Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Premier biomedical database, from the National Library of Medicine
- A collection of abstracts and citations for peer-reviewed literature in the scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences.
- American Psychological Association (APA) collection devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and others.
Other Related Databases
- Academic Search Complete
- Comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database which includes information about business, finance, law, management, military science, gender studies, international studies, and more.
- Business Source Complete
- Scholarly business database which provides a collection of bibliographic and full-text content. This resource contains active, peer-reviewed, business-related journals with coverage that includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886.
- Professional Development Collection
- Specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians, and education researchers.
- DR MERL (Dependable Reviews of Medical Education Research Literature)
- A blog comprised of a collection of reviews and commentaries of the latest research in medical education
- The goal of DR MERL is to disseminate succinct reviews of medical education research to our teaching faculty to keep them up-to-date on the most important medical education research.
- Key LIME (Literature in Medical Education) Podcasts
- A weekly podcast produced by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada
- AAMC Resources:
- Best Evidence Medical and Health Professional Education (BEME)
- provides scientifically grounded educational research to enable teachers and administrators to make informed decisions about evidence-based education initiatives; contains BEME reviews (which are published in Medical Teacher) and BEME podcasts
- BEME Guides
- ERIC (Educational Resouces Information Center)
- Includes annotated bibliographic records–citations, abstracts, and other pertinent data, including journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and other education-related materials.
- Educational Administration Abstracts
- Covers areas related to educational administration including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Coverage dates back to 1966 and includes over 199,000 records.
- Higher Education Abstracts
- Compilation of abstracts of journal articles, conference papers, research reports, and books pertaining to college students, faculty, administrators, and related topics in higher education.
- Repository of peer-reviewed teaching materials, including presentation materials, lesson plans, and assessment resources
- Curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools led by international community of educators, learners, and researchers.
- MERLOT Pedagogy Community Portal - resources include: teaching strategies, information on learners and learning, course instructional design, teaching challenges, and assessment
Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals by Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition is an essential resource to help students, faculty, and practitioners understand the research process, interpret data, comprehend results, and incorporate findings into practice. From choosing a research project and developing the research process design, to systematically gathering information, analyzing, interpreting data, differentiating among conflicting results, and finally understanding the overall evaluation, Introduction to Research and Medical Literature for Health Professionals, Fifth Edition will ease fears and help students and practitioners develop research skills to acquire and contribute knowledge that benefits their patients.
Publication Date: 2019-03-25
Understanding Medical Education by In this new and extensively updated second edition, the Association for the Study of Medical Education presents a complete and authoritative guide to medical education. Written by leading experts in the field, Understanding Medical Education provides a comprehensive resource of the theoretical and academic bases to modern medical education practice. This authoritative and accessible reference is designed to meet the needs of all those working in medical education from undergraduate education through postgraduate training to continuing professional development. As well as providing practical guidance for clinicians, teachers and researchers, Understanding Medical Education will prove an invaluable resource to those studying at certificate, diploma or masters level and a first 'port-of-call' for anyone engaged in medical education as an academic discipline. Exploring medical education in all its diversity and containing all you need in one place, Understanding Medical Education is the ideal reference not only for medical educators, but for anyone involved in the development of healthcare professionals, in whatever discipline wherever they are in the world.
Publication Date: 2013-10-28
Conducting Research in Health Professions Education: From Idea to Publication
This eBook provides over 40 one-page primers exploring every stage of health professions education research.