Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Friends of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library: Home

Friends of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library

The Friends of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library are committed to the development and use of an exceptional collection of books and manuscripts relating to the history of medicine and the health sciences. The Friends have a deep appreciation for the Nixon Library's remarkable rare book collection and have joined together to see that the Special Collections are preserved, augmented, and introduced to those who have not yet discovered them.The collection was established through the efforts of Dr. Pat Ireland Nixon (1883-1965), who was born in Guadalupe County, attended Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, and later built a practice in San Antonio. Your support of the Friends of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library helps to assure that we will be able to maintain, build and promote the use of the collection, both on the campus of The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio and in the academic communities of the surrounding area.

The Friends group meets periodically throughout the year for lectures and host an annual dinner presentation in November.

Donate

History of Medicine Society

In 2012, the History of Medicine Society was formed as an interest group within the Friends of the Nixon Library. The History of Medicine Society includes students and faculty across the health science center, as well as members of the wider community. Membership in the HOM Society is free and attendance at events is welcome.

Membership

Interested in learning more about the history of medicine? Join the Friends of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library group. The Nixon Library has an active Friends group that meets regularly to view presentations and discuss a variety of topics about the history of medicine. Membership in the Friends is open to everyone! Dues are $10 per year for students, $25 for individual members, and $50 for patrons. The Friends always welcome new members. If you have any questions please contact the Special Collections staff at SpecialCollections@uthscsa.edu or call 210-567-2403.

Become a Member

Friends Executive Board, 2019-2020

President: Bridgett Piernik-Yoder, Ph.D, OTR

Vice-President/President-Elect: Maria Bartanuszova, M.D.

Past President: Anand Karnad, M.D.

Secretary/Treasurer: Andrea N. Schorr, M.S.I.S.

Members-at-Large: Joe Michael Feist, M. Sonia Razaqyar, Laura de Jesus Solis

Newsletter

The Friends Annual Newsletter gives a recap of the year's activities, lists current members and past presidents, mentions recent acquisitions, and provides information on forthcoming events.