Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Types of Bibliographies in Scientific Writing
Enumerated Bibliography : lists references according to some specific arrangement. Enumerative bibliographies are arranged by author, subject, date or some other scheme.
Annotated Bibliography :An alphabetical list of sources, an annotated bibliography outlines the type of research done on a certain topic. The writer annotates, or adds notes about, the sources. Ideally, the writer gives information about the content and assesses the usefulness of the source in relation to the paper attached to the bibliography.
Works Cited VS Bibliography
A Works Cited page is a list of the references used in your research or in your paper. An Annotated Bibliography also includes a summary or evaluation of the sources.
APA Style uses text citations and a reference list, rather than footnotes and a bibliography, to document sources. A reference list and a bibliography look a lot alike: They're both composed of entries arranged alphabetically by author, for example, and they include the same basic information.
Active Links to Interactive Citation Manuals
Click on images above and below to access interactive style manuals. Be sure you are logged in if you are office campus in order to have full access.
Online Guide to Citations
- RefWorks is a web-based program that is free to UTHSCSA students, residents, faculty and staff. It is recommended that you upgrade/transfer legacy RefWorks files to the new
- EndNote offers many of the same features as RefWorks, yet must be purchased. It is available from the University Computer Store, TechZone.
- Mendeley is a free application and does not require Internet access. It can query PubMed for more accurate citation information and matching PDFs, yet with mixed success.
- Zotero is open-source and free, yet requires an additional plug-in to manage PDFs. Internet access not required.
*Briscoe Library provides classes and support for both RefWorks and Endnote.