Handbook of Adolescent Medicine and Health Promotion by
Handbook of Adolescent Medicine and Health Promotion is a medical handbook for health providers, residents, and students as well as other interdisciplinary practitioners who promote the health and well-being of adolescents and young adults. With an emphasis on practical clinical approaches covering comprehensive health evaluation, which impacts on health choices and behaviors, health screening, education and health promotion, this book is a unique combination of pediatrics, internal medicine, gynecology, and psychology. The behavioral and health promotion aspects for adolescents are discussed in depth, with elaboration on the real difference between adolescent medicine and other specialties. An excellent reference, it provides useful case materials and handouts in an easy-to-read format. This book is an absolute must-have for improving the health outcomes and well-being of adolescents and young adults.
Caring for the Hospitalized Child by
Fully revised and updated, the second edition of this popular point-of-care manual offers practical, authoritative guidance from the American Academy of Pediatrics in the hospital setting for safe, effective inpatient care from initial evaluation through hospital discharge management. Pediatric hospitalists with extensive hands-on expertise offer proven recommendations for dozens of pediatric inpatient problems including anaphylaxis; cardiac conditions; dermatological, ENT and GI issues; infectious diseases; seizure; eye trauma; fractures; physical and sexual abuse, and more. New in the second edition: Provides 18 new chapters on eating disorders, acute adrenal insufficiency, hyperthyroidism, hypoglycemia, genetics, inborn errors of metabolism, ovarian torsion, neutropenia, cultural effectiveness, transition to adult care, sepsis, suicide, systemic lupus erythematosus, abdominal masses, and much more Two new sections on genetics and metabolism rheumatology
Handbook of Clinical Pediatrics by
This concise handbook provides an update on topics in general pediatrics for general pediatricians in practice. It focuses on ambulatory pediatrics and includes topics dealing with newborns, children, and adolescents. The general format covers common topics in general pediatrics with a brief definition, brief epidemiology, brief review of symptomatology, brief discussion of approach to the topic, and then provides an emphasis on management of the condition/disorder being reviewed.The book also provides valuable information in areas that may not have been included in the general pediatrician's education but are very important for his/her successful practice. These include adolescent medicine, behavioral-developmental pediatrics, sports medicine, and gynecology. It is written and edited for the audience -- busy general pediatricians with knowledge of these topics but in need of a guide for au courant management to assist them in their practices.
The Harriet Lane Handbook by
Every three years, The Harriet Lane Handbook is carefully updated by residents, edited by chief residents, and reviewed by expert faculty at The Johns Hopkins Hospital. Easy to use, concise, and complete, this essential manual keeps you current with new guidelines, practice parameters, pharmacology, and more. The 22nd Edition of this portable reference continues to be the #1 source of pediatric point-of-care clinical information for pediatric residents, students, nurses, and all healthcare professionals who treat young patients. Trusted for more than 65 years for fast, accurate information on pediatric diagnosis and treatment. Updated and expanded content includes an all-new chapter on Psychiatry, plus reorganized information on Emergency and Critical Care Management, as well as Traumatic Injuries. The popular Pediatric Drug Formulary, updated by Carlton K. K. Lee, PharmD, MPH, provides the latest in pharmacologic treatment of pediatric patients. Outline format ensures you'll find information quickly and easily, even in the most demanding circumstances. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics by
Thoroughly revised and updated, the fifth edition of this prize-winning title retains the high level of illustration and accessibility that has made it so popular worldwide with medical students and trainees approaching clinical specialty exams. Illustrated Textbook of Paediatrics has been translated into eight languages over its life. Case studies. Summary boxes. Tips for patient education. Highly illustrated with 100s of colour images. Diseases consistently presented by Clinical features; Investigations; Management; Prognosis; and, where appropriate, Prevention. Comes with an e-book for portability and ease of reference on the move. Separate chapters on Accidents Child protection Diabetes and endocrinology Inborn Errors of Metabolism New chapter on Global child health New co-editor, Will Carroll, Chair of MRCPCH Theory Examinations.
