Skip to main content

P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library and University Archives Reading Room: Home

Guidelines to familiarize and prepare users for a successful reading room visit.

P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library and University Archives

The P.I. Nixon Library includes the University Archives, Medical Historical Library, and the Digital Archives. The special collections cared for in this library consist of rare and classic historical medical texts, instruments, photographs, publications, recordings, student yearbooks, maps, correspondence, and more. It is located on the fifth floor of the UT Health San Antonio Briscoe Library.

                                           Nixon Reading Room                                                                                                                                                            

WELCOME

The P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library and University Archives Reading Room welcomes all students, faculty, staff, visiting researchers, and laypersons. Extraordinary historical medical books, manuscripts, photographs, archives, and other restricted materials can be examined by appointment.

Because the reading room procedures are so different than the main library, what to expect may be a bit daunting. This LibGuide aims to help first-time visitors navigate the reading room by deconstructing the mystery and touching on the basics of how to properly handle and care for special collection resources so we can all contribute to the preservation of the University's historical artifacts for future generations.  

HOURS

Monday through Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm, excluding University holidays.

Appointments are required for tours and viewing. If specific materials are requested, advanced notice is appreciated as some materials are stored in remote locations. Call 210-567-2470 or email SpecialCollections@uthscsa.edu to make an appointment.

Unless special arrangements are made beforehand, no more than two books and/or two manuscript boxes will be retrieved at a time. No items will be retrieved after 4:00 pm and items must be returned by 4:15 pm.

Contact Us

Email:  SpecialCollections@uthscsa.edu                   

              DigitalArchives@uthscsa.edu

Call:      Main Library:  210-567-2440

Rare books at the Nixon Library

        

Andreas Vesalius,  De Humani corporis fabrica libri septem (1543)

The unexpected: Hooke's drone fly

Robert Hooke, Micrographia (1667)

Pole and Durer at the Nixon Library

 

 

(Left)  Albrecht Dürer, De symmetria partium in rectis formis humanorum corporum (1532)

(Right)  Thomas Pole, The anatomical instructor (1790)

Link to Policies

For a complete list of the P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library and the University Archives reading room policies, visit http://library.uthscsa.edu/2014/03/p-i-nixon-medical-historical-library-policies/ 

News and Blogs

The P.I. Nixon Medical Historical Library:  http://library.uthscsa.edu/?s=nixon%20library

Treasures of the Nixon blogs:  http://library.uthscsa.edu/category/treasures/

Manuscripts at the Nixon Library

 Cupples Casebook (1853)

Written by Texas pioneer physician, George Cupples.

This handwritten casebook contains fascinating details of patient encounters including accounts of opioid addiction, gunshot wounds, and amputation.

University Archives

                                                                                                     

                                    Joe J. Nix dairy farm one month before medical school construction begins. 

                          February 1966                              

Clara the rhinocerous at the Nixon Library

                

Bernard Albinus, Tables of the skeleton and muscles of the human body (1749) 

Instruments

                                          

                                           Tiemann surgical set