Basic and Clinical Pharmacology, 14e by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Basic Concepts in Pharmacology: What You Need to Know for Each Drug Class, Sixth Edition by
A Doody's Core Title for 2023! The up-to-date content and proven study techniques you need to pass one of the most difficult courses in medical school Presented in a style that makes learning and retaining key information effortless, Basic Concepts in Pharmacology clearly explains each fundamental principal of drug actions. This updated edition includes the popular Trivia Sorter, which helps you understand the mechanism of action for the class of drugs and its side effects; consider if the drug is for a disorder or symptom; determine the unique features of single drugs in this class; and know the side effects and drug interactions of the class of drugs. Walking you through the learning process in a way that helps you master each concept before moving on to the next, Basic Concepts in Pharmacology encourages you to organize and condense the drug information you must remember; review key information, which is conveniently presented in boxes, tables, and illustrations; and identify the most important drugs in each class. Features * 640 photos and illustrations * Includes study techniques not found in any other such resources * Key information presented in boxes, illustrations and tables
Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology by
More detailed than an outlined review but less overwhelming than an encyclopedic reference, Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 6th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know in a concise, easy-to-understand manner. Authored by Craig W. Stevens, PhD, this highly illustrated introductory text helps you learn and retain key information in pharmacology-taking you from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice. New and extensively revised content keeps you up to date with the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications. Teaches the fundamental aspects of pharmacology using full-color illustrations, detailed explanations, and a consistent format to present classification of drugs for each system/disease. Helps you understand both the basic science foundations and clinical applications of pharmacology, with useful tables, drug classifications boxes, case studies, and self-assessments in each chapter to help you review and prepare for course exams and Step 1. Includes the latest drugs and therapeutic indications (more than 100 are new to this edition), along with an entirely new chapter on recent developments of immunopharmacology drugs, including antivirals and vaccinations. Addresses key topics such as antiviral and monoclonal drugs to treat COVID-19, the opioid epidemic, and gene therapy. Features more than 700 new and updated images, with many revised figures focused on clearing presenting the mechanism of action of drugs. Includes access to bonus eBook content such as animations, an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Brody's Human Pharmacology by
Brody's Human Pharmacology is a well-established and much-loved textbook that guides students of medicine, pharmacology and other health professions through pharmacology from both basic and clinical perspectives. What can be a very difficult and complex topic is divided into easily digestible chapters, each of which is clearly structured from a therapeutic overview to mechanisms of action, relationships to clinical responses, pharmacokinetics, pharmacovigilance, new developments, and clinical relevance for all health professionals. Contains all the essential aspects of pharmacology - suitable for exam preparation Full color illustrations explain important processes and color-coded boxes enhance understanding Therapeutic overviews, clinical problems and trade names - everything you need to know Self-assessment questions and further reading to reinforce learning Current developments for each class of drugs and how information relates to students in the healthcare professions bring learning to life Updated content throughout Pharmacodynamics chapter revised to include discussions of positive and negative allosteric modulators, as well as biased agonism Pharmacogenetics chapter considers genetic variations and their relationship to drug responses Section on cancer drugs revised to reflect major advances New chapter on immunological and cell-based therapies
Clinical Pharmacology by
'The very last thing a drug regulator wishes to be able to say is, like Lord Byron (1788-1824), on the publication of his poem Childe Harold's Pilgrimage, 'I awoke one morning and found myself famous.' The twelfth edition of this long-established textbook of clinical pharmacology (first published in 1960) continues its fine tradition of balancing science and practice for improved evidence-based drug therapy and good prescribing in therapeutic settings increasingly complicated by intercurrent disease and polypharmacy. Coverage of all major therapeutic topics by body system. Introductory sections give brief chapter synopses. Case studies where relevant. Covers the needs of the developing world with a focus on practical prescribing and health technology assessment. Definition, tips, brief explanation boxes throughout. Interesting histories, etymologies and provenances of terms throughout. Entertaining footnotes throughout. Fully updated throughout. New co-editor: Fraz Mir, Addenbrooke's Hospital and Department of Medicine, University of Cambridge. Now with free e-book on StudentConsult.
Clinical Pharmacology: Current Topics and Case Studies by
This revised and extended second edition focuses on current and emerging topics in drug development, their molecular mechanisms of action as well as regulatory issues. In addition, in-depth insights into clinical drug research and trial methodology are presented on the basis of concrete case studies. This updated book makes a valuable contribution to the field of Clinical Pharmacology and serves as a must-have guide for professors, researchers and advanced students from academia and pharmaceutical industry.
