Find Theories - NURS 6320 - Theoretical Foundations - LibGuides at University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Ontology

Ontology, as a branch of philosophy, is the science of what is, of the kinds and structures of objects. In simple terms, ontology seeks the classification and explanation of entities. Ontology is about the object of inquiry, what you set to examine... the nature of being and existence.

From the University of Warwick

Epistemology

Epistemology is the theory of knowledge. It is concerned with the mind’s relation to reality. What is it for this relation to be one of knowledge? Do we know things? And if we do, how and when do we know things? Answering these questions requires considering the relationship between knowledge, truth, belief, reason, evidence and reliability. It requires considering the different psychological routes to knowledge, including different processes of reasoning – logical and scientific – introspection, perception, memory, testimony and intuition. And it requires considering the nature of the known reality.

From the University of Sheffield

Sources

To find an overview, definition, or summary of ontology and epistemology, it is likely that you will need to look outside of the standard healthcare databases mentioned on the previous. Instead, try using Reference or Humanities resources like those in the other tabs above.

To find an overview, definition, or summary of ontology and epistemology, it is likely that you will need to look outside of the standard healthcare databases. Instead, try using Reference or Humanities resources like these:

LOOK HERE FOR ONTOLOGY AND EPISTEMOLOGY

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Connect learners to the information they're looking for with tools that make discovery fast and easy. Gale’s premier periodical resource, Gale Academic OneFile, provides millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources—including thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic reference books in a variety of subject areas including medicine, business, history, education, technology, literature, biography, science, general reference, and many more.
Entire books are not downloadable but sections can be downloaded in PDF format.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Each entry of the SEP is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy provides open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia operates through the volunteer work of a staff of 30 editors and approximately 300 authors who hold doctorate degrees and are professors at universities around the world.

PubMed

Remember to use the [TW] tag with "theory," and then use Boolean Operators to combine with topic of interest.

CINAHL

Remember to use SUBJECT HEADINGS to help make searching easier. Most citations in CINAHL are indexed.

Use Boolean Operators to combine with your topic of interest and check the subject headings.

Google Scholar Advanced

Using the Advanced Search feature of Google Scholar gives the user more control over results.