OT Seeker is a database of abstracts of systematic reviews and randomized controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist therapists to evaluate their validity and interpretability.
A search system that contains references to scholarly journals in the areas of biomedicine and health. At the heart of this system is the MEDLINE database, a premier collection of citations maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Full-text linking is available for free for PubMed Central, books, and subscribed content. MEDLINE is also available through EBSCO and Ovid. Access PubMed through the Briscoe Library website for access to UT Health San Antonio holdings.
For tips on searching PubMed see the PubMed: Ten Tips LibGuide.
Provides indexing for 3,000+ journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. Offers complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association, covering nursing, biomedicine, librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
Developed by the American Psychological Association (APA), this collection is devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, pharmacology, and others. Coverage is from 1800's to the present.
A comprehensive collection of medical and surgical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey is an upgraded and expanded version of MD Consult that offers full text access to selected medical textbooks, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource used to make point-of-care decisions. Specialties include Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Family Practice, Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Oncology, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, and others.
Mobile app is available. On campus registration required. Re-verify once every 90 days. Registration Help.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) includes full-text reviews of 3,000+ contemporary testing instruments, plus all previous editions of the yearbook dating back to 1938 (10,000+ full-text reviews).
Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. For help on TIP, see How to Use Buros Publications.
The titles below have a 3-user limit. With the exception of Occupational Therapy Practice Guidelines for Adults Living with Serious Mental Illness, which has a 1-user limit. All titles are available for download.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 (3-user limit) by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings--inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5 easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
The Social Determinants of Mental Health (3-user limit) by
The Social Determinants of Mental Health aims to fill the gap that exists in the psychiatric, scholarly, and policy-related literature on the social determinants of mental health: those factors stemming from where we learn, play, live, work, and age that impact our overall mental health and well-being. The editors and an impressive roster of chapter authors from diverse scholarly backgrounds provide detailed information on topics such as discrimination and social exclusion; adverse early life experiences; poor education; unemployment, underemployment, and job insecurity; income inequality, poverty, and neighborhood deprivation; food insecurity; poor housing quality and housing instability; adverse features of the built environment; and poor access to mental health care. This thought-provoking book offers many beneficial features for clinicians and public health professionals: * Clinical vignettes are included, designed to make the content accessible to readers who are primarily clinicians and also to demonstrate the practical, individual-level applicability of the subject matter for those who typically work at the public health, population, and/or policy level.* Policy implications are discussed throughout, designed to make the content accessible to readers who work primarily at the public health or population level and also to demonstrate the policy relevance of the subject matter for those who typically work at the clinical level.* All chapters include five to six key points that focus on the most important content, helping to both prepare the reader with a brief overview of the chapter's main points and reinforce the "take-away" messages afterward.* In addition to the main body of the book, which focuses on selected individual social determinants of mental health, the volume includes an in-depth overview that summarizes the editors' and their colleagues' conceptualization, as well as a final chapter coauthored by Dr. David Satcher, 16th Surgeon General of the United States, that serves as a "Call to Action," offering specific actions that can be taken by both clinicians and policymakers to address the social determinants of mental health. The editors have succeeded in the difficult task of balancing the individual/clinical/patient perspective and the population/public health/community point of view, while underscoring the need for both groups to work in a unified way to address the inequities in twenty-first century America. The Social Determinants of Mental Health gives readers the tools to understand and act to improve mental health and reduce risk for mental illnesses for individuals and communities. Students preparing for the Medical College Admission Test (MCAT) will also benefit from this book, as the MCAT in 2015 will test applicants' knowledge of social determinants of health. The social determinants of mental health are not distinct from the social determinants of physical health, although they deserve special emphasis given the prevalence and burden of poor mental health.
Assessments in occupational therapy mental health : an integrative approach (3-user limit) by
"Assessments in Occupational Therapy Mental Health: An Integrative Approach, Fourth Edition is a unique compilation of mental health assessments that are taught in occupational therapy academic programs and used in clinical practice. This highly anticipated Fourth Edition provides the occupational therapy student and educator with knowledge about the evaluation process, assessments that are current and accurate, and how to generate research for developing assessment tools. Assessments in Occupational Therapy Mental Health, Fourth Edition by Drs. Barbara J. Hemphill and Christine K. Urish, along with more than 30 world-renowned contributors, includes 15 new assessments, along with updates to 9 assessments from the previous editions. Also incorporated throughout the text is the AOTA's Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition. While introducing new assessments and updated information, Assessments in Occupational Therapy Mental Health: An Integrative Approach, Fourth Edition is ideal for occupational therapy faculty, students, practitioners, as well as nurses, psychologists, and social workers"
Group dynamics in occupational therapy : the theoretical basis and practice application of group intervention (3-user limit) by
"Building on the original seven steps for learning group leadership, and keeping with the Occupational Therapy Practice Framework, Third Edition, this text examines group dynamics from a therapeutic and wellness perspective. It reviews descriptions of how Occupational Therapy group leaders apply multiple levels of professional reasoning to maximize the therapeutic value of group interactions. Recent examples and evidence are also included in this Fifth Edition to reflect the design and use of groups for evaluation and intervention within the newly evolving paradigm of occupational therapy"--Provided by publisher.
Motivational Interviewing (3-user limit) by
This bestselling work for professionals and students is the authoritative presentation of motivational interviewing (MI), the powerful approach to facilitating change. The book elucidates the four processes of MI--engaging, focusing, evoking, and planning--and vividly demonstrates what they look like in action. A wealth of vignettes and interview examples illustrate the "dos and don'ts" of successful implementation in diverse contexts. Highly accessible, the book is infused with respect and compassion for clients. The companion webpage provides additional helpful resources, including reflection questions, an extended bibliography, and annotated case material. This book is in the Applications of Motivational Interviewing series, edited by Stephen Rollnick, William R. Miller, and Theresa B. Moyers. New to This Edition: *Reflects major advances in understanding and teaching MI. *Fully restructured around the new four-process model. *Additional case examples and counseling situations. *Reviews the growing evidence base and covers ways to assess MI fidelity. Pedagogical Features Include: *Online reflection questions and annotated cases, ideal for classroom discussion. *Key points at the end of each chapter. *Engaging boxes with special topics and personal reflections. *Extended bibliography and quick-reference glossary.
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health (3-user limit) by
A person-centered, recovery-oriented, and occupation-based approach to mental health across the lifespan This revision of a well-loved text continues to embrace the confluence of person, environment, and occupation in mental health as its organizing theoretical model, emphasizing the lived experience of mental illness and recovery. Rely on this groundbreaking text to guide you through an evidence-based approach to helping clients with mental health disorders on their recovery journey by participating in meaningful occupations. Understand the recovery process for all areas of their lives--physical, emotional, spiritual, and mental--and know how to manage co-occurring conditions. Content has been updated to follow the most current DSM-5 information and best practices from the evidence. New chapters highlight changes in occupational therapy practice and settings, and additional assessment and intervention content strengthens the applicability to current practice.
Occupational therapy practice guidelines for adults living with serious mental illness (1-user limit) by 
Psychopathology and function (3-user limit) by
A comprehensive guide to understanding mental health, Psychopathology and Function, Sixth Edition offers helpful insights and strategies for occupational therapists to understand the approaches of other disciplines, such as medicine, physical therapy, social work, psychology, and nursing, and work effectively in the care team.An essential occupational therapy resource for more than 30 years, Dr. Bette Bonder's Psychopathology and Function, Sixth Edition clearly describes occupational therapy's unique perspectives and contributions to improving the lives of those struggling with emotional and p.