Dale's Pharmacology Condensed by
Covering the essential basic science and principles of pharmacology using concise text and diagrams, Dale's Pharmacology Condensed, 3rd Edition, presents the key facts and concepts that are key to understanding how drugs work and their underlying pathophysiological processes. Each chapter provides an organized, consistent approach to efficient learning and retention of complex information. This concise text is an ideal companion volume to Rang and Dale's Pharmacology, as well as a stand-alone condensed textbook or review book for exams. All content has been thoroughly revised and updated, with new coverage of fast-moving therapeutic areas such as the development of biologics, new therapeutics for cancer treatments, dermatology and immune mediated diseases, and new advances in pharmacological principles such as biased agonism. Each chapter condenses key information to provide the necessary core knowledge, as well as essential therapeutic information. Written by experienced teachers who provide a clear focus on what today's students need to know. Ideal for exam preparation with explanatory diagrams throughout, important drugs identified with bold type, and multiple choice questions for self-assessment and review. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
Drugs During Pregnancy and Lactation by
Drugs During Pregnancy and Lactation, 3rd Edition is a quick and reliable reference for all those working in disciplines related to fertility, pregnancy, lactation, child health and human genetics who prescribe or deliver medicinal products, and to those who evaluate health and safety risks. Each chapter contains twofold information regarding drugs that are appropriate for prescription during pregnancy and an assessment of the risk of a drug when exposure during pregnancy has already occurred. Thoroughly updated with current regulations, references to the latest pharmacological data, and new medicinal products, this edition is a comprehensive resource covering latest knowledge and findings related to drugs during lactation and pregnancy.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 14th Edition by
A Doody's Core Title for 2023! The landmark pharmacology reference--updated to reflect the latest research and developments in the field For more than 50 years, Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics has represented the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. The text's careful balance of basic science and clinical applications has guided thousands of health care practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing and treating disease. This Fourteenth Edition includes five new chapters, 600+ illustrations, and important content from 53 new contributors. More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice. Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Fourteenth Edition features: Five NEW chapters on: -Pharmacovigilance -The blood-brain barrier -Cannabis -Antibodies, immune checkpoint inhibitors, CAR-T cells, and other biological agents -Gastrointestinal microbiome and drug response Expanded coverage of the use of genetic polymorphisms in designing appropriate therapies Revised and expanded chapter on pharmacodynamics and the molecular mechanisms of drug action 600+ color illustrations Drug Fact Tables summarizing clinical pharmacology Content Outline and Abbreviation List at the beginning of each chapter 50 NEW figures on mechanism of drug actions 53 NEW contributors NEW online updates
Medical Pharmacology and Therapeutics by
Medical Pharmacology & Therapeutics provides all the information medical and healthcare students need throughout their degree programme and beyond, including for professional qualifications such as the PSA. This all-round textbook covers basic pharmacology through to drug prescribing in clinical contexts, covering the pathogenic mechanisms of disease; drug actions, side effects, and the therapeutic principles of drug use. It takes a helpful systems-based approach that orders information according to body systems and disease areas, rather than by drug class. Now in its sixth edition, the book has been fully updated to include latest scientific understanding of drug action and administration and current best practice in prescribing medications, informed by the latest national guidelines. A clinical focus throughout - suitable for medical, nursing and other healthcare students throughout their training Thorough update of clinically-relevant medicines to ensure best practice Information aligned with the British National Formulary (BNF), NICE guidelines and relevant professional benchmarks Comprehensive drug compendia allow all drugs to be identified and placed within their respective classes Extensive self-assessment questions to support learning and revision New to this edition Expanded discussion of the pathophysiology and management of shock Revised discussion of the management of chronic pain Consideration of treatment of Covid-19 Expanded discussion of the pathophysiology and management of shock Revised discussion of the management of chronic pain Consideration of treatment of Covid-19
Rang and Dale's Pharmacology by
Rang and Dale’s Pharmacology is internationally acknowledged as the core textbook for students of pharmacology, and has provided accessible, up-to-date information on drugs and their mechanism of action for more than 30 years.
Now in its tenth edition, it has been updated to include important new drugs such as gene therapies, personalised medicines and the new wave of RNA drugs. However it has not lost any of the elements that have contributed to its popularity, such as color coding and illustrations, making it reader-friendly while comprehensively covering the depth of detail required.
This essential book is recommended as the first-choice undergraduate text for science and medical students and junior doctors and will also be useful for students in other professional disciplines such as pharmacy, veterinary medicine and nursing.
To access drug monographs, click on the Drugs tab at the top of the screen
Click on Drug Monographs link (underneath Search box)
Micromedex is a database of drug and pharmacological information, including drug interactions and drug identification.
Provides evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine including dietary supplements and integrative therapies. Addresses issues of safety and efficacy that directly pertain to the questions raised by clinicians, patients, and healthcare institutions.
Includes: Interaction checker, effectiveness checker, adverse effects checker, pregnancy & lactation checker, charts, and natural MedWatch.
*Former title: Natural Standard