Instant Work-Ups: a Clinical Guide to Medicine by
Pocket-sized and portable, Instant Work-ups: A Clinical Guide to Medicine offers all of the critical information physicians need to know in order to evaluate and diagnose a patient. The content is uniquely presented as a patient would present his or her case: with symptoms and abnormalities, as opposed to a diagnosis. Practical and easy to use, it provides clear work-up plans for the most commonly encountered medical conditions, providing quick, focused guidance with the flexibility to adapt to each unique patient. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, images, and references from the book on a variety of devices. Pocket-sized design makes it perfect for quick reference in the clinical setting. Covers approximately 80 of the most commonly encountered medical conditions. Chapters are alphabetically organized by topic for easy reference. Topics are presented as a sign, symptom, or abnormal lab reading as a patient would present his or her case. Every topic includes a brief background discussion, a list of important related materials, and a detailed list of the next lab or radiographic tests. Describes each diagnostic test and includes algorithms for each topic to help guide diagnosis.
2024 Nelson's Pediatric Antimicrobial Therapy by
Completely updated and revised, the 30th edition of this best-selling reference provides instant access to the latest recommendations for treatment of infectious diseases in children. For each disease, the authors provide a commentary to help select the best of all antimicrobial choices. Drug descriptions cover all antimicrobial agents available today and include complete information about dosing regimens. Free updates are available at aap.org/Nelsons. New in the 30th Edition Updated multiple drug-resistant gram-negative pathogens treatment recommendations with newly approved antibiotics Newer antibiotics, beyond vancomycin, to treat MRSA infections Updates on children's influenza, COVID-19, and enterovirus treatments Updates on travelers' diarrhea Latest guidelines for treatment of invasive pediatric fungal infections New guidelines for treatment of pediatric bacterial arthritis Recommendations on hepatitis C virus and cytomegalovirus treatment options CHAPTERS INCLUDE Antimicrobial Therapy According to Clinical Syndromes Antimicrobial Therapy for Neonates Choosing Among Antibiotics Antifungal Agents Antiviral Agents Antiparasitic Agents Preferred Therapy for Specific Bacterial and Mycobacterial Pathogens; Fungal Pathogens; Viral Pathogens; and Parasitic Pathogens Approach to Antibiotic Therapy for Drug-Resistant Gram-Negative Bacilli and Methicillin-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus Systemic and Topical Antimicrobial Dosing and Dose Forms Sequential Parenteral-Oral Antibiotic Therapy (Oral Step-Down Therapy) for Serious Infections Antimicrobial Prophylaxis/Prevention of Symptomatic Infection Approach to Antibiotic Allergies Antibiotic Stewardship Antibiotic Therapy for Children With Obesity And more...
Nelson Pediatric Symptom-Based Diagnosis by
Nelson Pediatric Symptom-Based Diagnosis, by Drs. Robert M. Kliegman, Patricia S. Lye, Brett Bordini, Heather Toth, and Donald Basel, uses a unique, step-by-step, symptom-based approach to differential diagnosis of diseases and disorders in children and adolescents. Conveniently linked to the world's best-selling pediatric reference, Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 20th Edition, it focuses on the symptoms you're likely to see in general practice, as well as uncommon disorders. You'll find clear guidance on exactly what to consider and how to proceed when faced with a host of common symptoms such as cough, fever, headache, chest pain, gait disturbances, and many more. Features a practical, symptom-based approach that enables you to form an accurate diagnosis. Uses the same consistent, step-by-step presentation in every chapter: History, Physical Examination, Diagnosis (including laboratory tests), Imaging, Diagnosis, and Treatment. Covers new approaches to diagnostic imaging and genetic testing, new diagnostic guidelines, BRUE (brief resolved unexplained event), stroke in children, behavior disorders, syncope, recurrent fever syndromes, and much more. Includes full-color illustrations, algorithms, tables, and "red flags" to aid differential diagnosis. Serves as an ideal companion to Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 20th Edition. Content in this book is referenced and linked electronically to the larger text, providing easy access to full background and evidence-based treatment and management content when you own both references. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics, 2-Volume Set by
