This guide is not a comprehensive list of health sciences data repositories, yet provides a listing of those that may be commonly used in addition to resources for finding more datasets.
Google Dataset Search - It is recommended that you conduct searches often as this is new search engine that is constantly being updated.
OpenTrials - Aims to share all publicly accessible data and documents, on all trials conducted, on all medicines and other treatments, globally.
Re3data.org - Global registry of research data repositories.
AHRQ Registry of Patient Registries (RoPR) - Provides the ability to search for specific patient registries.
NIH List of Patient Registries - Collections of information about individuals with specific conditions.
Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics (DEB) at UT Health San Antonio - Statistical support for bioinformatics, applied epidemiology, and computational biology.
NACo County Explorer - Map various data indicators by county.
National Center for Health Statistics - Public-use data files and documents.
CHARTing Health Information - A comprehensive collection of links to publicly available health-related data with a focus on the state of Texas. Some of the websites listed below may be found in this collection.
***
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) - The nation's premier system of health-related telephone surveys regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic conditions, and use of preventative services. City and county data and documentation provided by the CDC. Access the 2016 Bexar County BRFSS report.
Texas Cancer Registry (TCR) - One of the largest cancer registries in the U.S., the TCR is a statewide, population-based registry that serves as the foundation for measuring the cancer burden in Texas, comprehensive cancer control efforts, health disparities, progress in prevention, diagnosis, treatment, and survivorship, and more.
Texas Data Repository - Statewide archive of research data from Texas higher education institutions who are Texas Digital Library (TDL) members.
Texas Emergency Department Data - Inpatient and outpatient data from hospitals and ambulatory surgical centers from 1/1 2015-present. Current data free for Texas state universities.
Texas Health Data - An interactive public data system that allows you to query DSHS public health datasets.
BigMouth Dental Data Repository - Demographic, medical history, and dental data on over 2.4 million patients. Provided in part by UT Health Houston.
Consortium for Oral Health Research and Informatics (COHRI) - Facilitates discovery of clinical research data in dentistry.
FDI World Dental Federation Data Hub - Publicly available global oral health data.
HealthData.gov - Openly available and easily accessible health data, including Veterans clinical data. (not public access). Visit Data.gov to browse data on topics other than health.
NIH Data Sharing Repositories - NIH-supported data repositories that make data accessible for reuse.
OAD Data Repositories - A list of repositories and databases for open data found in the Open Access Directory.
Common Topics
GWAS Catalog - Provided by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) and the European Bioinformatics Institute (EBI).
HCUPnet - Online query system for health statistics and information on hospital inpatient and emergency department utilization based on data from the HCUP. National and state databases available for a fee.
National Addiction & HIV Data Archive Program (NAHDAP) - Some data for member institutions only. Restricted data requires a signed agreement.
National Burn Repository (NBR) - The largest resource on epidemiology of thermal injury for burn center patients. Completed data request form required. Free.
National Cancer Institute (NCI) Data Catalog - A listing of data collections produced by major NCI initiatives and other widely used data sets. Data collections are either Open or Controlled Access.
National Cardiovascular Data Registry (NCDR) - A suite of ten registries with data from 11,000+ hospitals and outpatient providers worldwide.
National Institute on Aging Genetics of Alzheimer's Disease Data Storage Site (NIAGADS) - Genetics data repository facilitating access to genotypic and phenotypic data for AD.
National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK) Central Repository - Provides data and specimen repositories at a cost for qualified investigators.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) Data Archive - Makes available six data repositories, including the National Database for Autism Research (NDAR) and the National Database for Clinical Trials Related to Mental Illness (NDCT).
National Trauma Data Bank (NTDB) - The largest aggregation of trauma registry data ever assembled. Online application required to access data. $0-$300 per dataset.