Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library and University Archives Reading Room: Services

Guidelines to familiarize and prepare users for a successful reading room visit.

At the P.I. Nixon Library

                                      

 

The P. I. Nixon Library is home to three collections: the Digital Archive, University Archive, and the History of Medicine Collection.

Digital Archive

The Digital Archive is a growing repository of digitized images, documents, and unique materials from the UT Health San Antonio collections. There are four main compilations: History of Medicine, University History, Electronic Theses & Dissertations and Inquiry Projects, and Open Education Resources (such as the Glass Project, a unique dental case repository).

University Archive

The University Archive documents the history of  UT Health San Antonio and provides a repository for the preservation of historically important University records as well as reference service for the community. Included in the collection are University publications, correspondence of key officials, minutes, student yearbooks, maps, recordings, photographs, papers, and more.

P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library

The P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library houses a collection of approximately 6,000 rare and classic texts in the history of medicine, nursing, dentistry, and other healthcare disciplines, dating from the 15th to the early 20th centuries. An interesting collection of historical medical instruments are also cared for within this special collections library. The Nixon Library is named after Dr. Pat Ireland Nixon, a distinguished San Antonio physician and historian who worked determinedly to build an exceptional medical history collection.

 

 

P. I. Nixon Historical Library and Archives (University and Digital)

5th floor of the Briscoe Library
Special Collections Hours by Appointment
Monday-Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

SpecialCollections@uthscsa.edu

 

 

Images courtesy of the P.I. Nixon Library, University Archive, Digital Archive, and History of Medicine Archive

L to R: Dr. J. Bradley Aust, Glass Project, Bartisch: Ophthalmodouleia, Dr. Leon Cander and students 

 

 

Become a friendly member of society...

                                                                                                                                         

                                                                                                                                                                                                           Paré

Friends of the P. I. Nixon Medical Historical Library

The Friends of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library provides a forum for individuals who are interested in the history of the health sciences.  The Friends meet for an annual dinner and periodically throughout the year for lectures. Membership is open to everyone!  To join the Friends or for more information visit: http//library.uthscsa.edu/2011/11/nixon-library-friends/

History of Medicine Society

In 2012 the History of Medicine Society was formed as an interest group within the Friends of the P.I. Nixon Library. The History of Medicine Society is a student-led group that includes students, faculty, and staff from across the health science center, as well as members of the wider community. Membership in the HOM Society is free and attendance at events is welcome.  https://www.facebook.com/groups/history.of.medicine.society