Welcome to the 21st Edition of Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics - the reference of choice among pediatricians, pediatric residents, and others involved in the care of young patients. This fully revised edition continues to provide the breadth and depth of knowledge you expect from Nelson, while also keeping you up to date with new advances in the science and art of pediatric practice. Authoritative and reader-friendly, it delivers the information you need in a concise, easy-to-use format for everyday reference and study. From rapidly changing diagnostic and treatment protocols to new technologies to the wide range of biologic, psychologic, and social problems faced by children today, this comprehensive 2-volume reference keeps you on the cutting edge of the very best in pediatric care. Includes more than 70 new chapters, including Postural Orthostatic Tachycardia Syndrome (POTS), Rare and Undiagnosed Diseases, Approach to Mitochondrial Disorders, Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems, Zika, update on Ebola, Epigenetics, Autoimmune Encephalitis, Global Health, Racism, Media Violence, Strategies for Health Behavior Change, Positive Parenting, and many more. Features hundreds of new figures and tables throughout for visual clarity and quick reference. Offers new and expanded information on CRISPR gene editing; LGBT health care; gun violence; vaccinations; immune treatment with CAR-T cells; new technology in imaging and genomics; new protocols in cancer, genetics, immunology, and pulmonary medicine; and much more. Provides fresh perspectives from four new associate editors: Nathan J. Blum of The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia; Karen Wilson of Mt. Sinai School of Medicine in New York; Samir S. Shah of Cincinnati Children's Hospital Medical Center; and Robert C. Tasker of Boston Children's Hospital. Provides regular updates online, written exclusively for Nelson. Remains your indispensable source for definitive, evidence-based answers on every aspect of pediatric care. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
On Call Pediatrics by
Ideal for any on-call professional, resident, or medical student, this popular reference covers the common problems you'll encounter while on call without direct supervision in the hospital. On Call Pediatrics, 4th Edition, fits perfectly in your pocket, ready to provide key information in time-sensitive, challenging situations. You'll gain speed, skill, and knowledge with every call - from diagnosing a difficult or life-threatening situation to prescribing the right medication. Features a logical, highly templated format so you can locate key information quickly. Reviews the indications for, and complications of, common neurodiagnostic tests. Delivers consistent, easy-to-follow coverage of the most common on-call problems and approaches, including what to do from the initial phone call, questions you should ask to assess the urgency of each situation, "Elevator Thoughts," how to immediately identify major threats to life, what to do at the bedside, and how to avoid common mistakes for every call. Provides updated content and references, as well as an up-to-date drug formulary, keeping you on the cutting edge of current, evidence-based information. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Clinical Practice Guidelines and Policies by
Keep current with the latest clinical practice guidelines and policies from the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP), covering more than 40 conditions plus every AAP policy statement, clinical report, and technical report though December 2021. KEY FEATURES New clinical practice guideline: Evaluation and Management of Well-Appearing Febrile Infants 8 to 60 Days Old New and revised AAP policy statements, clinical reports, and technical reports Printed text and eBook access, including full text of all AAP clinical practice guidelines and full text of 2021 AAP policy statements, clinical reports, and technical reports More than 600 policy statements, clinical reports, and technical reports Quick Reference Tools, including coding tips, patient education handouts, and more Five-section organization for ease of use
Pediatric Decision-Making Strategies by
Designed to accompany Nelson Textbook of Pediatricsand Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics, Pediatric Decision-Making Strategies is a concise, user-friendly reference uses a unique algorithmic approach to facilitate diagnosis, testing, basic treatment of common pediatric disorders. For any given symptom, an algorithm guides the reader through the appropriate investigative procedures and lab tests to reach definitive diagnoses. An updated format that enhances usability makes this medical reference book a must-have for medical students, residents, and practitioners treating pediatric patients. "...it demonstrates a way of thinking about medicine that is useful in paediatrics and in all other specialties." Reviewed by Seminars in Fetal and Neonatal Medicine , Apr 2015 Explore concise, focused, and updated algorithms that cover the most common pediatric problems. Gain imperative knowledge from an expert author team that includes Dr. Robert M. Kliegman (of the Nelson line of textbooks), as well as references to related chapters in both Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics and Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics. Quickly access important information with a new standard format and trim size for practicality and usability. Expert Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, algorithms, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Pediatric Secrets by
