LibGuides: Pediatrics Clerkship Resource Guide: Databases

Databases

This database includes the renowned Biological Sciences, MEDLINE, and TOXLINE databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources providing access to the extensive variety of biology’s cutting edge research, with applications to medicine, technology and the environment.

A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision. Databases include: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews; Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL); Cochrane Methodology Register; Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects; Health Technology Assessment Database; NHS Economic Evaluation Database; and Cochrane Review Groups.

PubMed® comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Scopus is a large abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings.

A clinical search engine designed to retrieve high quality research evidence such as systematic reviews, guidelines, medical images, patient leaflets, and peer-reviewed articles. The aim of the TRIP database is to allow health professionals to easily find the highest-quality material available on the web in support of evidence-based practice.

Turning Research Into Practice

Clinical Resources

A collection of electronic textbooks, drug information, videos, animations, and a differential diagnosis tool. Also includes self-assessment tools. Accessible via mobile device.
A comprehensive collection of medical and surgical resources in a variety of specialties designed to support evidence-based clinical care and clinical education. ClinicalKey is an upgraded and expanded version of MD Consult that offers full text access to selected medical textbooks, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.
An evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource used to make point-of-care decisions. Specialties include Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Family Practice, Gynecology, Infectious Diseases, Oncology, Pediatrics, Women’s Health, and others. Mobile app is available. On campus registration required. Re-verify once every 90 days
A collection of full text, authoritative healthcare resources in a variety of specialties, such as Emergency/Critical Care, Pediatrics, Psychiatry, Infectious Disease, Nursing, Evidence-based Medicine, Drug Information, and Surgery. Content consists of ebooks, EBM practice guidelines, drug information, EBM calculator, patient hand-outs, and medical news feeds.

Create a log in ID for STAT!Ref and add the following to your favorites:

Other Useful Databases

Lexicomp
Compare drugs and drug pricing, find information on dosing, administration, precautions, and clinical content This database is NOT available through the library. You will need to go through UHS for access.

Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based resources to support clinical decision making, drug supply chain management and patient education.
For mobile app access, see Micromedex native mobile apps
Micromedex is a database of drug and pharmacological information, including drug interactions and drug identification.

PubMed Clinical Queries
Easy keyword searching with pre-applied filters for Clinical Study Categories, Systematic Reviews, and Medical Genetics

Pediatric Surgery NaT (Not a Textbook)

Pediatric Surgery NaT This link opens in a new window
On campus registration for personal account required. Mobile app is available. NOTE: ExPERT not included in subscription.
Pediatric Surgery NaT guides surgeons from presentation to procedures to long term outcomes with the current general surgical care of children at your fingertips.

Designed for both practicing and in-training pediatric surgeons, NaT is updated quarterly so that the latest strategies, techniques, and procedures can be accessed by surgeons anytime, anywhere- on your mobile device or on the web.

Written by pediatric surgeons for pediatric surgeons, the Pediatric Surgery NaT contains learning objectives, images, videos, and links to MOC CME and the latest medical literature. Surgeons can download this powerful app to their smartphone or tablet to improve patient care and participate in the NaT community of practice.

Personal Account Creation:

To utilize the product off campus or download it onto a mobile or tablet device for convenience, you must first create a free account. Click on "register a free account" (in the right-hand corner) and then proceed to APSA website to set up an account with a username and password.

Mobile Download Installation:

If a user would like to download to their mobile device, be sure that you have created an account first and then follow the directions below:

Open the app store on mobile device
Search for APSA Pediatric Surgery Library and download the app by Unbound Medicine
Once downloaded, open and enter the username and password for your account.