Census Bureau: State Data Centers (SDC)
The State Data Center (SDC) program is one of the Census Bureau's longest and most successful partnerships. The partnership was created to make data available locally.
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA): Current Research Information System (CRIS)
The Current Research Information System (CRIS) provides documentation and reporting for ongoing agricultural, food science, human nutrition, and forestry research, education and extension activities for the United States Department of Agriculture; with a focus on the National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA) grant programs.

Texas

Center for Health Statistics
The DSHS Center for Health Statistics was established to be a source of information for assessment of community health and for public health planning. This data are used to support research, grant applications and policy development and to provide rapid needs response to health emergencies.
Texas Demographic Center
The Texas Demographic Center functions as a focal point for the production, interpretation, and distribution of demographic information for Texas. The Texas Demographic Center produces and disseminates population estimates and projections for Texas, as well as other demographic information. Special emphasis is placed on data that may be useful to policy makers in dealing with issues regarding the demand for State services.
Texas Health Care Information Collection
THCIC's charge is to collect data and report on health care activity in hospitals and health maintenance organizations operating in Texas. The goal is to provide information that will enable consumers to have an impact on the cost and quality of health care in Texas.
Texas Health Data
This site contains public data and statistics on various health topics. The data are intended to help you plan and improve delivery of services, evaluate health care systems, inform policy decisions, and aid in research.
Texas Vital Statistics Data
The Vital Events Data Management team within CHS is responsible for developing, analyzing, and distributing public health data derived from records of vital events. The team also responds to statistical data requests and develops the Texas Vital Statistics Annual Report.
UT Health Science Center Houston: CHARTing Health Information
This website has been designed to provide a comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health and health determinants data down to the county level or better, whenever possible, for the state of Texas from reliable and authoritative providers of information. There are also links to sites that cover the U.S., so if you need a state other than Texas, you may find a good source of data here.