For more than 30 years, the highly regarded Secrets Series® has provided students and practitioners in all areas of health care with concise, focused, and engaging resources for quick reference and exam review. Written by Drs. Richard A. Polin and Mark F. Ditmar, Pediatric Secrets, 7th Edition, features the Secrets' popular question-and-answer format that also includes lists, tables, pearls, memory aids, and an easy-to-read style - making inquiry, reference, and review quick, easy, and enjoyable. The proven Secrets Series® format gives you the most return for your time - succinct, easy to read, engaging, and highly effective. Fully revised and updated throughout, including protocols and guidelines that are continuously evolving and that increasingly dictate best practices. Practical, up-to-date coverage of the full range of essential topics in the practice of pediatrics. Top 100 Secrets and Key Points boxes provide a fast overview of the secrets you must know for success in practice and on exams. Features bulleted lists, mnemonics, practical tips from leaders in the field - all providing a concise overview of important board-relevant content. Portable size makes it easy to carry with you for quick reference or review anywhere, anytime. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Red Book Atlas of Pediatric Infectious Diseases by
Based on key content from the Red Bookr, the new 2nd editon provides essential information and recommendations for diagnosing and treating more than 75 pediatric conditions. It streamlines disease recognition and clinical decision-making with more than 500 full-color images adjacent to concise diagnostic and treatment guidelines. Essential information on each condition is presented in the precise sequence needed in the clinical setting: Clinical manifestations Etiology Epidemiology Incubation period Diagnostic tests Treatment
The Washington Manual of Pediatrics by
Concise, portable, and user-friendly, The Washington Manual® of Pediatrics, 2nd Edition , focuses on the essential information you need to know when caring for children in the hospital, ICU, emergency department, and subspecialty outpatient clinics. This practical reference presents brief, logical approaches to the diagnosis and treatment of common inpatient pediatric problems, as well as evidence-based references where they are available. Thoroughly updated throughout, the 2nd Edition provides a clear view of the challenges faced by residents, interns, and medical students, plus offers practical solutions, and expert guidance - all in one convenient and easily accessible source. Key Features:" Thoroughly revised chapters with up-to-date, clinically applicable content that is easy for providers at all levels. New chapters on Development Milestones, Child Maltreatment, and Patient Safety and Quality Improvement Coverage includes growth and nutrition, emergencies, poisonings, newborn medicine, critical care, surgery, adolescent medicine, child maltreatment, allergy and immunology, radiology, sedation, genetic diseases, and much more. Numerous tables, algorithms, and evidence-based references keep you up to date. Written by interns, residents, chief residents, subspecialty fellows, and faculty at St. Louis Children's Hospital and Washington University in St. Louis. Now with the print edition, enjoy the bundled interactive eBook edition, which can be downloaded to your tablet and smartphone or accessed online and includes features like: Complete content with enhanced navigation Powerful search tools and smart navigation cross-links that pull results from content in the book, your notes, and even the web Cross-linked pages, references, and more for easy navigation Highlighting tool for easier reference of key content throughout the text Ability to take and share notes with friends and colleagues Quick reference tabbing to save your favorite content for future use The Washington Manual® is a registered mark belonging to Washington University in St. Louis to which international legal protection applies. The mark is used in this publication by Wolters Kluwer under license from Washington University.
Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis by
Through six bestselling editions, Zitelli and Davis' Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis, by Drs. Basil J. Zitelli, Sara C. McIntire, and Andrew J. Nowalk, has been the gold standard atlas of pediatric diagnosis for residents and physicians. Thousands of high-quality clinical photographs are paired with authoritative clinical content, covering both common and uncommon pediatric disorders. Extensive revisions throughout bring this encyclopedic resource fully up to date, helping you hone your visual examination skills and improve your diagnostic accuracy. Features more than 2,500 color photographs supplemented by explanatory text, laboratory tests, and imaging. Emphasizes pertinent historical factors, examination techniques, visual findings, and diagnostic methods. Includes over 20 clinical videos online, as well as new coverage of urinary tract infections, vesicoureteral reflux management, food allergies, Lyme disease, coagulation disorders, congenital infections, and immune deficiencies Contains a new chapter on vascular anomalies, with detailed descriptions of vascular malformations and new medical co-management approaches. Expert ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
